The Case of the Missing Jelly Donut (Minnie and Moo Series)

The Case of the Missing Jelly Donut (Minnie and Moo Series)

5.0 2
by Denys Cazet
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Stolen!

Minnie's jelly donut is gone!

Moo is sure this is the work of a thief. It's up to detective Moo and her faithful companion, Minnie, to stop the crime wave before the donut-napper strikes again! What thief stands a chance with these cunning cows on the case?

Denys Cazet's beloved Minnie and Moo are back and ready for action in

See more details below

  • Checkmark Peanut Butter & Cupcake Only $7.99 with the Purchase of Any Kids' Book  Shop Now

Overview

Stolen!

Minnie's jelly donut is gone!

Moo is sure this is the work of a thief. It's up to detective Moo and her faithful companion, Minnie, to stop the crime wave before the donut-napper strikes again! What thief stands a chance with these cunning cows on the case?

Denys Cazet's beloved Minnie and Moo are back and ready for action in their newest outrageous adventure!

Editorial Reviews

San Francisco Chronicle
Praise for Minnie and Moo: “It’s hard to find fun and clever early-reader books, but Cazet never lets us down.”
Children's Literature
It is really difficult not to laugh at these crazy cows. Minnie is a bit upset; she just opened a box of jelly donuts and now the donut is gone. Moo is convinced that a crime has been committed and it is up to the two of them to track down the thief. Moo deduces that it must be a chicken with blue feathers. They disguise themselves as chickens—yes, it is really hard to imagine, but they do disguise themselves and they do slip into the henhouse to catch the thieving chicken. What ensues is simply crazy fun. Elvis the rooster stumbles home after a night of partying and is greeting by two enormous and ugly chickens (Minnie and Moo), the fox sneaks into the hen house but the two cows scare him off. Eventually they head on home and the crime is solved. Puns abound along with visual humor in a story that will appeal as much to kids as it does to the adults who may be reading it aloud. A Level 3 book in the "An I Can Read Book" series. 2005, HarperCollins, and Ages 5 to 8.
—Marilyn Courtot
School Library Journal
Gr 1-3-Cazet offers another strong entry in this beginning chapter-book series about two lovable cows. Minnie believes her jelly donut has been stolen and Moo is determined to catch the thief. Finding a blue feather nearby, she decides that a blue chicken must have committed the crime. Wearing poultry disguises, the bovines hide out in the henhouse, to the surprise of Elvis the rooster and a fox on the prowl. Readers will chuckle at the ending as the true culprit is discovered. The cheerful illustrations depict the action and contain details that are sure to elicit even more laughs. Fans of Minnie and Moo and readers new to the series will enjoy solving this mystery.-Laura Scott, Farmington Community Library, MI Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780060730093
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
09/05/2006
Series:
I Can Read Book 3 Series
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
48
Sales rank:
283,265
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.18(d)
Lexile:
460L (what's this?)
Age Range:
4 - 8 Years

Meet the Author

Denys Cazet is the author and illustrator of more than 25 picture books for children, including Never Spit On Your Shoes, winner of the California Young Readers Medal.

The books about Minnie and Moo are his first for beginning readers. He was inspired to tell stories about the silly cow best-friends when he passed a herd of cows in which all but two were facing the same way. The other two stood next to each other, facing in the opposite direction from the rest of the cows. He immediately dubbed the two nonconformists Minnie and Moo and imagined the adventures two cows who were loyal friends rather than followers of the herd. Mr. Cazet is currently writing I Can Read Books featuring Elvis the Rooster from the farm on which Minnie and Moo live.

Mr. Cazet was an elementary school teacher for 25 years, and has also been a school librarian and elementary school media specialist. He remains active in his local elementary school parent and advisory committees. A California native, Mr. Cazet lives with his family in the foothills of the Napa Valley.

Denys Cazet is the author and illustrator of more than 25 picture books for children, including Never Spit On Your Shoes, winner of the California Young Readers Medal.

The books about Minnie and Moo are his first for beginning readers. He was inspired to tell stories about the silly cow best-friends when he passed a herd of cows in which all but two were facing the same way. The other two stood next to each other, facing in the opposite direction from the rest of the cows. He immediately dubbed the two nonconformists Minnie and Moo and imagined the adventures two cows who were loyal friends rather than followers of the herd. Mr. Cazet is currently writing I Can Read Books featuring Elvis the Rooster from the farm on which Minnie and Moo live.

Mr. Cazet was an elementary school teacher for 25 years, and has also been a school librarian and elementary school media specialist. He remains active in his local elementary school parent and advisory committees. A California native, Mr. Cazet lives with his family in the foothills of the Napa Valley.

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >