The Big Moo: Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable

The Big Moo: Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable

by The Group of 33
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Most organizations are stuck in a rut. On one hand, they understand all the good things that will come with growth. On the other, they’re petrified that growth means change, and change means risk, and risk means death. Nobody wants to screw up and ruin a good thing, so most companies (and individuals) just keep trying to be perfect at the things they’ve…  See more details below

Overview

Most organizations are stuck in a rut. On one hand, they understand all the good things that will come with growth. On the other, they’re petrified that growth means change, and change means risk, and risk means death. Nobody wants to screw up and ruin a good thing, so most companies (and individuals) just keep trying to be perfect at the things they’ve always done.

In 2003, Seth Godin’s Purple Cow challenged organizations to become remarkable—to drive growth by standing out in a world full of brown cows. It struck a huge chord and stayed on the Business-Week bestseller list for nearly two years. You can hear countless brainstorming meetings where people refer to purple cows and say things like, “That’s not good enough. We need to create a big moo!”

But how do you create a big moo—an insight so astounding that people can’t help but remark on it, like digital TV recording (TiVo) or overnight shipping (FedEx), or the world’s best vacuum cleaner (Dyson)? Godin worked with thirty-two of the world’s smartest thinkers to answer this critical question. And the team—with the likes of Tom Peters, Malcolm Gladwell, Guy Kawasaki, Mark Cuban, Robyn Waters, Dave Balter, Red Maxwell, and Randall Rothenberg on board—created an incredibly useful book that’s fun to read and perfect for groups to share, discuss, and apply.

The Big Moo is a simple book in the tradition of Fish and Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff. Instead of lecturing you, it tells stories that stick to your ribs and light your fire. It will help you to create a culture that consistently delivers remarkable innovations.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Soundview Executive Book Summaries
Marketing guru Seth Godin has gathered the talents of 33 professionals who know how to create remarkable things into The Big Moo. Based on the idea that the only way to grow is to be remarkable, Tom Peters, Malcolm Gladwell, Guy Kawasaki, Mark Cuban and many others contribute their take on overcoming the barriers to becoming remarkable and persuading others to make it happen. Topics covered include using time, Harry Houdini's ability to draw a crowd, 11 ways to fail, 10 things smart startups know, and making money with garlic. Copyright © 2006 Soundview Executive Book Summaries

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101216262
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
10/20/2005
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
208
Sales rank:
1,125,393
File size:
809 KB
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Coming soon...

Coming soon...

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >