The Blade Runner Experience: The Legacy of a Science Fiction Classic

Overview

Since its release in 1982, Ridley Scott's Blade Runner, based on Philip K. Dick's novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, has remained a cult classic through its depiction of a futuristic Los Angeles; its complex, enigmatic plot; and its underlying questions about the nature of human identity. The Blade Runner Experience: The Legacy of a Science Fiction Classic examines the film in a broad context, examining its relationship to the original novel, the PC game, the series of sequels, and the many films ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (5) from $38.50   
  • New (2) from $66.11   
  • Used (3) from $38.50   
Sending request ...

Overview

Since its release in 1982, Ridley Scott's Blade Runner, based on Philip K. Dick's novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, has remained a cult classic through its depiction of a futuristic Los Angeles; its complex, enigmatic plot; and its underlying questions about the nature of human identity. The Blade Runner Experience: The Legacy of a Science Fiction Classic examines the film in a broad context, examining its relationship to the original novel, the PC game, the series of sequels, and the many films influenced by its style and themes. It investigates Blade Runner online fandom and asks how the film's future city compares to the present-day Los Angeles, and it revisits the film to pose surprising new questions about its characters and their world.

Wallflower Press

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781904764311
  • Publisher: Wallflower Press
  • Publication date: 2/21/2006
  • Pages: 240
  • Product dimensions: 6.26 (w) x 9.50 (h) x 0.89 (d)

Meet the Author

Will Brooker is associate professor in communications at Richmond, the American International University in London. He is the author of Batman Unmasked: Analyzing a Cultural Icon; Using the Force: Creativity, Community and 'Star Wars' Fans; and Alice's Adventures: Lewis Carroll in Pop.

Wallflower Press

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Editor's noteNotes on contributorsIntroduction: 2019 Vision, by Will BrookerThe Blade Runner Experience: Pilgrimage and Liminal Space, by Will BrookerPost-Millennium Blade Runner, by Judith B. KermanSection 1: The Cinema Of Philip K. DickReel Toads and Imaginary Cities: Philip K. Dick, Blade Runner and the Contemporary Science Fiction Movie, by Aaron BarlowRedemption, 'Race', Religion, Reality and the Far-Right: Science Fiction Film Adaptations of Philip K. Dick, by Dominic AlessioSection 2: Playing Blade RunnerReplicating the Blade Runner, by Barry AtkinsImplanted Memories, or the Illusion of Free Action, by Susana P. ToscaSection 3: FansScanning the Replicant Text, by Jonathan GrayAcademic Textual Poachers: Blade Runner as Cult Canonical Movie, by Matt HillsOriginals and Copies: The Fans of Philip K. Dick, Blade Runner and K. W. Jeter, by Christy GraySection 4: IdentitiesThe Rachel Papers: In Search of Blade Runner's Femme Fatale, by Deborah JermynPurge! Class Pathology in Blade Runner, by Sean RedmondPostmodern Romance: The Impossibility of (De)centring the Self, by Nick LaceySection 5: The CityFalse LA: Blade Runner and the Nightmare City, by Stephen RowleyImagining the Real: Blade Runner and Discourses on the Postmetropolis, by Peter BrookerFilmographyBibliographyIndex

Wallflower Press

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)