The Bodies We Wear

The Bodies We Wear

3.5 2
by Jeyn Roberts
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this thriller for fans of Scott Westerfeld and Robin Wasserman.
 
Heam: It’s the hottest drug around. Users are able to see Heaven—a place so beautiful, so indescribably serene, many people never want to come back. And some

See more details below

  • Checkmark Kids' Club Eligible  Shop Now

Overview

A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this thriller for fans of Scott Westerfeld and Robin Wasserman.
 
Heam: It’s the hottest drug around. Users are able to see Heaven—a place so beautiful, so indescribably serene, many people never want to come back. And some don’t, like Faye’s best friend, Christian. But when Faye was forced to take Heam, she didn’t see Heaven; she saw Hell. And now she spends her nights training to take revenge on the men who destroyed her future and murdered Christian. When a mysterious young man named Chael appears, Faye’s plans suddenly get a lot more complicated.
 
Love and Death. Will Faye overcome her desires, or will her quest for revenge consume her?

Editorial Reviews

VOYA, October 2014 (Vol. 37, No. 4) - Elizabeth Norton
Faye’s life ended six years ago, when drug dealers forced her and her best friend, Christian, to take Heam, a powerful hallucinogenic drug. It only takes one hit to get addicted to Heam, and the body has to literally die in order to process it. Christian did not come back from his hit, and though Faye survived, she has dealt with the consequences and addiction ever since. Since Heam addicts are not allowed to get jobs or attend college, she figures that all that is left for her is to take revenge on the men who killed Christian before she commits suicide. As Faye closes in on her revenge, a mysterious boy named Chael appears; he looks exactly like Christian and tries to show her that there is more to life than her rage. Dark and gritty realism blends with a twist of urban fantasy in this richly atmospheric novel. Though Heam is a fictional drug, Roberts uses it to deal effectively with the real problems faced by addicts and their families. Faye is not a very likeable heroine. Single-mindedly bent on revenge, she comes across as whiny and ungrateful for her second chance at life. Chael appears in different forms to different people, a fact that is explained only in part. Purchase for large collections or where dark, urban fantasy is popular. Reviewer: Elizabeth Norton; Ages 15 to 18.
School Library Journal
11/01/2014
Gr 9 Up—An intriguing but faulty exploration of addiction set against the backdrop of a not-so-distant future. Forced to overdose on Heam—a synthetic drug that offers users a glimpse of heaven—to pay off her father's debts when she was 11, 16-year-old Faye is bent on making her attackers pay for their crimes, especially the death of her best friend Christian, who tried to defend her that fateful day. Adopted and trained by a former cop with secrets of his own, the teen is treated like a pariah and must follow stringent rules at her private school because of the inherent prejudice against all Heam users. Permanently addicted to the drug, Faye fights off the urge to get high as she hunts down the hoodlums responsible for her tortured existence. A mysterious stranger named Chael, who seems to know her better than she knows herself, and a new friend at school, have given her hope for a possible future without guilt and loneliness. The interesting premise and initial strong world-building, including heavy ruminations on the existence of heaven and hell, gives way to inconsistent characterization, gaping plot holes, and lengthy preachy monologues on revenge and the difference between good and evil in this haphazard YA novel. The tepid romance and the often cringe-worthy dialogue will leave readers uninspired and unsatisfied.—Shelley Diaz, School Library Journal
Kirkus Reviews
2014-07-16
Faye, forced to become a drug addict at 11, now craves revenge against the men who first fed her Heam. Heam, or Heaven's Dream, functionally kills its users, allowing them a glimpse of what appears to be heaven. When drug dealers seeking to punish Faye's father force-fed the drug to Faye and her friend Christian, Faye saw a hellish vision instead. Her chest covered in the red web of scars that mark survivors of a Heam overdose, Faye has spent the past several years becoming a skilled fighter in hopes of murdering the men she holds responsible for her downfall. Faye meets three people—a young Heam user, the sister of a missing Heam addict and a mysterious boy who pops up every time Faye follows her targets—and she begins to question whether revenge is truly the right course of action. The worldbuilding can be one-note: Readers learn a lot about Heam addiction and discrimination against Heam users, but no other drugs or stigmas seem to exist. Faye's experience of addiction is also unconvincing. She tells readers that she craves the drug, but only rarely is there evidence of this. Faye's relationships, however, romantic and otherwise, are compellingly drawn, and the plot is fast-moving and well-structured. Not perfectly constructed, but Faye's strong yet flawed character is worth getting to know. (Faye's training schedule, watchwords, playlist) (Fiction. 14-18)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780385754101
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
09/23/2014
Pages:
368
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range:
14 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >