The Columbia Albums 1976-1982 by Weather Report | 886979394025 | CD | Barnes & Noble
Columbia Albums 1976-1982

The Columbia Albums 1976-1982

by Weather Report
The Columbia Albums 1976-1982 anthologizes the Jaco Pastorius era of Weather Report. Black Market (1976), Heavy Weather (1977), Mr. Gone (1978), the mostly live 8:30 (1979),


The Columbia Albums 1976-1982 anthologizes the Jaco Pastorius era of Weather Report. Black Market (1976), Heavy Weather (1977), Mr. Gone (1978), the mostly live 8:30 (1979), Night Passage (1980), and Weather Report (1982) are packaged in LP replica sleeves that are sturdy but not as high quality as a standard Japanese reissue. Each disc features reproduced front and back artwork. As detailed by liner notes author Richard Seidel, the box contains 12 bonus tracks, including all the cuts from the 2002 compilation Live and Unreleased that feature Pastorius, as well as material from the 1979 Havana Jam. The 19-page booklet also features full track-by-track credits and session data. While it might seem like quite a plunge for newcomers, the set -- when it was released in 2012 -- originally sold for roughly the price of three full-price CDs.

Product Details

Release Date:

Related Subjects


Disc 1

  1. Black Market
  2. Cannon Ball
  3. Gibraltar
  4. Elegant People
  5. Three Clowns
  6. Barbary Coast
  7. Herandu
  8. Portrait of Tracy
  9. Elegant People
  10. Black Market

Disc 2

  1. Birdland
  2. A Remark You Made
  3. Teen Town
  4. Harlequin
  5. Rumba Mama
  6. Palladium
  7. The Juggler
  8. Havona
  9. Black Market
  10. Teen Town
  11. Birdland

Disc 3

  1. The Pursuit of the Woman With the Feathered Hat
  2. River People
  3. Young and Fine
  4. The Elders
  5. Mr. Gone
  6. Punk Jazz
  7. Pinocchio
  8. And Then
  9. River People
  10. In a Silent Way/Waterfall

Disc 4

  1. Black Market
  2. Scarlet Woman
  3. Teen Town
  4. A Remark You Made
  5. Slang
  6. In a Silent Way
  7. Birdland
  8. Thanks For the Memory
  9. Badia/Boodie Woogie Waltz
  10. 8:30
  11. Brown Street
  12. The Orphan
  13. Sightseeing

Disc 5

  1. Night Passage
  2. Dream Clock
  3. Port of Entry
  4. Forlorn
  5. Rockin' In Rhythm
  6. Fast City
  7. Three Views of a Secret
  8. Madagascar
  9. Teen Town
  10. Port of Entry
  11. Fast City
  12. Night Passage

Disc 6

  1. Volcano For Hire
  2. Current Affairs
  3. N.Y.C.: 41st Parallel/the Dance/Crazy About Jazz
  4. Dara Factor One
  5. When It Was Now
  6. Speechless
  7. Dara Factor Two

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Weather Report   Primary Artist
Deniece Williams   Vocals
Maurice White   Vocals
Peter Erskine   Percussion,Drums,Vocals,Claves,Hi Hat
Jon Lucien   Vocals
Jaco Pastorius   Bass,Percussion,Drums,Vocals,Steel Drums,Timpani,Mandocello
Wayne Shorter   Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Vocals
Tony Williams   Drums
Chester Thompson   Percussion,Drums
Don Alias   Percussion,Conga
Alex Acuña   Percussion,Conga,Drums,Tom-Tom,Hand Clapping
Joe Zawinul   Synthesizer,Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Drums,Keyboards,Electric Piano,Tabla,Vocals,Melodica,Kalimba,Vocoder,fender rhodes,oberheim,sleigh bells,Hi Hat,Piano (Grand),Arp 2600,Quadra
Manolo Badrena   Percussion,Conga,Tambourine,Timbales,Vocals
Steve Gadd   Drums
Alphonso Johnson   Electric Bass
Narada Michael Walden   Drums
Robert Thomas   Tambourine,Hand Drums
Erich Zawinul   Percussion
Charles La Boe   Electric Bass

Technical Credits

Bob Belden   Reissue Producer
Peter Erskine   Composer
Jaco Pastorius   Composer,Producer
Wayne Shorter   Composer,Producer
Irving Mills   Composer
Alex Acuña   Composer
Joe Zawinul   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Orchestration
Manolo Badrena   Composer
Harry Carney   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Jerry Hudgins   Engineer
Alphonso Johnson   Composer
Alex Kazanegras   Engineer
Ron Malo   Engineer
George Massenburg   Engineer
Russ Payne   Engineer
Ralph Rainger   Composer
Leo Robin   Composer
Richard Seidel   Producer,Liner Notes
Ray Thompson   Engineer
Bert de Coteaux   Producer
Robert Thomas   Composer
Brian Risner   Engineer
Edward O'Dowd   Art Direction
Mike Kull   Tape Research
Mike Panico   Archival Assistant
Tom Tierney   Archival Assistant
Stanley Tonkel   Engineer
Mike Berniker   Producer
Che Williams   Archival Assistant
Milton Puma   Retouching
Sam Guest   Composer

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >