The Beautiful and the Cursed (Dispossessed Series #1)
  • The Beautiful and the Cursed (Dispossessed Series #1)
  • The Beautiful and the Cursed (Dispossessed Series #1)

The Beautiful and the Cursed (Dispossessed Series #1)

4.4 14
by Page Morgan
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Fans of Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments series and Lauren Kate's Fallen novels will devour The Beautiful and the Cursed, a wholly original interpretation of gargoyle lore. 
   After a bizarre accident, Ingrid Waverly is forced to leave London with her mother and her younger sister, Gabby, trading a world full of fancy dresses and

See more details below

Overview

Fans of Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments series and Lauren Kate's Fallen novels will devour The Beautiful and the Cursed, a wholly original interpretation of gargoyle lore. 
   After a bizarre accident, Ingrid Waverly is forced to leave London with her mother and her younger sister, Gabby, trading a world full of fancy dresses and society events for the unfamiliar city of Paris.
   In Paris there are no grand balls or glittering parties for Ingrid, and, disturbingly, the house her twin brother, Grayson, was sent ahead to secure for the family isn't a house at all. It's an abandoned abbey, its roof lined with stone gargoyles that could almost be mistaken for living, breathing creatures.
   And Grayson is missing.
   Yet no one seems worried about his whereabouts save for Luc, a devastatingly handsome servant at their new home.
   Ingrid is sure her twin isn't dead—she can feel it deep in her soul—but she knows he's in grave danger, and that it's up to her and Gabby to find him before all hope is lost.

Praise for the Dispossessed Trilogy:

“A deliciously satisfying mix of historical fiction, mystery, and supernatural romance.”—The Bulletin

“Morgan combines fantasy with gothic romance in this well-crafted standout.”—Booklist

“Forbidden romance and hot kissing abound.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Morgan keeps the plot moving with constant action…dark adventure and romance.”—School Library Journal

“Morgan's fluid descriptions, inventive otherworldly elements, and characters with convincing motivations result in an immersive first installment.”—Publisher’s Weekly

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Debut author Morgan launches the Dispossessed series with a well-crafted gothic fantasy told through alternating perspectives. In 1899, after suffering a crushing heartbreak and blamed for an ensuing fire, 17-year-old Lady Ingrid Waverly moves with her mother and sister to Paris. Her rakish twin brother, Grayson, is already there, having purchased an abandoned, gargoyle-adorned abbey, which their mother intends to transform into an art gallery. But upon arrival, Ingrid learns that Grayson has been absent for several days, and that a string of disappearances have been plaguing Paris. Ingrid is sure that something is wrong with Grayson, though only Luc, a servant in the abbey, appears sympathetic. As the narrative shifts between Ingrid, Grayson, and Luc's points of view, Morgan relies on familiar paranormal romance elements. The labyrinthine and dilapidated Parisian setting, filled with sinister figures of both human and demonic varieties, should hook readers, and Morgan's fluid descriptions, inventive otherworldly elements, and characters with convincing motivations result in an immersive first installment. Ages 12–up. Agent: Ted Malawer, Upstart Crow Literary. (May)
From the Publisher
Praise for the Dispossessed Trilogy:

“A deliciously satisfying mix of historical fiction, mystery, and supernatural romance.”—The Bulletin

“Morgan combines fantasy with gothic romance in this well-crafted standout.”—Booklist

“Forbidden romance and hot kissing abound.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Morgan keeps the plot moving with constant action…dark adventure and romance.”—School Library Journal

“Morgan's fluid descriptions, inventive otherworldly elements, and characters with convincing motivations result in an immersive first installment.”—Publishers Weekly

Children's Literature - Denise Daley
It is the late 19th century in France when Ingrid, her sister Gabby, and their mom arrive at the abandoned abbey that they plan to turn into an art gallery. Grayson, Ingrid's twin brother, had procured the place and was supposed to meet them there. Grayson, however, does not show up and the girls are surprised to learn that he has actually been missing for several days. Given Grayson's wild reputation, most people are not too concerned about his disappearance. Ingrid, however, believes that her twin is in danger, so she and Gabby begin their own investigation. Together, they discover a world of living gargoyles that can transform into humans. The gargoyles are charged with protecting the people who reside in their territories from the murderous hellhounds that have been rising from the Underneath. Ingrid learns that the attractive and desirable servant, Luc, is actually a gargoyle who has failed in protecting Grayson from hellhounds that have taken him to the Underneath. Why have the hellhounds taken Grayson but kept him alive? Ingrid and Gabby are determined to rescue him from the Underneath. But the plot thickens when powerful lightening begins emerging from Ingrid's hands whenever she is angry. This exciting and enticing page-turner will keep readers on the edge of their seats, all the way to the last page! Reviewer: Denise Daley
VOYA - Anjeanette Alexander-Smith
Most jilted girls cry to their friends. Ingrid Waverly deals with heartbreak differently in 1899 London: she sets the other girl's house on fire. Ingrid's mother moves the family to Paris. They discover that Ingrid's twin brother, Grayson, has been missing for four days. Ingrid's mother sent him to Paris to scout the area for a suitable place. Ingrid's intuition warns her that Grayson is in trouble. She and her sister, Gabriella, enlist the help of mysterious characters to find her brother. They delve deeper into the paranormal world of Paris and find out about their intricate connection to the battle involving the Dispossessed, the Angelic Order, the Alliance, and the Underneath demons. Ingrid realizes that she is not a girl of disgrace, but a woman who possesses a unique gift. Will she be able to develop it and save her brother's life? An unexpected enemy may have something to say about that. Morgan's writing style skillfully weaves suspense to hook the adolescent reader into the storyline. The reader shares Ingrid's surprise as she learns more about herself and realizes she is worthy of love by unlikely men. Morgan expands the paranormal genre with her creative twists on the fine line separating the supernatural from the human. Adolescents will forget that the writer has drawn them into a historical setting as the characters become real in their imaginations. They will wonder if the paranormal really does exist. Librarians can pair this book with other young adult paranormal novels prevalent on their shelves. Teachers can pair it with classic novels that blend in the gothic and grotesque, such as Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre. Reviewer: Anjeanette Alexander-Smith
School Library Journal
Gr 9 Up—This paranormal romance set in Paris introduces readers to Ingrid Waverly, an earl's daughter who has left London where she was recently the wrong side of a love triangle and an accidental arsonist. What Ingrid lacks in social graces she makes up for in wit and beauty. Her younger sister, Gabriella, is dark while she is fair, but just as headstrong and a dash more daring. These young women are the heart of the novel, in which world-building and romance are developed with equal attention. Although the story heavily relies on information-dumping about gargoyles-creatures that also take human form, known as the Dispossessed-angels and demons, Morgan keeps the plot moving with constant action and third-person limited narration from four main characters. The driving mystery is the disappearance of Ingrid's twin brother. In their search for Grayson, who vanished four days before their arrival in Paris, the sisters meet a handsome bookseller and a charming Scot who happen to be members of the Alliance, a secret organization that supports the Dispossessed in their fight against demons. With the help of the Alliance, Ingrid and Gabriella are determined to save their brother. But their persistence puts them in danger, which is frustrating for Luc, the gargoyle who guards all the inhabitants of the Waverly home, especially because of the growing sensual attraction between him and Ingrid. Although a sequel is forthcoming, Morgan skillfully allows this book to stand on its own. Teens may not be surprised by it, but will nonetheless enjoy the dark adventure and romance.—Joy Piedmont, LREI, New York City
Kirkus Reviews
A newish supernatural being arrives in this straight-out gothic saga. Gargoyles, forced to protect humans from demons, lurk overhead on the old Gothic church in Paris bought by a titled English family in 1899. Gargoyle Luc tries to protect the family's two daughters as they roam Paris looking for their missing brother, Grayson. Proper in name only, Ingrid, 17 and the story's main heroine, doesn't bother with chaperones, while Gabby, at 15, dresses in a sexy red dress and goes out to visit men alone. Meanwhile, hellhounds are slaughtering Paris' population of young ladies. Readers learn early that Grayson is a prisoner in the Underneath, where gargoyles and humans cannot go. Luc can't seem to do his protecting job properly even with the help of the Alliance, a group of humans who also fight demons. Forbidden romance and hot kissing scenes abound. Gargoyles are not yet overexposed in books for teens, and Morgan's description of the Underneath also stands out as inventive. However, the gothic genre leads her into the usual conventions of sentence fragments and hyperbole ("Hesitation meant death"). Her execution of the story comes across as awkward and inexpert, with much repetition. The concept may be somewhat new, but the plotline could have been lifted from any 1930s monster movie, including the villain who obligingly explains all before attacking. A nifty idea clumsily executed. (Paranormal suspense. 12 & up)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780375990953
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
05/14/2013
Series:
Dispossessed Series, #1
Pages:
352
Product dimensions:
8.20(w) x 5.60(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range:
12 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >