The Bone Seeker: An Edie Kiglatuk Mystery [NOOK Book]

Overview

The intrepid Edie Kiglatuk discovers one of her female students dead in a toxic lake in her third arctic mystery



In the third novel in this highly praised mystery series that will appeal to fans of The Killing, Top of the Lake, and The Bridge, Edie Kiglatuk works as a summer school teacher in the Canadian arctic. When one of her female students is found dead in nearby Lake...
See more details below
The Bone Seeker: An Edie Kiglatuk Mystery

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$14.99
BN.com price

Overview

The intrepid Edie Kiglatuk discovers one of her female students dead in a toxic lake in her third arctic mystery



In the third novel in this highly praised mystery series that will appeal to fans of The Killing, Top of the Lake, and The Bridge, Edie Kiglatuk works as a summer school teacher in the Canadian arctic. When one of her female students is found dead in nearby Lake Turngaluk, Edie enlists the help of Sergeant Derek Palliser to pursue the case, promising the girl’s Inuit family that they will uncover the truth. Meanwhile, lawyer Sonia Gutierrez investigates the toxicity of the lake and suspects that there might be a larger conspiracy involved. As the three clamber over rocky terrain under twenty-four-hour daylight they start to unearth secrets long frozen over—risking their own lives in the process. With stunning prose, M. J. McGrath delivers another thrill ride through a hauntingly beautiful landscape.




Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
04/14/2014
A summer teaching job takes Edie Kiglatuk to Kuujuaq, a Canadian Arctic village, in McGrath’s unsettling third mystery featuring the Arctic guide (after 2012’s The Boy in the Snow). When Edie and Sgt. Derek Palliser, her policeman friend headquartered in Kuujuaq, find student Martha Salliaq’s body in a desolate lake, Derek deputizes Edie to help with the case. Martha’s father recently won a lawsuit against the government, enabling the village to reclaim land used for a Cold War radar base, and the military is about to start its cleanup. When the Department of Defense suddenly takes over the site and the case, the Salliaqs’ lawyer suspects that Martha’s death might be connected to government secrets. A subplot involving Edie’s relationship with her troubled ex-stepson, Willa Inukpuk, adds a redemptive note to an often bleak tale of jealousy, betrayal, and destruction. Despite some clumsy prose, McGrath effectively evokes the spare Arctic landscape and brings life to the people who have inhabited it for generations. Agent: Kim Witherspoon, Inkwell Management. (July)
Kirkus Reviews
★ 2014-06-19
The murder of a teenager rocks a remote settlement in Canada’s high Arctic.Summer brings many changes to Ellesmere Island, on the northern edge of Nunavut. The ice thins, dovekies return to build their nests on the cliffs, and people flee inland to their summer campgrounds. Droves of unataqti (soldiers) swarm into Camp Nanook on maneuvers. Edie Kiglatuk (The Boy in the Snow, 2012, etc.) moved north from Autisaq to Kuujuaq at the beginning of the season to teach summer school. Her teaching stint ends when 15-year-old Martha Salliaq’s body is found in Turngaluk, known to the Inuit as Lake of the Bad Spirits. Now Sgt. Derek Palliser, the senior of the two members of the Ellesmere Island Native Police, needs Edie’s help. Although the government in Ottawa sees him as a Nunavut native, the Inuit consider Palliser, a Cree, to be qalunaat, an outsider. Edie serves as his pipeline to the people who can help him solve Martha’s murder, starting with the girl's father, Charlie Salliaq. Although Edie is only half Inuit, she still has access to Charlie, whom she addresses as avasirngulik, in deference to his position as tribal chief. But Edie is plagued by doubts about her ability to help Derek solve the case, about her relationship with Chip Muloon, a researcher from the University of Calgary, and about how her role as deputy will affect her relations with the rest of the native population. Those doubts persist even after two unataqti are charged with Martha’s murder. Something in the speed with which Col. Al Klinsman seems willing to jail two of his own—and his hostility to Sonia Gutierrez, the Salliaqs' lawyer—makes Edie think the case isn't as simple as Camp Nanook’s commanding officer suggests.The chills McGrath’s third Edie entry sends down your spine will rival those brought on by any Nunavut winter.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781101604892
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 7/24/2014
  • Sold by: Penguin Group
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 400
  • Sales rank: 133,711
  • File size: 762 KB

Meet the Author


M. J. McGrath is an award-winning journalist and the author of several books of nonfiction. Her fiction debut, White Heat, was long-listed for the UK’s CWA Gold Dagger for best crime and mystery novel of the year. She received the Mail on Sunday Award for Best British Writer Under 35. She lives in London.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)