Chrysalis Years: 1973-1979

The Chrysalis Years: 1973-1979

by UFO

The five-CD UFO box set The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) chronicles the recordings that represent the British rock group's artistic and commercial peak. It's an era that corresponds exactly to the tenure of guitarist Michael Schenker, who joined UFO founding members Phil Mogg (vocals), Pete…  See more details below


The five-CD UFO box set The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) chronicles the recordings that represent the British rock group's artistic and commercial peak. It's an era that corresponds exactly to the tenure of guitarist Michael Schenker, who joined UFO founding members Phil Mogg (vocals), Pete Way (bass), and Andy Parker (drums) after they had made two studio albums and a live disc with original guitarist Mick Bolton, and left after five more studio albums (Phenomenon, Force It, No Heavy Petting, Lights Out, and Obsession) and another concert collection (Strangers in the Night). Unlike the first three LPs (which were not released in America at the time), five of the six records with Schenker made the U.S. Top 200 chart, with Lights Out reaching the Top 30, while the band's early space rock style gave way to a hard rock sound that earned comparisons to the Who and Led Zeppelin. The Chrysalis Years (1973-1979) contains the complete contents of those six albums, plus an entire concert performed on the Phenomenon tour at the Electric Ballroom in Atlanta; an appearance with Bob Harris of the British TV show The Old Grey Whistle Test around the time of Phenomenon; a radio session with DJ John Peel around the time of Lights Out, and assorted tracks from singles. The German Schenker, who joined as a teenager, remains the phenom of Phenomenon, as well as the rest of the music, combining the blues attack of Jimmy Page with anticipation of the fast playing of followers like Eddie Van Halen. His talents are on display as early as an extended solo in "Rock Bottom" on Phenomenon, the first of four versions of that song in the box set, and he demonstrates how lyrical he can be on the acoustic ballad "Time on My Hands" from the same LP. Most of the material beyond the regular LPs comes toward the beginning, with the Electric Ballroom show (played before an enthusiastic, if apparently sparse crowd) particularly notable, with its eight-and-a-half-minute reworking of John Lennon's "Cold Turkey." As of No Heavy Petting, keyboardist Paul Raymond had joined, and the similarities to the Who and Led Zeppelin had become overt (along with occasional nods to Bad Company and Queen). The string-laden Lights Out continues to sound like UFO's best work, with Obsession also accomplished and Strangers in the Night a victory lap. There may have been a UFO before this period, and there has been one, off and on, since, but this lengthy collection presents the band at its best.

Read More

Product Details

Release Date:


Disc 1

  1. Give Her The Gun
  2. Sweet Little Thing
  3. Oh My
  4. Crystal Light
  5. Doctor Doctor
  6. Space Child
  7. Rock Bottom
  8. Too Young To Know
  9. Time On My Hands
  10. Built For Comfort
  11. Lipstick Traces
  12. Queen Of The Deep
  13. Doctor Doctor
  14. Rock Bottom
  15. Time On My Hands
  16. Give Her The Gun

Disc 2

  1. Oh My
  2. Doctor Doctor
  3. Built For Comfort [
  4. Give Her The Gun [#
  5. Cold Turkey
  6. Space Child
  7. Rock Bottom
  8. Prince Kujuku
  9. Let It Roll
  10. Shoot Shoot
  11. High Flyer
  12. Love Lost Love
  13. Out In the Street

Disc 3

  1. Mother Mary
  2. Too Much of Nothing
  3. Dance Your Life Away
  4. This Kid's
  5. Natural Thing
  6. I'm a Loser
  7. Can You Roll Her
  8. Belladonna
  9. Reasons Love
  10. Highway Lady
  11. On With the Action
  12. A Fool In Love
  13. Martian Landscape
  14. Too Hot To Handle
  15. Just Another Suicide
  16. Try Me
  17. Lights Out

Disc 4

  1. Gettin' Ready
  2. Alone Again Or
  3. Electric Phase
  4. Love To Love
  5. Try Me
  6. Too Hot To Handle
  7. Lights Out
  8. Try Me
  9. Only You Can Rock Me
  10. Pack It Up (And Go)
  11. Arbory Hill
  12. Ain't No Baby
  13. Lookin' Out For No. 1
  14. Hot 'N' Ready
  15. Cherry
  16. You Don't Fool Me
  17. Lookin' Out For No. 1 (Reprise)
  18. One More For The Rodeo
  19. Born To Lose
  20. Only You Can Rock Me

Disc 5

  1. Natural Thing
  2. Out In the Street
  3. Only You Can Rock Me
  4. Doctor Doctor
  5. Mother Mary
  6. This Kid's
  7. Love To Love
  8. Lights Out
  9. Rock Bottom
  10. Too Hot To Handle
  11. I'm a Loser
  12. Let It Roll
  13. Shoot Shoot
  14. Doctor Doctor
  15. On With the Action

Read More

Album Credits

Performance Credits

UFO   Primary Artist
Michael Schenker   Guitar
Chick Churchill   Keyboards
Phil Mogg   Vocals
Danny Peyronel   Keyboards,Vocals
Paul Raymond   Guitar,Keyboards
Pete Way   Bass
Alan McMillan   Conductor
Andy Parker   Drums

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Composer
John Lennon   Composer
Michael Schenker   Composer
Andy Fraser   Composer
John Knowles   Tour Manager
Pete Carlson   Stage Crew
Mike Bobak   Engineer
Mike Clink   Engineer
Mark Eshelman   Stage Manager
Leo Lyons   Producer
Bryan MacLean   Composer
Phil Mogg   Composer
Ron Nevison   Producer,Engineer
Danny Peyronel   Composer
Larry Wallis   Composer
Pete Way   Composer
Steve Brooks   Stage Manager
Frankie Miller   Composer
Silvia Otte   Cover Photo
Hugh Gilmour   Liner Notes
Hipgnosis   Cover Design
Alan McMillan   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Mike Thompson   Engineer
Scott Minshall   Artwork
Ron Cooper   Equipment Manager
Steve Casey   Stage Technician
Andy Parker   Composer
Martin Nicholas   Producer
Brian Chubb   Sound Enhancement

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >