The Best of Bach [Naxos]

$12.34 price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (9) from $1.99   
  • New (5) from $4.74   
  • Used (4) from $1.99   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 9/29/1997
  • Label: Naxos
  • UPC: 730099665629
  • Catalog Number: 8556656
  • Sales rank: 42,110


Disc 1
  1. 1 Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, BWV 1041: Allegro assai - Ernst von Dohnányi & Johann Sebastian Bach (3:51)
  2. 2 Cantata No. 208, "Was mir behagt," ("Hunting Cantata"), BWV 208: No. 9, Schafe können sicher weiden - Johann Sebastian Bach & New York Philharmonic (5:18)
  3. 3 Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major, BWV 1048: Allegro - Johann Sebastian Bach & Capella Istropolitana (3:29)
  4. 4 Chorale prelude for organ ("In dulci jubilo"), BWV 729 - arranged for orchestra - Johann Sebastian Bach & Capella Istropolitana (3:31)
  5. 5 Suite for orchestra No 3 in D major, BWV 1068: Air - Johann Sebastian Bach & Capella Istropolitana (5:22)
  6. 6 Nun komm der Heiden Heiland (II), chorale prelude for organ (Achtzehn Choräle No. 8), BWV 659 (BC K82) - Johann Sebastian Bach & Capella Istropolitana (4:43)
  7. 7 Suite for orchestra No 2 in B minor, BWV 1067: Badinerie - Johann Sebastian Bach & Capella Istropolitana (1:25)
  8. 8 Work(s): Unspecified Mein Jesu - Johann Sebastian Bach & New York Philharmonic (5:11)
  9. 9 Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 in F major, BWV 1046: Adagio - Johann Sebastian Bach & Capella Istropolitana (5:18)
  10. 10 Violin Concerto No. 2 in E major, BWV 1042: Adagio - Ernst von Dohnányi & Johann Sebastian Bach (7:28)
  11. 11 Suite for orchestra No 4 in D major, BWV 1069: Rejouissance - Johann Sebastian Bach & Capella Istropolitana (2:30)
  12. 12 Meditation on Prelude No. 1 of Bach, for violin or cello & piano with organ or cello ad lib. (or other instrumental arrangement) - New York Philharmonic & Charles Gounod (2:58)
  13. 13 Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F major, BWV 1047: Allegro assai - Johann Sebastian Bach & Capella Istropolitana (3:23)
  14. 14 Concerto for 2 violins & strings in D minor ("Double"), BWV 1043: Largo ma non tanto - Ernst von Dohnányi & Johann Sebastian Bach (6:50)
  15. 15 Cantata No. 140, "Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme," BWV 140 (BC A166): No.1 - Johann Sebastian Bach & Capella Istropolitana (5:46)
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously