×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Cat Sitter and the Canary (Dixie Hemingway Series #11)
     

The Cat Sitter and the Canary (Dixie Hemingway Series #11)

5.0 1
by John Clement, Blaize Clement
 

See All Formats & Editions

Dixie Hemingway, everyone’s favorite pet-sitting sleuth, is back for yet another riveting case. Set in the lush and beautiful island of Siesta Key, with a cast of characters that Dixie fans the world over have come to know and love, The Cat Sitter and the Canary, the latest book in this critically acclaimed series is sure to leave both mystery fans and

Overview

Dixie Hemingway, everyone’s favorite pet-sitting sleuth, is back for yet another riveting case. Set in the lush and beautiful island of Siesta Key, with a cast of characters that Dixie fans the world over have come to know and love, The Cat Sitter and the Canary, the latest book in this critically acclaimed series is sure to leave both mystery fans and cat lovers alike purring with delight.

This time, Dixie finds a tall, handsome tourist loitering around the home of one of her long-time clients. He tells her he’s just arrived from Scotland and that he’s lost his glasses, which presumably explains why he can’t find the house he rented for his seaside vacation. Dixie points him to the bungalow across the street (but not before rebuffing a few of the sexy Scotsman’s passes) and then continues about her business.

She doesn’t think about him again until she stumbles upon a dead body in her client’s front hall — a man in a three-piece suit with jet-black hair, delicate wrists, and a small notecard stuck to his lapel with a pearl-tipped hat pin. Right away, Dixie puts on her sleuthing cap and starts looking for clues, but when she sees what’s written on that card, she knows… this is going to be an adventure unlike any she’s ever had before.

And if she’s not careful, it just might be her last!

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
10/17/2016
At the start of the Clements’ light-hearted 11th Dixie Hemingway mystery (after 2015’s The Cat-Sitter’s Whiskers), the Siesta Key, Fla., pet sitter and former deputy sheriff stops by the house of vacationing Caroline Greaver, who has left a cat and a rabbit at home. Accompanying Dixie is Charlie, a “fluffy-faced Lhasa apso who thinks he’s a much bigger, more athletic breed.” It’s Charlie who draws Dixie’s attention to a dead body lying in Caroline’s front hall. The detectives who subsequently investigate find a note on the body: “See you in hell, Dixie.” Despite the threat, Dixie maintains her normal schedule, including meeting the island’s so-called scarlet woman, Elba Kramer, who wants Dixie to care for her rare bird. A second body and a second note with a chilling message indicate Dixie is next. A near miss for Dixie sends her on the run. The surprise closing twist promises romantic complications for Dixie in the next installment. Agent: Al Zuckerman, Writers House. (Dec.)
From the Publisher

Unanimous Praise for Blaize Clement’s Dixie Hemingway Mysteries:

“Destined to be a very popular series . . .” —Kirkus Reviews on Duplicity Dogged the Dachshund

“Great ingredients and a fun plot. Frankly, I can’t wait for the sequel!” —Linda Fasulo, NPR on Even Cat Sitters Get the Blues

“Fast-paced and gripping... it’s everything Blaize Clement’s many fans have come to expect.” —Fantastic Fiction on Cat Sitter on a Hot Tin Roof

“Eminently likeable . . . Mystery fans are in for a treat.” —Richmond Times-Dispatch on Cat Sitter Among the Pigeons

Blends elements of cozy and thriller to produce an unusual and enjoyable hybrid . . . sure to delight readers. —Publishers Weekly on Even Cat Sitters Get the Blues

For fans of Susan Conant and Clea Simon. —Library Journal on Even Cat Sitters Get the Blues

Library Journal
07/01/2016
In the 11th installment of the pet-sitting Dixie Hemingway mysteries, written since Blaize's death by her son John, Dixie and her Lhasa apso buddy Charlie cannot find the stunning mackerel tabby they're sitting. The next day, behind a parlor door, they find a dead body—with plenty of clues pointing to Dixie as the murderer.
Kirkus Reviews
2016-10-19
A cop-turned-catsitter can't help but investigate when she finds a body at her newest client's place.A former police officer, Dixie Hemingway has found her happiness and true calling as a petsitter in her home in Siesta Key. Ensconced in this wealthy community, Dixie's found plenty of clients in neighbors like Caroline Greaver, who's hired her (The Cat Sitter's Cradle, 2014, etc.) to watch her cat and very spoiled bunny so she can go on a cruise. On her way to check in at Caroline's, Dixie is stopped by a man she's never met before—a rare occurrence in the little resort town. Rupert Wolff flirts with Dixie in a thick Scottish brogue. Though he seems nice enough, something makes her distrust him. She's still trying to sort out the root of her discomfort when real trouble hits: next time she checks in on Caroline's pets, she sees the body of what appears to be a mustachioed corpse. While the police investigate, Dixie's mind races, and she wonders if she could have been the intended victim, especially once a note found with the body hints just that. In spite of the investigation, Dixie is determined to keep her appointment with her most recent potential client, Caroline's neighbor Elba Kramer, better known as the Scarlet Woman of Siesta Key. Elba's indiscretion with a politician means the town can't stop talking about her. But Dixie tries her best not to judge Elba, maybe because her own feelings about former boyfriend Detective Jean Pierre Guidry can't be quieted even though his wedding is fast approaching. The Clements' blending of accessible procedural facts with their heroine's love of animals and the cozy small-town setting makes their latest a fun and breezy read.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781250051172
Publisher:
St. Martin's Press
Publication date:
12/20/2016
Series:
Dixie Hemingway Series , #11
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
50,491
Product dimensions:
5.30(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.20(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

JOHN CLEMENT is the son of BLAIZE CLEMENT (1932-2011), who originated the Dixie Hemingway mystery series and collaborated with her son on the plots and characters for forthcoming novels. Blaize is the author of Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter, Duplicity Dogged the Dachshund, Even Cat Sitters Get the Blues, Cat Sitter on a Hot Tin Roof, Raining Cat Sitters and Dogs, Cat Sitter Among the Pigeons, The Cat Sitter's Pajamas, and The Cat Sitter's Whiskers.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Cat Sitter and the Canary (Dixie Hemingway Series #11) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Storytellermary 24 days ago
Cat Sitter and the Canary by Blaize & John Clement So twisty! I was surprised, almost dizzied, by the many turns of plot. This is a fast-paced and witty adventure, so compelling that I read it in one day, and now am sorry it’s over. Dixie knows her animals, and the law! I have enjoyed this series and hope for many more books. I especially love the caring and symbiotic relationships: Dixie’s brother and his partner Paco looking out for Dixie, Dixie giving Tom’s greyhound a good run in exchange for help with “anything having to do with money” as well as a workout from her canine “personal trainer.” Bonus, imagining warm Siesta Key while dealing with St. Louis winter. Sigh! I wish . . . but meanwhile it’s therapeutic to imagine a warm beach.