The City of Strangers

The City of Strangers

4.5 2
by Michael Russell
     
 
The SUNDAY TIMES top 20 bestseller!New York, 1939: A city of hope. A city of opportunity. A city hiding dark secrets …A brutal murder in an affluent suburb of Dublin and the unexplained death of an Irish diplomat in Manhattan…Garda Sergeant Stefan Gillespie is sent to America to bring a killer to justice, but his mission soon becomes part of an

Overview

The SUNDAY TIMES top 20 bestseller!New York, 1939: A city of hope. A city of opportunity. A city hiding dark secrets …A brutal murder in an affluent suburb of Dublin and the unexplained death of an Irish diplomat in Manhattan…Garda Sergeant Stefan Gillespie is sent to America to bring a killer to justice, but his mission soon becomes part of an increasingly personal struggle. A chance encounter with an old friend draws him deep into a chilling network of conspiracy, espionage and terror with disturbing connections to home.He becomes more involved than he should in an Irish woman’s bid for freedom from the clutches of the Manhattan underworld, and discovers that the war that is looming in Europe is already being played out here on the streets, with deadly consequences.In this time when people must make a stand for what they believe in, the stakes for Stefan Gillespie, and everything he holds dear, couldn’t be higher.Elegant and atmospheric, The City of Strangers is a perfect thriller for fans of C.J. Sansom and Carlos Ruiz Zafon.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780007460076
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
10/10/2013
Sold by:
HarperCollins Publishers
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
432
File size:
890 KB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Michael Russell read English at Oxford before spending three years working in farming in North Devon, trying to get someone to pay him to write. He worked for Yorkshire Television as a script editor, on Emmerdale Farm, working his way up to Series Producer. He also spent several years in the Drama Department, first as Script Consultant then Producer, before leaving ITV to write full-time. He was a regular contributor to Midsommer Murders and scripted the last ever Touch of Frost which topped the ratings. He lives in Ireland with his family, where he is doing what he always wanted to do, writing novels.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The City of Strangers 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this would be a good book to read.Hope so i'm going for it.;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A well plotted intrigue bringing dangerous people, from a most often overlooked sphere, into the web of pre-war treachery.