The Dallas Cowboys -- Free Preview: The Outrageous History of the Biggest, Loudest, Most Hated, Best Loved Football Team in America

The Dallas Cowboys -- Free Preview: The Outrageous History of the Biggest, Loudest, Most Hated, Best Loved Football Team in America

4.3 23
by Joe Nick Patoski
     
 


From Dandy Don Meredith and Roger Staubach to the three mid-nineties Super Bowls won by the unbeatable trio of Troy Aikman, Michael Irvin, and Emmitt Smith to TO, Tony Romo, and the glitzy soap opera team of today, the Dallas Cowboys have been the NFL's star franchise for more than 50 years. Love them or hate them, the Cowboys are widely celebrated as "America's…  See more details below

Overview


From Dandy Don Meredith and Roger Staubach to the three mid-nineties Super Bowls won by the unbeatable trio of Troy Aikman, Michael Irvin, and Emmitt Smith to TO, Tony Romo, and the glitzy soap opera team of today, the Dallas Cowboys have been the NFL's star franchise for more than 50 years. Love them or hate them, the Cowboys are widely celebrated as "America's Team."



But the Cowboys have never been just about football. With their oil baron roots, overbearing, ego-driven owner, players who can't stay out of the tabloids, a palatial new home that sets the standard for modern sports stadiums, fans as enthusiastic as cheerleaders, and cheerleaders who are as famous as the team itself, the Cowboys have become a touchstone of American popular culture.



Joe Nick Patoski plumbs all these stories in a book that is a rich, sometimes scandalous, always entertaining portrait of a time, a place, and an irreplaceable team.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780316235051
Publisher:
Little, Brown and Company
Publication date:
08/15/2012
Sold by:
Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
58
Sales rank:
76,889
File size:
567 KB

Meet the Author

Joe Nick Patoski is the author of the award-winning Willie Nelson: An Epic Life as well as biographies of Stevie Ray Vaughan and Selena. He has written for No Depression, Texas Monthly, Rolling Stone, Country Music, TV Guide, and the Austin American-Statesman. He lives in the Texas Hill Country.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Dallas Cowboys -- Free Preview: The Outrageous History of the Biggest, Loudest, Most Hated, Best Loved Football Team in America 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like Demarcus Ware because he could have goten the sacking record but i wish he got the sacking record our lady tigers basketball team won yesterday and if we win the game Thursday we will go to state if we don't win Thursday we will play Friday and I hope we win.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first preview chapter should be titled An Embarrassment of Riches. Its a good thing Jerry Jones is a straight man because the author obviously wants to marry him. I thought the background info on Tom Landry, Dandy Don Meredith and the formation of the expansion Cowboys was very interesting, and I loved the details of the exhaustive PR battle between LaMar Hunt and the Cowboys management and how the NFL reacted to all of it. A good short read, if you can read through the first chapter without puking over the Jerry Jones love fest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
COWBOYS ARE SOOOOOO!!!!!AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I also love the Cowboys and Indians. They are the best. They rock. Go Cowboys and Indians.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this because it sucks like crap
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tom brady rated best quarterback in 2013 so f***ck u who ever likes the damn coyboysu
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the cowboys.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like the book but i read better
Jim1065 More than 1 year ago
I guess if you are a true blue live or die Cowboys fan, you might find this interesting. I'm a football fan and remember the Cowboys entering the league, but the trial book was as about as inspiring as the original Cowboys were
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tony Romo is a bleep becaus he wont pass the frieken god dam ball
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was the best i ever read in the whole world and it was was amazingly awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im going into fith grade and im tying get a head stat on my history and i was wondering if i should read this book and i really love cowboys and indians and im trying to try something new beacause i usally read fanntisy books and anyone who hs read the job from hell series would understand wat kind of fatiy im into ( ppppppdddddddd purr ) so text me bak text to allyssa heres wat i think yiu should do. Anyway i will ask my mom wha i should do and if should get it becase it looks rally interelstin and im thinking aboit doing a double raed its where to people read together the sam book and me and my mom love history on tv andwe are thiking about buying all sorts ofhistory booksso showuldi read this book ? Aaugust fith two thousand, three bye remembe texg me back allyssa this is wha i thunk sighning of allyssa.... august fith2013
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tony needs to ps
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like the cowboys you will want read this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There are so many books that you can pick and choose from so get your butt or shall i say butties off the ground and start reading ok I love you all as a friend ok !! Please read cause reading is your life so every one get ready to read and do some reading not going out reading. Ok hard head boys and girls ok thank you be a good citizens ok love all ya for friends ok thanks Jan 8,2013
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The cowboys are awesome and who ever disaggreses can suck it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tttttt u
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fhfleir