Box Set Series

Box Set Series

by Luther Vandross

If the two-disc Essential Luther Vandross isn't enough and the four-disc Love, Luther is too much, Epic/J/Legacy has the remedy (sort of) in the form of this box, first released on three discs as The Music of Luther Vandross, then reissued in 2014, on four discs, as The Box Set…  See more details below


If the two-disc Essential Luther Vandross isn't enough and the four-disc Love, Luther is too much, Epic/J/Legacy has the remedy (sort of) in the form of this box, first released on three discs as The Music of Luther Vandross, then reissued in 2014, on four discs, as The Box Set Series. This contains 45 songs and, for whatever reason, includes the live versions of "Stop to Love" and Change's "The Glow of Love" -- two of Vandross' best-known songs, which most casual fans would prefer to have in original studio form. (Yet the compilers chose to include both studio and live versions of "Creepin'.") Many of Vandross' notable hits are featured -- such as "Never Too Much," "Any Love," "Here and Now," "Give Me the Reason," and "Power of Love/Love Power" -- but several major cuts are missing, including the Top Ten R&B singles "There's Nothing Better Than Love," "She Won't Talk to Me," and "Sometimes It's Only Love." While the box is crammed with quality material, there's no getting around the fact that it is less than ideal, no matter your level of Luther fandom.

Read More

Product Details

Release Date:
Sony Legacy


Disc 1

  1. Wait for Love
  2. She Loves Me Back
  3. Don't Want to Be a Fool
  4. So Amazing
  5. Never Too Much
  6. Bad Boy/Having a Party
  7. If This World Were Mine
  8. If Only for One Night
  9. Creepin'
  10. Give Me the Reason
  11. Anyone Who Had a Heart
  12. Any Love

Disc 2

  1. Superstar/Until You Come Back to Me (That's What I'm Gonna Do)
  2. Since I Lost My Baby
  3. A House Is Not a Home
  4. Your Secret Love
  5. The Closer I Get to You  - Beyoncé Knowles
  6. Dance with My Father
  7. Are You Gonna Love Me
  8. Knocks Me off My Feet
  9. For You to Love
  10. 'Til My Baby Comes Home
  11. Take You Out

Disc 3

  1. Got You Home
  2. I'd Rather
  3. Can Heaven Wait
  4. Buy Me a Rose
  5. My Sensitivity (Gets in the Way)
  6. Endless Love  - Mariah Carey
  7. Here and Now
  8. Shine
  9. Grown Thangs
  10. Power of Love/Love Power
  11. Love the One You're With

Disc 4

  1. I'm Gonna Start Today
  2. How Do I Tell Her
  3. Right in the Middle
  4. Any Day Now
  5. My Favorite Things
  6. Never Let Me Go
  7. Love Won't Let Me Wait
  8. Once Were Lovers  - Stevie Wonder
  9. Creepin'
  10. Stop to Love
  11. The Glow of Love

Read More

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Luther Vandross   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Patti Austin   Vocals
Babyface   Guitar
Billy Preston   Organ,Soloist
David Lasley   Vocals
Jeremy Lubbock   Conductor
Phil Perry   Vocals
Ava Cherry   Vocals
Robin Clark   Vocals
Darlene Love   Vocals
Lisa Fischer   Vocals
Kevin Owens   Vocals
Tawatha Agee   Vocals
Phillip Ballou   Vocals
Tinker Barfield   Bass
Bashiri Johnson   Percussion
Errol Crusher Bennett   Percussion
Johnny Britt   Vocals
Alex Brown   Vocals
Cissy Houston   Vocals
Michelle Cobbs   Vocals
Charlotte Crossley   Vocals
Lynn Davis   Vocals
Sammy Figueroa   Percussion
Jim Gilstrap   Vocals
Ivan Hampden   drum overdubs
Doc Powell   Guitar
Yogi Horton   Drums
Phillip Ingram   Vocals
Paul Jackson   Guitar
Anthony Jackson   Bass
Jimmy Jam   Keyboards
Brenda White-King   Vocals
Steve Kroon   Bongos,Conga
Yvonne Lewis   Vocals
Paulette McWilliams   Vocals
Jason Miles   Synthesizer
Marcus Miller   Synthesizer,Bass,Keyboards,Vocals
Cindy Mizelle   Vocals
Rex Rideout   Keyboards
Myrna Smith-Schilling   Vocals
Sybil Thomas   Vocals
Fonzi Thornton   Vocals
Ed Walsh   Synthesizer
Michael White   Percussion
Buddy Williams   Drums
Jay Williams   Guitar
Stevie Wonder   Harmonica
Alfa Anderson   Vocals
Genobia Jeter   Vocals
Nat Adderley   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards
Pat Joyner   Vocals
Tamira C. Sanders   Vocals
Georg "Jojje" Wadenius   Guitar
Lauren Evans   Background Vocals
Patrick Henderson   Choir Director
Paulhino Da Costa   Percussion,Conga,Wind Chimes
John "Skip" Anderson   Synthesizer

Technical Credits

Babyface   Composer
Sam Cooke   Composer
Marvin Gaye   Composer
Cheryl Lynn   Duet
Lionel Richie   Composer
Smokey Robinson   Composer
Brenda Russell   Composer
Steve Stills   Composer
Luther Vandross   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Vocal Arrangements,rhythm arrangement
Jeremy Lubbock   Orchestration
Bonnie Bramlett   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Terry Steele   Composer
Burt Bacharach   Composer
Bernard Edwards   Composer
Nile Rodgers   Composer
Reggie Lucas   Composer
Ray Bardani   Producer,Engineer
Jeff Bova   Sound Design
Mariah Carey   Duet
Hal David   Composer
Bobby Eli   Composer
Wayne Garfield   Composer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Bob Hilliard   Composer
Jimmy Jam   Producer
Terry Lewis   Composer,Producer
James Mtume   Composer
Malavasi   Composer
Richard Marx   Composer,drum programming
Marcus Miller   Arranger,Composer,Producer,rhythm arrangement,Synthesizer Arrangements
Joseph M. Palmaccio   Mastering
Leon Pendarvis   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Rex Rideout   Arranger,Composer,drum programming
Paul Riser   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
David Romani   Composer
Soulshock   Arranger,Producer,Instrumentation
John Jubu Smith   Composer
Joshua Thompson   Composer
Fonzi Thornton   Composer,Additional Production
Reed Vertelney   Arranger,Composer,drum programming
Mark Wilder   Mastering
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Jon B.   Composer,Producer,drum programming
Karlin   Arranger,Producer,Instrumentation
Teddy Vann   Composer
Leo Sacks   Producer
James Harris   Composer
Walter Afanasieff   Arranger,Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Nat Adderley   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements,rhythm arrangement,Synthesizer Arrangements
Jason Rome   Producer,drum programming
Vinnie Barrett   Composer
Carsten Schack   Composer
Morris Broadnax   Composer
Beyoncé Knowles   Duet
Ron "Amen-Ra" Lawrence   Composer,Producer,drum programming
Shep Crawford   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Rob Carter   Art Direction
Warryn Campbell   Composer,Producer
Bryan-Michael Cox   Composer,Programming,Producer
Harold Lilly   Composer
Jim Funk   Composer
Maria Triana   Digital Editing
Erik Hickenlooper   Composer
Joe Thomas   Composer
Lynell George   Liner Notes
Quincy Patrick   Composer
Warren Moore   Composer
Kenneth Karlin   Composer
John "Skip" Anderson   Arranger
Brook Richardson   Composer
Alex Richborg   Programming

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >