BN.com Gift Guide

The Darkness and the Deep (Marjory Fleming Series #2) [NOOK Book]

Overview

A chilling and suspenseful tale, perfect for fans of Susan Hill and Elizabeth George.

A lifeboat crashes on the shore of a small fishing village, leaving all three of its passengers dead. A tragic accident—perhaps—but Detective Marjory Fleming is not so sure …

The steep decline of the fishing industry has brought a new and bustling drug trade to town. Were the victims in over their heads? Or was this the work ...

See more details below
The Darkness and the Deep (Marjory Fleming Series #2)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$2.99
BN.com price

Overview

A chilling and suspenseful tale, perfect for fans of Susan Hill and Elizabeth George.

A lifeboat crashes on the shore of a small fishing village, leaving all three of its passengers dead. A tragic accident—perhaps—but Detective Marjory Fleming is not so sure …

The steep decline of the fishing industry has brought a new and bustling drug trade to town. Were the victims in over their heads? Or was this the work of a person so determined to kill one of the crew that he took two innocent lives?

The depressed, impoverished community is clamoring for justice, and Fleming is determined to unravel the mystery before the body count rises.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062301734
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 1/7/2014
  • Series: Marjory Fleming Series , #2
  • Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 100
  • Sales rank: 38,174
  • File size: 561 KB

Meet the Author

Aline Templeton grew up in the fishing village of Anstruther, in the East Neuk of Fife. She has worked in education and broadcasting and was a Justice of the Peace for ten years. Married, with two grown-up children and three grandchildren, she now lives in a house with a view of Edinburgh Castle. When not writing, she enjoys cooking, choral singing, and traveling the back roads of France.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    As Scottish historical novelist, playwright, and poet Sir Walter

    As Scottish historical novelist, playwright, and poet Sir Walter Scott wrote "Oh what a tangled web we weave"... In the second novel of her DI Marjory Fleming series, Author Aline Templeton has woven a very tangled web indeed.  The quiet fishing village of Knockhaven is teeming with secrets — adultery, drug trafficking, underage sex, shady business practices, revenge, and murder...or was it an accident?  It's up to DI Fleming to find the truth, and if it was murder....who is the victim?  The Darkness and the Deep — just as the name implies — is a dark tale set in a rural area of Scotland where the primary livelihoods — fishing and farming — have suffered major economic blows.  As a result, sadly, the drug trade is flourishing at the hands of men who would have formerly earned their living honestly.As the wife of a farmer, Detective Inspector Marjory Fleming has been affected both personally and professionally by these difficult times.  She is struggling to recover from the damage to her marriage to a farmer as well as the damage to her standing in the community, damage resulting from her being the officer in charge of enforcing a government policy which seems unnecessarily destructive to rural life. Just when it appears Marjory may regain her position of respect in the community, a series of tragic "accidents" strikes Knockhaven.  When DI Fleming and her team fail to quickly determine the perpetrator, a motive, or even more basic, the actual victim, she is once again placed in a negative spotlight.DI Fleming is an unlikely heroine. Juggling the roles of wife, mother and public servant, she must deal with a husband still reeling from the devastating blow to his livelihood as a farmer, a daughter who has been ostracized by her teenage friends and shows every sign of developing an eating disorder while supervising the varied abilities and personalities of her subordinates who've had their tight knit group invaded by a talented and ambitious outsider more interested in competition than team work.The author has created a very strong character in DI Fleming. Although she relies heavily on "gut feeling",  the intangible that isn't covered in handbooks, and is not above consulting a psychologist friend for guidance and insight into the personality of a killer, Marjory Fleming's primary goal is justice.Readers will find the plot of The Darkness and the Deep complex but easy to follow.  In the initial phase of the investigation a number of likely perpetrators come to light and there are some very entertaining interviews between these characters and DI Fleming's investigators since not only do the police suspect them all, but they all suspect each other! The bottom line to which they all return at some point is "who was the actual victim"?  The words of a dying man will offer a clue eventually leading the investigators to the answer and to the killer.  Mystery fans will love the convoluted nature of this story and I suspect most, if not all, will be kept guessing (as we love to be!) to the very end.  Just when you think you have it all figured out.... :-D

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Excellent series

    Every one of the books by this author has been well writen with tight plotting believable people andenough twists and turns to hold the readers interest

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    V

    Very difficult to read....the " language barrier" keeps one guessing about the characters' actual meanings. A great deal of local expressions that mean little to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)