Church Ladies' Divine Desserts: Heavenly Recipes and Sweet Recollections by Brenda Rhodes Miller, Hardcover | Barnes & Noble
The Church Ladies' Divine Desserts: Heavenly Recipes and Sweet Recollections

The Church Ladies' Divine Desserts: Heavenly Recipes and Sweet Recollections

by Brenda Rhodes Miller
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In the tradition of The Black Family Reunion Cookbook, Celebrating Our Mothers' Kitchens, and A Gracious Plenty, The Church Ladies' Divine Desserts brings together more than two hundred recipes, culled from local, church, and family cookbooks. But this book is much more than a compilation of recipes for decadent (or divine) sweets. It

Overview

In the tradition of The Black Family Reunion Cookbook, Celebrating Our Mothers' Kitchens, and A Gracious Plenty, The Church Ladies' Divine Desserts brings together more than two hundred recipes, culled from local, church, and family cookbooks. But this book is much more than a compilation of recipes for decadent (or divine) sweets. It honors church ladies, those revered African-American women who have contributed immeasurably to their churches as teachers, mentors, keepers of tradition, and as culinary experts.

A homemade dessert is more than just a sweet finale to a meal in the African-American kitchen. It is a way to demonstrate special affection while underscoring the bounty of God's blessing on the home. And no one more than a church lady is aware of the power of a fine chocolate confection or a down-home bread pudding prepared with love and served with respect.

Author Biography: Brenda Rhodes Miller, the deputy director of the National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, has written for numerous publications and contributed to The Black Family Reunion Cookbook. The wife of a Baptist preacher, she is a bona fide church lady.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
The "church ladies" are the loyal women the author describes as "the movers and shakers in the congregation," the ones responsible in many African American churches for making sure things run smoothly. Miller, a contributor to The Black Family Reunion Cookbook and the wife of a Baptist preacher in Washington, DC, has collected recipes and reminiscences from "church ladies" all over the country. Her text is informative and engaging, and the stories of many of these special churchwomen are often moving. The more than 200 recipes include old-fashioned sweets like Floating Island, perennial favorites such as Strawberry Shortcake, and unusual desserts like Caribbean Bread Pudding. For most collections. Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780399147807
Publisher:
Penguin Group (USA)
Publication date:
10/01/2001
Pages:
368
Product dimensions:
7.90(w) x 9.60(h) x 0.96(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >