Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Complete 1970s Epic Albums Collection

The Complete 1970s Epic Albums Collection

by George Duke
Similar to other Legacy sets for Mahavishnu Orchestra, Stanley Clarke, and Weather Report, this compact box rounds up several releases for a surprisingly low price. When it was released in 2012, it happened to cost roughly the same as two full-price CDs. Indeed, it


Similar to other Legacy sets for Mahavishnu Orchestra, Stanley Clarke, and Weather Report, this compact box rounds up several releases for a surprisingly low price. When it was released in 2012, it happened to cost roughly the same as two full-price CDs. Indeed, it includes six of George Duke's Epic albums, all recorded during the '70s but released from 1977 through 1980: From Me to You (1977), Reach for It (1977), Don't Let Go (1978), Follow the Rainbow (1979), Master of the Game (1979), and Brazilian Love Affair (1980). The discs are in durable LP replica sleeves, though they are not as high quality as a standard Japanese reissue; all-original artwork, front sleeve and back sleeve, is reproduced. A 23-page booklet features full session credits, as well as Duke's entertaining liner notes -- more in-depth than what he has provided on his website -- for each album. These were among Duke's most successful releases, sales-wise; most of the discs are uneven, but there's a lot of depth beyond the classic disco A-side "I Want You for Myself" and the Top Five R&B singles "Dukey Stick" and "Reach for It."

Product Details

Release Date:


Album Credits

Performance Credits

George Duke   Primary Artist,Percussion,Keyboards,Electric Piano,Vocals,Narrator,Bells,Vibes,Prophet Synthesizer,fender rhodes,oberheim,Mini Moog,Arp Odyssey,Orchestral Bells
Milton Nascimento   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Toninho Horta   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Bobby Bryant   Trumpet
Raul de Souza   Trombone
Roland Bautista   Guitar,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Michael Sembello   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Ray Obiedo   Guitar
Murray Adler   Strings,Background Vocals
Manolo Badrena   Percussion,Bongos,Conga
Chico Batera   Percussion,Bongos,Castanets,Conga,Triangle,Caxixi,Ganza,Reco-reco,Shekere,Tamborim
Napoleon Murphy Brock   Vocals,Background Vocals
Leon "Ndugu" Chancler   Drums,Timbales,Vocals,Narrator,Roto Toms
Stanley Clarke   Bass,Electric Bass,Acoustic Bass
Darrell Cox   Narrator,Hand Clapping,Master of Ceremonies
Lynn Davis   Vocals,Background Vocals
Sheila Escovedo   Percussion,Bongos,Conga,Drums,Timbales,Vocals,Narrator,Caxixi,cowbell,Water Chimes,Glass
Glenn Ferris   Trombone
Walt Fowler   Trumpet
Judy Geist   Viola
Pamela Goldsmith   Background Vocals
Gary Grant   Trumpet
Bill Green   Flute,Piccolo,Saxophone
Gary Herbig   Flute,Piccolo,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Jerry Hey   Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Soloist
Josie James   Vocals,Background Vocals
Jamil Joanes   Bass
Ricky Lawson   Drums
Jacqueline Lustgarten   Background Vocals
Byron Miller   Bass,Electric Bass,Narrator
Dennis Moody   Hand Clapping
Flora Purim   Vocals
Dianne Reeves   Vocals
Emil Richards   Percussion
Jay Rosen   Background Vocals
Julia Tillman Waters   Background Vocals
Carol Shive   Violin
Roberto Silva   Drums,Caixa,Agogo,talking drum,Tamborim,Apito
Jessica Smith   Background Vocals
Polly Sweeney   Background Vocals
Deborah Thomas   Background Vocals
Sybil Thomas   Background Vocals
Fred Washington   Bass
Maxine Willard Waters   Background Vocals
Ernie Watts   Flute,Piccolo,Saxophone
Eric Culver   Trombone
Dee Henrichs   Background Vocals
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach   Trombone,Bass Trombone
Lou McCreary   Trombone
Flavio Faria   Vocals
Lucinha Lins   Vocals
Bruce Talamon   Hand Clapping
Lúcia Turnbull   Vocals
Kim Thompson   Background Vocals
Charles "Icarus" Johnson   Guitar,Narrator
Larry Williams   Flute,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Raymond Kelley   Background Vocals
David Myles   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Sitar,12-string Guitar
William Kurasch   Background Vocals
Leslie Kearney   Hand Clapping
L. Pecot Robertson   Hand Clapping
Sister Glory Glow Fly   Background Vocals
Debbie Robinson   Hand Clapping
Charles Johnson   Vocals
Children of Distinction Choir   Background Vocals
Arlene Thompson   Background Vocals
Allan Harschman   Background Vocals
Shandra Livingston   Background Vocals
Ms. Brazilflex   Background Vocals
Kevin "Serious Biz" Dugan   Bass,Guitar
Xavier Richie   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Milton Nascimento   Composer
George Duke   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Bill Champlin   Composer
Herb Cohen   Management
Michael Sembello   Composer
Leon "Ndugu" Chancler   Composer
Stanley Clarke   Composer
Darrell Cox   Drum Technician
Sheila Escovedo   Composer
Ricky Lawson   Composer
Kerry McNabb   Engineer,Remixing
Byron Miller   Composer
Richard Seidel   Producer
Tommy Vicari   Engineer
Edward O'Dowd   Art Direction
Mike Panico   Archival Assistant
Ronaldo Bastos   Composer
Fernando Brant   Composer
Tom Tierney   Archival Assistant
Dave Fisher   Cover Art
Cynthia Marsh   Illustrations
David Myles   Composer
Charles Johnson   Composer
Dave Palmer   Engineer
Che Williams   Archival Assistant

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews