×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The City of Death
     

The City of Death

4.0 4
by Sarwat Chadda
 

See All Formats & Editions


Meet Ash Mistry: eighth grader, pretty good video gamer, guy with a massive crush on the beautiful Gemma . . .

Oh, and the Eternal Warrior of the death goddess Kali.

Just when Ash has settled back into his everyday London life, his friend Parvati arrives with a mission: The evil Lord Alexander Savage is plotting to steal the Koh-I-Noor diamond from

Overview


Meet Ash Mistry: eighth grader, pretty good video gamer, guy with a massive crush on the beautiful Gemma . . .

Oh, and the Eternal Warrior of the death goddess Kali.

Just when Ash has settled back into his everyday London life, his friend Parvati arrives with a mission: The evil Lord Alexander Savage is plotting to steal the Koh-I-Noor diamond from England's crown jewels. Ash and Parvati manage to intercept it, but at a terrible price-Gemma's death.

Outcast and heartbroken, Ash returns with Parvati to India, where he meets up with old friends and develops new powers. But he's haunted by Gemma, by thoughts of revenge against Savage, and by horrifying, blood-soaked dreams. As he hunts Savage all the way to an astonishing, long-hidden kingdom, Ash must face the prospect that he may no longer be entirely human . . . and his warrior side may lie beyond his control.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

Praise for The City of Death

"The nonstop action in this exciting sequel to The Savage Fortress uses every bell and whistle of the suspense novelist's craft to satisfy readers--no middle-novel syndrome here. . . . The well-integrated background information, a doomed romance and lots of video game action will keep teens reading and panting for more." -- Kirkus Reviews

Praise for The Savage Fortress

"Nonstop action and likeable teen characters will attract fans of fantasy quests such as the Percy Jackson books and the saga of Nicolas Flamel."-- Kirkus Reviews

"Brilliantly done and definitely a highlight of my reading year so far."-- thebooksmugglers.com

Kirkus Reviews
2013-09-01
The nonstop action in this exciting sequel to The Savage Fortress (2012) uses every bell and whistle of the suspense novelist's craft to satisfy readers--no middle-novel syndrome here. Ash Mistry escapes tensions at home and in school by returning to India with the half rakshasa Parvati. Their aim: to keep the mystical aastra that is the Koh-I-Noor diamond out of the hands of the evil sorcerer, Lord Alexander Savage. Ash experiences much physical and emotional violence as the tale progresses: danger to his first love, further initiation into the Kali-aastra, betrayal by one of his closest friends and abduction by two man-sized stone monkeys. Characters from Hindu mythology once again play a key role in the narrative. Though the story is set mainly in Kolkata, the city of Kali, goddess of death, the climax takes place off the coast of southern India in an ancient undersea palace. The ending leaves a great many plot threads unresolved, promising a third in the series. The well-integrated background information, a doomed romance and lots of video game action will keep teens reading and panting for more. (Fantasy. 12-15)
Children's Literature - Magi Evans
Move over, Percy Jackson. A new hero has emerged in the form of Ash Mistry. In The Savage Fortress, the first book in the series, a small splinter of an ancient golden arrowhead pierced Ash's skin, turning him into the Eternal Warrior, the reincarnation of a great hero of India. In fact, Ash himself was killed and brought back to life during a battle with Lord Alexander Savage, a ruthless, seemingly immortal man intent on mastering the ten ancient Indian magics in order to become invincible. In this second book, fourteen-year-old Ash, now a servant of the goddess Kali, must once again confront Savage and his demons, while overcoming the arrogance brought on by his own enormous power. Add in the mixed feelings every teenage boy feels about friendship, romance, and control over his life, and the result is a jam-packed action adventure with magical overtones that will appeal to fans of Rick Riordan, John Flanagan and Jon Voelkel. The Koh-I-Noor diamond is the focus of the story, as it is thought to be able to bring someone back to life. Some characters from the first book return, including Parvati, the half-human half-cobra demon who helps Ash, but has her own agenda. Ash has access to all of his past lives to guide him as he tries to master his powers and his emotions, but betrayal and rejection leave him lonely and wondering whom he can trust. A bloody battle in a magical underground city results in Savage's defeat, but not his death. Savage's escape, and a twist at the end that no one will see coming, assures a third book, which readers will happily anticipate. Chadda includes enough details about ancient Indian mythology for the story to make sense, but not so much as to confuse or bore readers. Current cultural references, including Star Wars, Indiana Jones, and the Simpsons, add a bit of humor to balance the mayhem, of which there is plenty. Though not for the faint of heart, this story is impossible to put down. Book three cannot come fast enough! Reviewer: Magi Evans
School Library Journal
01/01/2014
Gr 8 Up—In this sequel to The Savage Fortress (Scholastic, 2012), Ash is back at school in England, his days as a killing machine channeling the goddess Kali's spirit fading from memory. But he is still not safe from insatiably power-hungry Lord Savage. When Ash's friend Parvati shows up in London, the carnage recommences, as Ash is forced yet again into the role of superhero, doomed to save the world. Savage is after the Koh-I-Noor diamond, the aastra that will allow him to conquer the fourth dimension. Forced into a hasty battle on Guy Fawkes Night, Ash's friend and crush, Gemma, tragically becomes collateral damage. In his anguish at her murder, Ash makes a deadly error, teaming up with Savage in the hope that he can turn back time and restore Gemma to life. Gruesome battles ensue, fought with monsters of stone, with rakshasas, and with magical architectural traps that will flay skin and melt bone; battles fought on cliffs, on the streets of London, in the Indian countryside, and finally in the ancient underwater kingdom of Ravana. Chadda again shows his flair as a storyteller, weaving ancient Hindi mythology into the present-day story of a teenager miserably torn between his destiny as the savior of the world and his wish to be a normal kid with a girlfriend. It is his wish for normalcy, and for his innocent girlfriend's cruel death to be undone, that very nearly destroys him. It is this so-human dilemma that saves this book from the otherwise relentless violence. When Ash returns to London in the final chapter, readers know immediately that the ultimate battle is yet to come and will be longing for the next installment in the series.—Jane Barrer, United Nations International School, New York City

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780545385183
Publisher:
Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date:
10/29/2013
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
547,274
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.20(d)
Lexile:
680L (what's this?)
Age Range:
9 - 12 Years

Meet the Author


Sarwat Chadda is the author of the YA novels DEVIL'S KISS and DARK GODDESS. A former engineer, he is very glad to now be constructing stories and not ductwork systems. He lives in London, England, with his family. Visit him on the web at www.sarwatchadda.com and @sarwatchadda.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The City of Death 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this for my son after he read The Savage Fortress. He loves this book and can't wait for the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best !!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Runs in