Beat Generation: 10th Anniversary Collection

The Beat Generation: 10th Anniversary Collection

by Mr. Thing
The BBE label's Beat Generation series granted complete creative control to an impressive roster of hip-hop producers: Jay Dee (Welcome 2 Detroit, 2001), Pete Rock (PeteStrumentals, 2001), (Lost Change, 2001),


The BBE label's Beat Generation series granted complete creative control to an impressive roster of hip-hop producers: Jay Dee (Welcome 2 Detroit, 2001), Pete Rock (PeteStrumentals, 2001), (Lost Change, 2001), Marley Marl (Re-Entry, 2001), DJ Jazzy Jeff (The Magnificent, 2002), King Britt (Adventures in Lo-Fi, 2003), DJ Spinna (Here to There, 2003), and Madlib (WLIB AM: King of the Wigflip, 2008), as well as Philly soul string arranger Larry Gold (Don Cello and Friends, 2003). On this two-disc package, the label hands the series to Spinna and Mr. Thing, each of whom contributes a disc mixing his favorites. It treads close to overkill -- 18 tracks appear in both sets -- but does place a necessary spotlight upon an overlooked spate of releases. (BBE are known more for DJ mixes and obscurity compilations than proper artist albums, and they're too stylistically broad to be considered a hip-hop label.) With the exception of Gold's Black Thought-assisted "No Stoppin," each release gets roughly the same amount of attention. A number of minor gems and stone-cold classics are scattered throughout, and most of them are allowed to play out for the majority of their duration. There's Jazzy Jeff's gorgeous and powerful "My Peoples," featuring a young Raheem DeVaughn and traces of "Soudade Vem Correndo," the bossa nova tune sampled by Jay Dee for the Pharcyde's "Runnin'"; Jay Dee's playful "Rico Suave Bossa Nova"; Pete Rock's razor-sharp "Give It to Y'all," featuring some of the earliest appearances from Roc Marciano and Trife; Spinna's broken-beat jam "Love Is Sold," assisted by Kaidi Tatham and Mark de Clive-Lowe; and's plush "Lay Me Down," with Terry Dexter's seductive voice processed into flutters. These mixes can be enjoyed whether or not you are familiar with the source releases.

Product Details

Release Date:


Disc 1

  1. Stop
  2. Nothin' Lesser
  3. What It Do
  4. Big Faces
  5. My Peoples
  6. Pete's Jazz
  7. African Rhythms
  8. What Ruling Means
  9. Drive
  10. Go!
  11. Are You Ready?
  12. Lay Me Down
  13. Rock Wit U
  14. Surely
  15. Give It To Y'all
  16. Beej-N-Dem, Pt. 2
  17. Blow the Horns On 'Em
  18. Live Ova Beats
  19. We Live In Philly
  20. All Up In It
  21. A Charmed Life
  22. Money
  23. Hummin'
  24. Rico Suave Bossa Nova
  25. Spaces
  26. Lost Change In D Minor
  27. Transcend
  28. Idols
  29. No Stoppin'
  30. Love is Sold
  31. Big Booty Express

Disc 2

  1. Stop
  2. Nothin' Lesser
  3. What Ruling Means
  4. Are You Ready?
  5. Galactic Soul
  6. Lay Me Down
  7. Rock Wit U
  8. Pete's Jazz
  9. African Rhythms
  10. Beej-N-Dem, Pt. 2
  11. Blow the Horns On 'Em
  12. Give It To Y'all
  13. To My Advantage
  14. Spaces
  15. All Up In It
  16. Live Ova Beats
  17. Money
  18. Rico Suave Bossa Nova
  19. Transcend
  20. Cobbs Creek
  21. Lost Change In D Minor
  22. No Stoppin'
  23. Rock

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Thing   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Nat Adderley   Composer
Gene McDaniels   Composer
Jerry Cohen   Composer
Larry Gold   Producer
Gene McFadden   Composer
Peter Phillips   Composer,Producer
Jeff Townes   Composer,Producer
John Whitehead   Composer
James Plunky Branch   Composer
Jay Dee   Producer
King Britt   Composer,Producer
Marlon Williams   Composer,Producer
Tariq Trotter   Composer,Producer
DJ Spinna   Composer,Producer   Composer,Producer
Jill Scott   Composer
Otis Jackson   Composer
Mark de Clive-Lowe   Composer
Neal Evans   Composer
Eric Krasno   Composer
Madlib   Producer
Kelvin Mercer   Composer
Montez Roberts   Producer
Kevin Brown   Composer,Producer
Otis Jackson   Composer
J. Cadet   Composer
Melvin "Chaos" Lewis   Producer
P. Smoovah   Composer,Producer
V. Mojica   Composer
J. Townes   Composer
J. Yancey   Composer
Jeff Towns   Producer
James Yancey   Composer,Producer
Antonia Reed   Composer

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >