The Breaker

The Breaker

5.0 2
by Minette Walters, Robert Powell
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Crime fiction just doesn't get any better than that of the Edgar Award-winning Minette Walters. Her chilling latest, , delivers a sharp, intense, twisting-and-turning plot that'll have you sleeping with the lights bright -- guaranteed. A woman is found murdered and raped facedown on the beach, and only her mute daughter knows who the killer is. SomeSee more details below

Overview

Crime fiction just doesn't get any better than that of the Edgar Award-winning Minette Walters. Her chilling latest, , delivers a sharp, intense, twisting-and-turning plot that'll have you sleeping with the lights bright -- guaranteed. A woman is found murdered and raped facedown on the beach, and only her mute daughter knows who the killer is. Some say you always hurt the one you love. Is that the case in this spine-tingler?

Editorial Reviews

San Diego Union
A virtuoso of psychological suspense.
Marilyn Stasio
...[A] tantalizing English whodunit that hinges on the aberrant nature of a crime and the deviant psychology of the people most likely to have committed it....As clues are dropped and lies are uncoveredsuspicion keeps shifting from one man to the other; but clues can be misleadingand everyone lies about sex. —The New York Times Book Review
Jeri Wright
This is a dark, complex, and somehow intimate mystery....The style will likely appeal to fans of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell; while more plot-driven than many of my favorite novels, the plot is so strong that it carried me along with it, making The Breaker an engrossing read.
Mystery Reader.com
Los Angeles Times
Minette Walters knows the cruel kinkiness that can lurk behind the most sedate of facades.
People Magazine
Tantalizing...erotically charged. Walters stakes her claim as a worthy rival to P.D.James and Ruth Rendell.
Library Journal
Suspicion shifts from one person to another in this English whodunit. A strong reading by Robert Powell adds to the overall success of this plot-driven thriller. Clues abound, but so do dark and shameful secrets. It is up to Purbeck Constable Nick Ingram and Dorset Inspector John Gailbrait to unravel the truth from the threads of lies that are told. Character development is a bit spotty, but this is a good tale nonetheless. Note that some scenes do contain explicit language. Recommended.--Denise A. Garofalo, Mid-Hudson Lib. Syst., Poughkeepsie, NY Copyright 2000 Cahners Business Information.\
Los Angeles Times
Minette Walters knows the cruel kinkiness that can lurk behind the most sedate of facades.
Ann Prichard
[A] delightfully oxymoronic; a calm thriller. The author is adept at psychological suspense stories in which horrible crime lurks within idyllic British settings.
USA Today
Kirkus Reviews
When the binoculars that young Paul and Daniel Spender have snitched from their father first give them a glimpse of the body of Kate Hill-Sumner in Chapman's Pool, off the Isle of Purbeck, three other people are also close by: a self-styled actor whose specialty is gay pornography; a horse-boarder whose swindler husband has run off with all her money; and a teenaged girl aboard an offshore boat idly looking for something to videotape. All three will soon be caught up in the Dorset constabulary's relentless probe of the dead woman's secrets. But the most shocking presence is an absence: Kate's toddler Hannah, who's found wandering the streets of Poole. Why would an assailant brutally rape and disfigure Kate and set her daughter free several miles away? In fact, since Hannah screams at any man's approach, who could have attacked Kate while her daughter was near? And how many lies are the shocked widower, pharmaceutical chemist William Sumner, and Steven Harding, the actor who insists that Kate was stalking him, going to tell? In a brilliantly merciless series of interrogations, Purbeck Constable Nick Ingram and Dorset Inspector John Galbraith strip away layer after layer from the artfully constructed lives and personalities their suspects have made for themselves, bringing a ferocious intensity to the question of who killed Kate. Once again, Walters (The Echo, 1997, etc.) breathes new life into the classic whodunit by treating the cast as agonized—and this time monstrously immature—human beings. (Book-of-the-Month main selection)

From the Publisher
“Minette Walters has emerged as one of the [mystery] genre’s superior writers. Her novels are probing and intelligent, her characters riveting and her plots subtle and demanding.”
The Ottawa Citizen

“The grandes dames of the British mystery better watch their backs. A new heiress apparent to the queen-of-crime throne is breathing down their necks – and she’s armed and deliciously dangerous.”
The Winnipeg Sun

“This is psychological suspense at its best, engendered in a novel whose sinuous plot and enigmatic characters will captivate readers as surely as newfound love.”
Publishers Weekly

“A whodunit of the finest order.”
Ottawa Citizen

“A topnotch mystery that does not let you go.”
Saskatoon StarPhoenix

“Walters has outdone herself.”
Halifax Chronicle-Herald

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780754003731
Publisher:
AudioGO
Publication date:
10/01/1999
Edition description:
Unabridged
Pages:
10

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >