The Diva Frosts a Cupcake (Domestic Diva Series #7)

The Diva Frosts a Cupcake (Domestic Diva Series #7)

4.5 19
by Krista Davis
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Revenge is sweet…

 

Sophie Winston and her BFF, Nina Reid Norwood, share a sweet spot for animals. So Sophie is delighted to help when Nina cooks up Cupcakes and Pupcakes—a fundraising event for animal shelters.  All the local bakeries will be selling treats, with the profits going to pups and kitties in need. But Old Town

Overview

Revenge is sweet…

 

Sophie Winston and her BFF, Nina Reid Norwood, share a sweet spot for animals. So Sophie is delighted to help when Nina cooks up Cupcakes and Pupcakes—a fundraising event for animal shelters.  All the local bakeries will be selling treats, with the profits going to pups and kitties in need. But Old Town is in for a whole batch of trouble when a cupcake war erupts between two bakeries…

Tongues wag and tempers rise when a partner leaves Sugar Baby Bakery and unveils her competing cupcakery, Sugar Mama, precisely as the fundraiser gets under way. Just as it seems nothing else can go wrong, Sugar Baby’s sole remaining employee is found dead. Suspicion falls on the feuding owners, but the scrumptious new guy in town is also raising some eyebrows. Now Sophie and Nina have to sift through the clues and discover who isn’t as sweet as they seem…

Delicious recipes and entertaining tips included!

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
PRAISE FOR THE AGATHA AWARD–NOMINATED SERIES
 
“A mouthwatering mix of murder, mirth, and mayhem.”—Mary Jane Maffini, author of The Busy Woman’s Guide to Murder

“For fans of Donna Andrews and Diane Mott Davidson…[A] real winner.”—The Season

“Davis’s smart writing style and engaging characters are sure to garner fans.”—AuthorsDen.com

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101623428
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
06/04/2013
Series:
Domestic Diva Series , #7
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
27,498
File size:
2 MB
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
PRAISE FOR THE AGATHA AWARD–NOMINATED SERIES
 
“A mouthwatering mix of murder, mirth, and mayhem.”—Mary Jane Maffini, author of The Busy Woman’s Guide to Murder

“For fans of Donna Andrews and Diane Mott Davidson…[A] real winner.”—The Season

“Davis’s smart writing style and engaging characters are sure to garner fans.”—AuthorsDen.com

Meet the Author

Krista Davis is the national bestselling author of the Domestic Diva Mysteries. Her first book, The Diva Runs Out of Thyme, was nominated for an Agatha Award. Krista lives in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia with an Ocicat named Mochie and a brood of dogs. Her friends and family complain about being guinea pigs for her recipes, but she notices that they keep coming back for more. 

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Diva Frosts a Cupcake 4.5 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who doesn't love cupcakes? And adopting shelter dogs? And hanging out in Old Town Alexandria? And spending another adventure with Sophie and Nina and their unique collection of neighbors and friends! Once again, my reading of a Krista Davis book went too quickly! I enjoyed the adventure in this charming book - can't wait for the next installation of the Diva!
DarkAngelCT More than 1 year ago
Sophie is back and helping her BFF Nina with a cupcake and pupcakes fundraiser event to promote adoption of animals. And there is so much more going on, first Sophie has a run in with Clarissa who accuses Sophie of sleeping with her husband, although this seems to be a running issue through out the whole book. Clarissa can't seem to get the point that just cause she was with Wolf at one point doesn't mean she's a husband stealer. Then someone steals a dog who Spencer the husband of Clarrissa was interested in adopting. The girls set out to find the missing pup. Not long into this book does it take for a murder to take place when Renee's assistant Muffin winds up dead and found by Humphrey and Sophie. Which has everyone's jaws flapping to figure out who had it out for Muffin. Then someone is poisoning General Euclid German, with cupcakes, which cuts short the black tie event for adoptions of pets. At the same time someone drugged Joy who use to work with Renee but since has opened her own cupcakery. And this results with some crazy hallucinations by Joy. Luckily she is rescued by all the attendants at the black tie event. Then to make things even more confusing and asking more questions Humphrey later that same night is arrested for larceny for stealing a valuable cupcake. It's up to Sophie, Humphrey, Nina, Francine, and everyone else to find out what is happening in Old Town. This book had so much going on what I loved is that for once Sophie got to step back and do other things and not be baking the days away. That was a nice change to see her doing other things I especially loved the theme of cupcakes and pupcakes. It was also nice to see that Natasha is not as good at something that Sophie is great at taking care of animals. Natasha adopted Martha and the two never connected no matter how hard Natasha tried to force the issue. It was great to see Sophie excel at something where Natasha can't. The part that I think is needing to be addressed is the relationship between Mars, Sophie and Natasha. A few books ago Sophie and Mars had a heated kiss which seemed to go nowhere, and in this book it was obvious that Natasha is alienating people, including embarrassing Mars and it would be nice to see what comes of this issue. Is Mars regretting divorcing Sophie? Does he still pine for her? Will they get back together? They seem to mesh well so I'm wondering if the divorce was a mistake? Also I think Natasha doesn't need to go to the point she goes to making Sophie feel bad when she gets insulted all the time by her. Natasha just rubs me the wrong way, but there are so many good parts to the story so I deal with the annoying Natasha the main diva of the stories. I don't really consider Sophie a Diva as much as Natasha. All in all a great book I enjoyed and was well worth the purchase I made. It definitely made a great book to read for spring going into summer!
Anonymous 15 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My new favorite author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sabre-woman More than 1 year ago
Loved the book. The regulars return mixed in with a few new characters. I also like that includes recipes, always a plus!
Annie10 More than 1 year ago
I liked the premise of the cupcakes and pupcakes. They are raising money to help the animal shelter. Then a murder occurs and they all pitch in to help find the murderer. It is the least person you suspect who did it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Nina Norwood has cooked up a wonderful fundraiser, Cupcakes and Pupcakes, to benefit the local animal shelter. Bakeries and pet orientated businesses will be selling goodies with all the profits going to help animal in need. Plus there will be a fancy dinner and each course served is a cupcake.  Sofie is happy to help her best friend with anything she needs, whether it be manning the pet adoption tent or helping count the votes for the best cupcake. They never imagined it would create a Cupcake War. It all starts when the partners of Sugar Baby Bakery split and the leaving partner opens her own cupcakery right across the street from the original store. But the new Sugar Mama Bakery is the least of their worries when the remaining employee of Sugar Baby is found dead and the former partners are the number one suspects. Now it’s time for Sophie to sift through the clues and figure out who really frosted the cupcake baker… I love these characters and they sure get themselves into some tight situations in this installment. In addition to the murder, there is a very special cupcake missing, a problem with ingredients, a missing dog, the rival bakers feuding, and I can’t forget to mention a new hunky lawyer has come to Old Town. Krista Davis has baked up a story that enjoy from the first bite to the last, I mean first word to the last. That is my only “complaint” about this book – the food so deliciously described –  in addition to the delicious cupcakes Sofie serves up meals that will make your mouth water and your stomach growl.  This book could be bad for our waistlines :) Because of this story my daughter is baking cupcakes as I write this and copying down all the recipes in the back of the book, even the ones for pupcakes.   Marvelously plotted. I didn't figure out the killer until it was revealed, but made perfect sense. A touch of romantic tension, just the right amount of humor, a feline named Moochie and a canine named Daisy, all set in a town the reader will want to visit again and again. You can’t go wrong with a Domestic Diva Mystery! The whole series is terrific! They are a perfect escape!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read and recipes