The Book of the Sword (The Darkest Age #2)

The Book of the Sword (The Darkest Age #2)

4.3 8
by A.J. Lake
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In COMING OF DRAGONS, Edmund and Elspeth received strange and powerful gifts that would lead them on a dangerous quest. Edmund has the vision of the Ripente – he can reach inside the minds of others and see what they see. Elspeth can draw upon the power of an enchanted sword and gauntlet when she is in danger.
Now, the sword is speaking to Elspeth,

…  See more details below

Overview

In COMING OF DRAGONS, Edmund and Elspeth received strange and powerful gifts that would lead them on a dangerous quest. Edmund has the vision of the Ripente – he can reach inside the minds of others and see what they see. Elspeth can draw upon the power of an enchanted sword and gauntlet when she is in danger.
Now, the sword is speaking to Elspeth, leading her to a final showdown with an ancient god. But the journey they must take into the Snowlands is a perilous one, filled with haunting ice spirits, terrifying dragons and others who are aware of their presence in this remote realm. These two unlikely heroes must decide who they can trust and who means them harm. Elspeth's magical sword has brought them closer to their destiny than they realize, and it's up to them to succeed – at any cost.

Editorial Reviews

VOYA - Ava Ehde
In this second book of the Darkest Age quest series, Edmund and Elspeth continue their mission against evil now in the remote Snowlands. Edmund employs his Ripente powers, allowing him to be able to see through the eyes of all creatures. Elspeth develops a deeper communion with the Crystal Sword, which has begun to speak to her and encourage her to destroy evil. These magical gifts are their weapons against the dark spirits of the mountain and the evil demon Loki, who has been entombed within the mountain as a result of the sacrifice of Ioneth as well as many Fay and Ice Dwellers. They are joined in the Snowlands by Dansk maid Fritha and Cathbar, who continues to protect them as he did in the first book, as they again battle Torment the dragon, but this time from the back of a splendid snow dragon. This follow-up novel is a more complicated series of medieval tales with a story line of an earlier time of evil and great sacrifice when Loki was originally entombed. The plots make it a more complex and at times demanding read than the first book, The Coming of Dragons (Bloomsbury, 2006/VOYA August 2006). The story and imagery of the snow dragon in particular is visual and magnificent, and the flight upon her will stick with the reader. Advanced middle school and junior high readers who enjoyed Christopher Paolini's books and Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke (The Chicken House/Scholastic, 2004/VOYA October 2004) will appreciate this story of fantasy and dragons.
Kirkus Reviews
Opening where the previous episode, Coming of Dragons (2006), left off, young castaways Edmund and Elspeth are seized and carried in the talons of the immense dragon Torment toward a confrontation with the chained trickster god/demon Loki. As before, Lake builds a quick-paced plot filled with suspenseful chases, narrow escapes, rescues and dangers, as Elspeth carries the magical sword that will either slay Loki, or free him, down into the fiery cavern where Men and "Fay" had imprisoned him long ago. The author surrounds her with sturdy-if sometimes, particularly in Edmund's case, conflicted-allies old and new, tucks in several revelations, plus a magnificent battle between outsized dragons, then leaves the door open for further adventures. A better-than-average middle volume that keeps the story rolling along nicely. (Fantasy. 12-14)
From the Publisher

“A better-than-average middle volume that keeps the story rolling along nicely.” —Kirkus Reviews

“A deep mystery is set up, done in such a way that it assumes intelligence on the part of a young reader, rather than spelling it all out the way so many books written for kids do….Thoroughly enjoyable.” —CurledUp.com

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781599902746
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA
Publication date:
04/29/2008
Series:
Darkest Age Series, #2
Edition description:
First Edition
Pages:
240
Product dimensions:
5.16(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range:
9 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

A. J. LAKE is a former teacher with a lifelong interest in the period of British history known as the Dark Ages. She is inspired by mountains, storms and places of ice and snow. And she secretly hopes that dragons are real. She is also the author of Coming of Dragons.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >