The Classic Christmas Album

$30.09 price
(Save 14%)$34.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (4) from $6.72   
  • New (4) from $6.72   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 10/14/1997
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon
  • UPC: 028944996524
  • Catalog Number: 449965
  • Sales rank: 211,048


Disc 1
  1. 1 Rondeau, for brass, strings & timpani (from Suite of Symphonies No. 1; "Masterpiece Theater" Theme): Rondeau - Jean-Joseph Mouret & Arthur Hannes (1:58)
  2. 2 Cantique de Noël for voice & orchestra "O Holy Night": Arranged by Douglas Gamley - Adolphe Adam & Kurt Herbert Adler (4:17)
  3. 3 Nutcracker, suite from the ballet, Op. 71a: March - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra (2:23)
  4. 4 O Tannenbaum (O Christmas Tree) (German): Arranged by Christian Harrer - Uwe Christian Harrer & Christmas Traditional (1:38)
  5. 5 German dance for orchestra in C major ("Die Schlittenfahrt"), K. 605/3 - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart & Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra (2:32)
  6. 6 White Christmas, song (from "Holiday Inn") - Robert Russell Bennett & Irving Berlin (5:01)
  7. 7 Cantata No. 147, "Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben," BWV 147 (BC A174): Jesus bleibet meine Freude, arr by Guillermo Figue - Johann Sebastian Bach & Edward Brewer (3:27)
  8. 8 Ave Maria, for voice & piano (or other vocal arrangements; after Bach's Prelude No. 1 from the Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 1) - Charles Gounod & London Symphony Orchestra (2:10)
  9. 9 Méditation, violin & orchestra version and various arrangements (from opera "Thäis") - Jules Massenet & Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra (6:43)
  10. 10 Navedad Nuestra, cantata, for tenor, chorus & orchestra: El Nacimiento, vidala catamarqueña - Ariel Ramírez & José Carreras (3:58)
  11. 11 Judas Maccabaeus, oratorio, HWV 63: See, the Conquering Hero Comes - George Frideric Handel & Arthur Hannes (3:02)
  12. 12 Cantata No. 147, "Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben," BWV 147: Jesus bleibet meine Freude - Johann Sebastian Bach & English Baroque Soloists (2:31)
  13. 13 Requiem, for 2 solo voices chorus, organ, & orchestra, Op. 48: Pie Jesu - Carlo Maria Giulini & Gabriel Fauré (4:06)
  14. 14 Concerto Grosso in G minor ("Christmas Concerto"), Op. 6/8: Adagio - Arcangelo Corelli & Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra (3:52)
  15. 15 Drei Kön'ge Wandern Aus Morgenland - Peter Cornelius & Malcolm Martineau (2:38)
  16. 16 Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht (Silent Night): Arr by Helge Jung - Franz Gruber & Dresden Kreuzchor (3:34)
  17. 17 Ellens Gesang III ("Ave Maria"), song for voice & piano, D. 839 (Op. 52/6): Arr by Thelma Owen - Franz Schubert & English Chamber Orchestra (3:38)
  18. 18 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Dance of the Reed Pipes, arr by Nicholas Economou - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & Martha Argerich (2:11)
  19. 19 Munequita Linda for voice & orchestra: Arranged by Karl-Heinz Loges - Karl-Heinz Loges & Maria Grever (3:51)
  20. 20 Songs (2) for alto, viola & piano, Op. 91: No 2, Geistliches Wiegenlied - Johannes Brahms & Daniel Barenboim (6:11)
  21. 21 Messiah, oratorio, HWV 56: Hallelujah - George Frideric Handel & Choir of the English Concert (4:00)
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously