×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Cloud
     

The Cloud

4.4 70
by Matt Richtel
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Cloud is an exhilarating, cutting-edge thriller from Pulitzer Prize winner and New York Times technology and science reporter Matt Richtel.

When the next generation of technology seeps into the brains of the next generation of people, former medical student turned journalist Nat Idle must investigate and stop the invasion.

In the

Overview

The Cloud is an exhilarating, cutting-edge thriller from Pulitzer Prize winner and New York Times technology and science reporter Matt Richtel.

When the next generation of technology seeps into the brains of the next generation of people, former medical student turned journalist Nat Idle must investigate and stop the invasion.

In the tradition of Lisa Gardner, Steve Berry, and Joseph Finder, Richtel has delivered a whip-smart page-turner that melds cutting-edge science with a technological mystery and a shocking finale. A deftly told tale, the scariest part of The Cloud is how close to reality it could be.

The Cloud, the second in the Nat Idle series, includes a bonus short story, "Floodgate."

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062198051
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
01/29/2013
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
432
Sales rank:
266,376
File size:
652 KB

Meet the Author

Matt Richtel is a Pulitzer Prize–winning New York Times reporter and bestselling nonfiction and mystery author. He lives in San Francisco with his wife, Meredith, a neurologist, and their two children. In his spare time, he plays tennis and piano and writes (not very good) songs. Visit him online at www.mattrichtel.wordpress.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Cloud 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 70 reviews.
RobertDowns More than 1 year ago
If you stop to really think about it, it’s amazing how books find readers, since the ocean is filled with more than 200,000 books produced each year, and this ocean is constantly expanding, a black hole of pages and kilobytes produced for what the author hopes is mass consumption. While it’s not a grand tale, I discovered THE CLOUD through an online ad that I caught out of the corner of my eye, the cover being my first introduction to this fine tale, sampled the first several paragraphs, and then noticed a smattering of reviews. All of this piqued my curiosity, led to an impulse purchase on my Kindle, and now this review. Why do I tell you this? Because it happens on occasion to me (I’ve never met a book that I wasn’t willing to give a chance, and I have no problem stepping out from the pack), but it’s rare when that connection works just perfectly, like the universe dropped a book into the market just for me. This was one of those books, and yet as certain as I am of this, it’s hard for me to pinpoint exactly why. I can be a bit of a sucker for first person novels. I love the immediacy and stepping right into the shoes of the main character and walking around for miles and miles until we reach some sort of destination. This novel afforded me this wonderful opportunity, and I have to admit I became rather fond of Nat Idle, even if he suffered post-traumatic stress disorder and stumbled around like a drunken sailor for much of this tale, forcing me to sometimes question my own equilibrium and state of sobriety, despite tea being my strongest drink as of late. This novel bends genres, defies conventions, marches to the beat of its own drummer, or feel free to insert your favorite descriptive phrase. It could easily be classified as a mystery, although the mysterious deaths aren’t really the primary focus for Nat, or it could just as easily be classified as a thriller, although it’s not written from multiple points of view, and there’s no real ticking clock. But THE CLOUD is a novel I didn’t want to end, it’s a novel I couldn’t put down, and it’s a novel where the voice carried me home, cheering me on every step of the way. Character growth isn’t normally a focus of thrillers, and yet I felt Nat grow as a character, as a person, and as a man, and his relationship with Faith added heart to a novel that might have otherwise been a bit lacking, since this tale ends up being driven by technology and the chase to discover the truth. It’s a chase that kept me flipping pages, as fast as my brain could carry me, as I savored every moment of this thrilling read. Matt Richtel isn’t a new author, but he’s new to me, and I look forward to checking out more of his tales. If you’re smart, you might want to do the same as well. Robert Downs Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
B&N why do you continue to allow these obviously young children to hijack this review site with their silly roll playing games. Most of us want to read people's opinions on the book in question.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Alice DiNizo for Readers' Favorite Nate Idle left medical school to become a journalist for neuroscience. He has done well in his field, becoming a go-to journalist after writing a series of articles about a capitalist with ties to the military who is developing how to store secrets inside the fallow part of the human brain. Nate does discover that a local San Francisco company called PRISM is working with a local home for troubled teens, helping them to multitask with their brains and to adapt to the onslaught of computer information. While waiting in a San Francisco subway, Nate is attacked by a man who leaves behind a piece of paper with his name and that of a PRISM worker named Sandy Vello who works with these troubled teens and who may have been hit by a car and killed. A woman named Faith helps Nate after his subway accident as does his office mate Samantha Leary and her husband, Dennis, who enjoys meeting Nate after hours in the Pastime Bar. Nate's subway accident leaves him with a form of second sight. Can he deal with what PRISM is developing? Can Nate also deal with the reality of his estranged wife Polly and their young son Isaac? "The Cloud" by Matt Richtel is a well-written thriller that looks into what technology might do to people's lives and behaviors. Main character Nate Idle and his friends Samantha and Dennis Leary are anchors in this story filled with characters who may or may not be "good guys". That a company is developing a technology that purports to expand unused areas of the brain is a scary theme and one well-developed by the author. The subplot of Nate and his private life is well-integrated into the major storyline and thriller readers who can deal with "what ifs" will immediately put "The Cloud" on their must-read list.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rambling story. Hard to follow. Annoying medical informatiom at every turn. No reason for to read if you don't enjoy difficult to read novels.
Anonymous 8 months ago
Comes in and starts to ask everyone if i can join
Anonymous 9 months ago
A tortishell she cat walks in with the palest green eyes
Anonymous 10 months ago
Shopads in "i was told to take to you"(bio at tertium)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unusual plot in a good way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gtg bbt
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What's going on. { postpostpostpost }
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kk. Meet you there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nods. ((They are dressed just they hurt.)) "Hi stormwind."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Greetings. I'm IcePoppy; and I wish to join Thunderclan." She mewed briskly, her ears tipped back. -IcePoppy-
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thnx.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I will take care of it!!! This upsets me. They think they can just come in and do whatever they want!!! I have contact the rppd and am in the process of alerting my allies. This is why u have allies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Foxkit is new to this clan, and would like to socialize with other kits. If you would like to hangout with other kits that go to playdate first result.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
3 rouges attack and kill hacany
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Halcyonflame amiled and nodded. "Thank you!" <p> Oceanpaw purred.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
[Gtg for a bit. Though, ya'll should check out my new story at 'cclh' result one. Bye.]
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can i be medicine cat
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A lithe rusty brown shecat walked in, Her eyes perked alertly. "Hello, i would like to join." Her emerald eyes glistened emotionlessly, and her tail swayed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*He sat quietly.*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello Thunderstar we need a med cat I think Stormwind should be deputy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gtg bbt