4.8 6
by Dave Koz

Since his self-titled 1990 smash debut, Dave Koz has been one of smooth jazz's greatest musicians. The saxman scored big on the radio and in retail even when he turned away from his established R&B/pop sound on 1996's Off the Beaten Path, which was done with more acoustic instruments. The Dance brings him back to the hard-hitting R&B funk sounds of thatSee more details below


Since his self-titled 1990 smash debut, Dave Koz has been one of smooth jazz's greatest musicians. The saxman scored big on the radio and in retail even when he turned away from his established R&B/pop sound on 1996's Off the Beaten Path, which was done with more acoustic instruments. The Dance brings him back to the hard-hitting R&B funk sounds of that first album and its follow-up, 1993's Lucky Man. Aside from reuniting him with some of the producers who worked on his debut -- Jeff Lorber, Carl Sturken, Evan Rogers, and his brother Jeff Koz -- The Dance is a true testament to the art of collaboration. He surrounds himself with some of pop, R&B, gospel, and his own genre's greatest performers, but never lets you forget that this is a sax player's album. The swinging retro-funk/hip-hop of "Can't Let You Go (The Sha La Song)" features Luther Vandross. Modern R&B star Montell Jordan co-produces and takes lead vocal on a cover of Wham!'s "Careless Whisper" that is perhaps a bit too faithful to the original. Several members of Take 6 help Koz achieve a much more original effect on "I'll Be There." He also works with personal hero Burt Bacharach, who co-wrote and plays piano on the lovely soprano ballad "Don't Give Up." Koz ventures into Latin territory on "You Are Me, I Am You," which features a sizzling flamenco guitar solo by Marc Antoine, while another top smooth jazz guitarist, Jonathan Butler, scats and plays a vibrant acoustic harmony on "The Bright Side." Lest Koz get lost among all the partying with his pals, he does everything himself on the album's most exciting but possibly least commercial track, "Cuban Hideaway." This cut is a Tito Puente-type Latin jazz big band explosion on which he plays all the horn instruments, alto, tenor, soprano, and baritone -- 50 sax tracks in all. This disc is easily one of smooth jazz's finest moments of 1999, but imagine the possibilities had Koz put this sort of thought into creating more tracks so off the beaten path.

Read More

Product Details

Release Date:


Read More

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dave Koz   Primary Artist,Percussion,Keyboards,Saxophone,Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Multi Instruments,Sax Effects
Luther Vandross   Vocals,Track Performer,Group Member
Jonathan Butler   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Jeff Lorber   Bass,Keyboards
Audrey Wheeler   Background Vocals
Burt Bacharach   Piano
Bruce Dukov   Concert Master
Michael Thompson   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Guitar (Nylon String)
Evan Rogers   Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Sue Ann Carwell   Background Vocals
Kevin Owens   Vocals
Glen Ballard   Piano,Keyboards
David Benoit   Piano,Conductor
Chris Botti   Trumpet,Muted Trumpet,Track Performer
Terry Bradford   Background Vocals
Lenny Castro   Percussion
Matt Chamberlain   Drums
Vinnie Colaiuta   Drums
Brad Cole   Keyboards
Luis Conte   Percussion,Latin Percussion
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Brian Culbertson   Bass,Keyboards
Nathan East   Bass
Steve Ferrone   Drums
Kathy Hazzard   Background Vocals
Paul Jackson   Electric Guitar
Randy Kerber   Piano,fender rhodes
Brian Kilgore   Percussion
Michael Landau   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Soloist,Guitar (Nylon String)
Nick Lane   Trombone
Ricky Lawson   Drums
Tony Maiden   wah wah guitar,Wah Wah Bass
McKay   Electric Guitar
Cindy Mizelle   Background Vocals
Rick Nelson   Background Vocals
Dean Parks   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
John Pena   Bass,Electric Bass
Greg Phillinganes   Keyboards
Mark Portmann   Keyboards
John "J.R." Robinson   Drums
Bill Sharpe   Electric Bass
Alfie Silas   Background Vocals
Neil Stubenhaus   Bass
Carl Sturken   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Guitar,Keyboards
David Porter Thomas   Background Vocals
Mervyn Warren   Vocals,Background Vocals
Jay Williams   Acoustic Guitar
Montell Jordan   Vocals,Background Vocals,Track Performer
Marc Antoine   spanish guitar
Janet Mims   Background Vocals
Michael Hart Thompson   Electric Guitar,Guitar (Nylon String)
BeBe Winans   Vocals,Background Vocals,Track Performer
Jeff Koz   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Soloist,Guitar (Nylon String)
Freddie "Ready Freddie" Washington   Bass
Shapelle Crawford   Keyboards,fender rhodes
Wayne Bergeron   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
George A. Johnson   Drums
Marc Antione   spanish guitar
Ethan Farmer   Bass
Shae Jones   Background Vocals
Urs Wiesendanger   Percussion,Keyboards
Rick Nelson   Background Vocals
Alejandra Vargas   Spoken Word
Gloria Agustus   Background Vocals
Garron Chang   Sampling
Schappell Crawford   Keyboards,fender rhodes
Brian Kigore   Percussion
NUA All-Stars   Saxophone
Kevin Owens   Group Member
Timothy Owens   Background Vocals
Kevin Ownes   Vocals
Bill "The Rubberband Man" Sharpe   Electric Bass
Jackie Simley Stevens   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

George Michael   Producer,Original Album Producer
Luther Vandross   Arranger,Vocal Arrangements
Dave Koz   Arranger,Composer,Sound Effects,Producer,Liner Notes
Jeff Lorber   Arranger,Programming,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Burt Bacharach   Arranger,Producer
Michael Thompson   Special Effects
Evan Rogers   Arranger,Producer
Tom Sweeney   Engineer
Ed Miller   Engineer
Glen Ballard   Programming,Producer
David Benoit   String Arrangements,String Conductor
Scott Campbell   Engineer
Brad Cole   Arranger,Producer,Engineer
Brian Culbertson   Arranger,drum programming
Clark Germain   Engineer
Steve Hall   Mastering
Gus Mossler   Engineer
Frank Nadasdy   Engineer
Doug Rider   Engineer
Jeffrey Shannon   Engineer
Allen Sides   Engineer
Carl Sturken   Arranger,Producer,drum programming
Gabe Veltri   Engineer
John Vigran   Engineer
Mervyn Warren   Vocal Arrangements
Jeffrey "Woody" Woodruff   Engineer
Gota Yashiki   Drum Samples
Montell Jordan   Arranger,Producer,drum programming
Dan Hart   Engineer
Robert Lopez   Engineer
Rob Murphy   Engineer
Dennis Tousana   Engineer
Tommy Steele   Art Direction
Jeff Koz   Arranger,Special Effects,Producer,Engineer,Vocal Arrangements,drum programming
Nick Els   Engineer
Bryan Carrigan   Engineer
Shapelle Crawford   Arranger,Producer
Valerie Pack   Producer
Jeffery Fey   Art Direction
Roy Lott   Executive Producer
Audrey Koz   Vibe Master,Vibe Coordinator
Woody Woodruff   Engineer
John Tyree   Engineer
Anne Catalino   Engineer
Hemberger   Engineer
Greg Burns   Engineer
Urs Wiesendanger   Programming,Producer
Carl Struken   Producer
Pablo Munguia   Engineer
Frankie Payne   Groomer
Kevin Guarnieri   Engineer
Eddie King   Engineer
Shanti Haast   Engineer
Daniel Hart   Engineer
Aaron Kaplan   Engineer
Garron Chang   Sample Loops
Schappell Crawford   Arranger,Producer
Bill Deitzman   Engineer
Marc Levisohn   Engineer
NUA All-Stars   Inspiration
Timothy Steele   Art Direction
Kevin Dean   Engineer

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >