The Conspiracy

The Conspiracy

5.0 2
by Cresswell
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The U.S. State Department has two questionable employees: one is a traitor, and the other has lost her edge.

Verity Marlowe's life has spiraled into a haze of alcohol and self-pity following the death of her husband. The State Department considers her a security risk, but when terrorist violence erupts overseas, they have no choice but to call her

Overview

The U.S. State Department has two questionable employees: one is a traitor, and the other has lost her edge.

Verity Marlowe's life has spiraled into a haze of alcohol and self-pity following the death of her husband. The State Department considers her a security risk, but when terrorist violence erupts overseas, they have no choice but to call her back on assignment.

Michael Strait has lied to Verity about his profession, his feelings and his past. Can she believe him when he insists that the only way to save her life is to trust him? In a high-stakes game of international terror and million-dollar payoffs, someone is determined that she should die. If Verity trusts the wrong person, it will be the last mistake she'll ever make.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Front-page violence and the comforting bromides of a caring ghost mingle in Cresswell's latest romantic suspense (after The Refuge). Since the death of her husband Sam, Verity Marlowe has been soaking in self-pity and vodka, but she's yanked out of it by his ghost (a sweet spirit who calls her "sugar babe") and his friend, Michael Strait, a spy for a counterterrorist unit. In the midst of Verity's leave of absence, her boss at the State Department calls her in to meet with Khalid Muhammad, her old Kashmiri friend. Kashmiri terrorists have sent Khalid to D.C. to deliver a threat, but he refuses to give U.S. officials any more information until he speaks with Verity, who was born and raised in Kashmir. Before he is gunned down, he passes her a key to a safe-deposit box containing software to launch nuclear missiles and informs her that an American official is trading arms with Saddam Hussein. While Verity and Michael try to root out the traitor, they pursue the passion they were too honorable to explore when Sam was alive. Unfortunately, Cresswell provides her readers with only two possible villains, one of whom is obviously a red herring, so the traitor is never a surprise. Despite this lack of suspense, Creswell skillfully dramatizes the trouble in Kashmir and portrays characters who will interest and involve the reader. (Sept.) Forecast: A stark, shadowy cover won't boost sales any, but Cresswell's readers are a devoted lot. Her latest will appeal to fans of Helen R. Meyers and Lynn Erickson as well, and booksellers may see improved crossover sales if they feature the three authors together. Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781551668383
Publisher:
Mira
Publication date:
09/28/2001
Pages:
408
Product dimensions:
4.14(w) x 6.78(h) x 1.15(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Conspiracy 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Best-selling author Jasmine Cresswell has created another suspenseful thriller complete with an American traitor brokering arms to terrorists.

U.S. State Department employee Verity Marlowe has spent the past six months wallowing in self-pity and neglect as well as establishing an ongoing relationship with a bottle of vodka. After her husband Sam¿s death, Verity began an onward spiral of neglect until the ghost-like appearance of her husband Sam. Though apparitions are rather unconventional in romantic suspense, Sam adds a lighter touch enabling Verity to pull her life back together again.

When superior Dick Pedro requests that Verity meet with Khalid Muhammad of Kashmir, she reluctantly agrees. Having been raised in Kashmir by missionary parents, Verity knows Khalid as well as the political situation there. In an explosive plot twist, Verity receives an important key from Khalid while he becomes the target for an assassin. Completing the dynamite action, Michael Strait enters the picture, not as the astute businessman known to Verity, but as a CIA agent.

Michael and Verity had met previously at a party, and Sam and Michael had become excellent friends. Fearful of their growing attraction for one another, Verity had avoided being alone with Michael and had little contact with him since Sam¿s death. As Verity becomes threatened, Michael predictably steps in and becomes the only one whom she can truly trust. Will their budding romance survive the threats that surround them as they search for a traitor among their own?

Though the discussion of terrorists and middle-eastern politics seems a little too detailed at times, it is a necessity in forming the foundation on which this novel is built. Further enhancing the element of mystery are the discussions that Michael and Verity have as they piece together the puzzle of the traitor¿s identity and try to discover the motives behind the crimes committed. For a truly gripping tale of espionage and mystery that just doesn¿t quit, THE CONSPIRACY is a certain winner.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Following the death of her husband, George Washington English Lit Professor Sam Marlowe, Verity fell apart. She has taken a sabbatical from her job as a State Department analyst that has lasted six months and uses vodka to forget her grief. Her superiors believe that Verity, once one of their best employees is now a high security risk.

Still her boss Dick Pedro informs Verity that she has been chosen to work a situation in her specialty, the India-Pakistan desk. Apparently deep cover operative Michael Straight has learned that a new player in the area, the Kashmir Freedom Party, has been receiving weapons with the help of someone in the State Department. Verity is to meet her childhood friend Kahlid Mohammed who will only tell her insider information but he is assassinated before the information is exchanged. With only Michael to depend on, Verity tries to get out alive while insuring hundreds maybe thousands do not die in a terrorist cause.

Fans who enjoy an exciting romantic international thriller that never slows down once Jasmine Cresswell takes her audience to Asia will want to read THE CONSPIRACY. The story line is loaded with action that provides an engaging look into life in battle scarred Kashmir. Verity is a heroine struggling with the death of her husband and her feelings towards Michael that adds guilt to her grief, but the romance though warm takes a back seat to the suspense and tour of this part of the world. Sub-genre fans will fully relish that wild ride that feels so genuine with all the news of the India-Pakistan dispute, especially over Kashmir.

Harriet Klausner