The Brain Has a Mind of Its Own: Insights from a Practicing Neurologist

Overview

Neurologist and best-selling author Richard Restak puts readers in touch with the latest scientific findings about the most complex and inscrutable object in creation—the human brain. "By all means let Richard Restak take you on this lively journey to the very roots of our being. Along the way you will gain new understanding of consciousness, dreams, drugs, emotions, memory loss, and many kindred subjects."—William Warner Line drawings.

Where does the brain end and ...

See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (19) from $1.99   
  • New (3) from $7.70   
  • Used (16) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$7.70
Seller since 2005

Feedback rating:

(228)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
New (5163)Paperback, Crown Trade Paperbacks, 1st paperback edition, 1993; Great condition!

Ships from: Bethesda, MD

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$7.99
Seller since 2005

Feedback rating:

(279)

Condition: New
1993 Trade paperback New. No dust jacket as issued. Clean and tight-unused copy-Excellent! ! Trade paperback (US). Glued binding. 228 p. Audience: General/trade.

Ships from: Wauwatosa, WI

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$11.95
Seller since 2008

Feedback rating:

(80)

Condition: New
Excellent condition. Slight shelf wear. Free Tracking information available.

Ships from: Naperville, IL

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Sending request ...

Overview

Neurologist and best-selling author Richard Restak puts readers in touch with the latest scientific findings about the most complex and inscrutable object in creation—the human brain. "By all means let Richard Restak take you on this lively journey to the very roots of our being. Along the way you will gain new understanding of consciousness, dreams, drugs, emotions, memory loss, and many kindred subjects."—William Warner Line drawings.

Where does the brain end and the mind begin? Do we really use only 10% of our brain power? What about dreams? In the tradition of Oliver Sacks and Lewis Thomas, neurologist and bestselling author Restack puts readers in touch with the latest scientific findings about the most complex and inscrutable object in creation--the human brain.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Unlike psychiatrists who tend to underestimate the role of the brain in mental illness, neurologist Restak ( The Brain ) seeks the cause, in part, in brain dysfunction. Drawing on his patients' often dramatic stories, this gifted and disarming writer's vivid scientific imagery helps to demonstrate the mysterious interaction between the physical brain and the ``inner-dimensional'' mind. The gap between the two, he notes, has narrowed, thanks to recent advances in neurobiochemical and genetics research and technology. Among these is the PET scanner, which can record action in the brain before a conscious act of will and help diagnose schizophrenia. One of the wide-ranging essays here concerns the benefits to be derived from such activities as contemplating a bonsai tree, which, along with other ``prescriptions for insight,'' Restak much prefers to the cult of self-absorption attributable, he believes, to psychoanalysis, how-to books and ``communal group grope'' approaches. (Nov.)
Library Journal
Restak, a neuropsychiatrist, gained notoriety with two PBS companion volumes, The Brain ( LJ 11/1/88) and The Mind ( LJ 10/15/84). His latest offering is a curious assortment of short essays that touch on the mind/brain relationship. Directed toward the general reader, these pieces reflect upon such topics as creativity, concentration, mindfulness, lucid dreaming, and the distinguishing features of a highly intelligent brain. Restak freely philosophizes and occasionally editorializes. Examples from his clinical practice and brief summaries of pertinent research add an interesting dimension to the book. While not all of these essays demonstrate profound insight, there is clearly enough here to tantalize readers. Restak's book should be popular in public libraries.-- Laurie Bartolini, Lincoln Lib., Springfield, Ill.
Booknews
In the tradition of Oliver Sacks and Lewis Thomas, neurologist, neuropsychiatrist, and best-selling author Restak (The brain, Bantam, 1984) explores the mysterious terrain of brain and mind, presenting recent research as well as anecdotes from his own practice. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780517880807
  • Publisher: Crown Publishing Group
  • Publication date: 4/1/1993
  • Pages: 228
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 8.50 (h) x 0.50 (d)

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments
Introduction 1
My Brain and I Are One 9
Mapping the Spaces a Mind Can Enter 14
The Compassionate Brain 17
Anguish and Self-Destruction 23
Every Little Movement 27
Designer Drugs 32
The Creativity of the Unconscious 36
Kicking the Habit 41
Your Brain Has a Mind of Its Own 45
The Fiction of the Reasonable Man 51
Information Overload 58
When Ignorance Is Bliss 62
A Proper Form for Everything 68
Emotional Storms 71
Lucid Dreaming on Demand 78
Mind Murder 81
The Two Realities of the Mind 85
The Last Grade of Mastery 88
Nobody at Home 92
The Listener 99
Politics and Temperament 104
Dream Puzzles 110
Bytes on the Brain 116
Prescriptions for Insight 120
Is Rugged Individualism Extinct? 126
Mind Flight 130
Conversations With Toby 134
Running on 10 Percent 138
A Temporary Reprieve 142
The Mind: Mirror of the Brain 146
Thinking About Knowing 151
Those Eyes 154
When Words Trigger an Emotional Response 158
Looking Into the Windows of the Soul 161
Our Own Worlds 165
A Tree That Tames the Mind 172
Truth, Justice, and the Brain 175
Violence as News 179
"I Just Did It, I Don't Know Why" 182
Easy in the Islands 189
Decade of the Brain 195
Bibliography 203
Index 204
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)