The Choral Works of Krzysztof Penderecki

( 1 )
$47.49 price
(Save 5%)$49.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (5) from $25.33   
  • New (5) from $25.33   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 9/29/2009
  • Label: Naxos
  • UPC: 747313522439
  • Catalog Number: 8505224
  • Sales rank: 54,963


Disc 1
  1. 1 Utrenia I: The Entombment of Christ, for 5 voices, 2 choruses & orchestra - Krzysztof Penderecki & Gennady Bezzubenkov (40:20)
  2. 2 Utrenia II: The Resurrection of Christ, for 5 soloists, boy's choir, chorus & orchestra - Krzysztof Penderecki & Gennady Bezzubenkov (34:22)
  3. 3 Polish Requiem, for SATB, chorus & orchestra - Krzysztof Penderecki & Ryszard Minkiewicz (99:17)
  4. 4 St. Luke Passion (Passio et Mors Domini Nostri Jesu Christi Secundum Lucam), for 3 voices, narrator, choruses & orchestra - Krzysztof Penderecki & Romuald Tesarowicz (76:08)
  5. 5 Te Deum, for 4 soloists, 2 choruses & orchestra - Krzysztof Penderecki & Piotr Nowacki (36:52)
  6. 6 Hymn to St. Daniel, for chorus & winds - Krzysztof Penderecki & Warsaw Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra (12:13)
  7. 7 Polymorphia, for 48 strings - Krzysztof Penderecki & Warsaw Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra (10:48)
  8. 8 Polish Requiem, for SATB, chorus & orchestra: Chaconne - Krzysztof Penderecki & Warsaw Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra (7:08)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Antoni Wit Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Stark and Sensational

    There's not much you can say about Poland's Krzysztof Penderecki that hasn't been said before. One of the towering figures of modern classical music, his profound and complex compositions seem to channel all the angst and suffering of the 20th century, yet their darkness is invariably balanced a sense of hopefulness. This is especially true of his choral compositions. Reason enough to celebrate this Naxos box set featuring a quartet of Penderecki's seminal vocal works for choir and orchestra. Probably the best known is his "Polish Requiem," written in stages over a number of years and dedicated variously to Lech Walesa and Solidarity, a pair of notable Polish religious figures, and the 1944 Warsaw uprising against the Nazi occupation. Written for a large orchestra and mixed chorus, the Requiem, while challenging, is reflective of Penderecki's neo-romantic period, when he began to curb his experimental tendencies in favor of a more accessible musical language. It's a melodically elaborate, at times overpowering work balanced between the emotional tonalities of nightmares and dreams. "St. Luke's Passion" was written between 1963 and 1966, and is much more radical in its use of serial techniques and dense tone clusters, yet the vocal lines clearly communicate the work's religious fervor. "Te Deum" deftly combines eerie and austere vocal passages with angular strings and ominous percussion, which at times evokes a stunning sense of post-apocalyptic despair. Fans of Kubrick's "The Shining" will recognize certain passages from Penderecki's "Utrenja," a brooding two-part work awash in melodic and harmonic atonality and savage choral passages. Also included (consider it a bonus) is the composer's "Polymorphia," one of his most extreme and rewarding orchestral pieces. All the works in this set benefit from superb performances by the Warsaw National Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir under the baton of Antoni Wit. The recordings are also excellent, full of clarity, warmth and spaciousness. While the bulk of this music is steeped in darkness, it also projects a luminous spirituality that one can interpret from either a religious or secular perspective. The ridiculously low price of this five-CD set makes it the classical music bargain of the year. Add it to your classical music collection immediately.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews