The Cambridge Companion to Robert Frost [NOOK Book]

Overview

This 2001 collection of specially-commissioned essays by experts in the field explores key dimensions of Robert Frost's poetry and life. Frost remains one of the most memorable and beguiling of modern poets. Writing in the tradition of Virgil, Milton, and Wordsworth, he transformed pastoral and georgic poetry both in subject matter and form. Mastering the rhythms of ordinary speech, Frost made country life the point from which to view the world and the complexities of human psychology. The essays in this volume ...
See more details below
The Cambridge Companion to Robert Frost

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$14.49
BN.com price
(Save 44%)$26.00 List Price

Overview

This 2001 collection of specially-commissioned essays by experts in the field explores key dimensions of Robert Frost's poetry and life. Frost remains one of the most memorable and beguiling of modern poets. Writing in the tradition of Virgil, Milton, and Wordsworth, he transformed pastoral and georgic poetry both in subject matter and form. Mastering the rhythms of ordinary speech, Frost made country life the point from which to view the world and the complexities of human psychology. The essays in this volume enable readers to explore Frost's art and thought, from the controversies of his biography to his subtle reinvention of poetic and metric traditions and the conflicts in his thought about politics, gender, science and religion. This volume will bring fresh perspectives to the lyric, narrative and dramatic poetry of an American master, and its chronology and guide to further reading will prove valuable to scholars and students alike.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"...a useful introduction to one of America's greatest poets." Virginia Quarterly Review

"A 20-page treatment of Frost's metrics and versification is one of the best of its kind... important and highly recommended." CHOICE

"has collected 12 commendable essays on a range of topics...important and highly recommended as a present-day collection for undergraduate, graduate students, and general readers." CHOICE Jan 2002

"Provide[s] fresh persepctives and new insights, which is why scholars nad students alike will find the essays both informative and stimulating." Zeitschrift fuer Anglistik und Amerikanistik

"I was impressed by the evenness of the work, the insightful and incisive quality of the articles, which together amount to a judicious and sensitive treatment of the poet and his poetry. One of the most notable achievements of the essays is the fact that one never forgets in reading through them that Frost was first and foremost a craftsman of verse...I also commend the volume for its dedication to revealing for us the historical Frost...The delicate art of petry and Frost's vital metaphorical imaginiation come alive in the Cambridge Companion, and close attention to the book can make us better readers not only of Frost's poetry but of all poetry." The Robert Frost Review 2002

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781139815871
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press
  • Publication date: 10/17/2012
  • Series: Cambridge Companions to Literature
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 1,292,401
  • File size: 3 MB

Table of Contents

List of contributors
Acknowledgments
Chronology
Note on the texts
List of the poems cited
Introduction 1
1 "Stay Unassuming": the Lives of Robert Frost 7
2 Frost Biography and A Witness Tree 35
3 Frost and the Questions for Pastoral 49
4 Frost and the Ancient Muses 75
5 Frost as a New England Poet 101
6 "Across Spaces of the Footed Line": the Meter and Versification of Robert Frost 123
7 Frost's Poetry of Metaphor 155
8 Frost and the Meditative Lyric 179
9 Frost's Poetics of Control 197
10 Frost's Politics and the Cold War 221
11 "Synonymous with Kept": Frost and Economics 241
12 Human Presence in Frost's Universe 261
Select bibliography 273
Index 276
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)