The Double

The Double

by Jerome Tuccille
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Jerome Tuccille, whose best-selling biographies of Donald Trump, Alan Greenspan, the Gallo wine clan, and others have earned him wide acclaim, turns his talents here to a World War II espionage thriller concerning one of the most controversial episodes of the war—the crash landing of Rudolf Hess in Scotland. It reads like fiction. But did it really happen?

Overview

Jerome Tuccille, whose best-selling biographies of Donald Trump, Alan Greenspan, the Gallo wine clan, and others have earned him wide acclaim, turns his talents here to a World War II espionage thriller concerning one of the most controversial episodes of the war—the crash landing of Rudolf Hess in Scotland. It reads like fiction. But did it really happen?

The author claims it did in his new book, which is in the tradition of Nelson DeMille and Ken Follett—fiction based on real events. Both Hitler and Churchill maintained that Hess was a madman who flew to Scotland on his own. But the author’s sources claim that Hess was on a secret mission to contact members of the British royal family who were sympathetic to the Nazi cause. The solo flight of deputy fuehrer Rudolph Hess into Scotland in May 1941 was one of the more bizarre events of WW II. Was Hess acting on his own or at Hitler’s behest? Tuccille (Hemingway and Gellhorn and other books) speculates that Hess was deputized by the fuehrer and sent on a mission to convince England to cease hostilities in Europe so that Germany could concentrate its forces against the mutually despised Stalinist Russia. The proposal was presented to Winston Churchill, who, of course, had an agenda of his own. The plot draws in Scottish journalist Philip Jacobs (the author’s source for the saga), who suspects the British government is concealing a great deal in the Hess affair and who comes perilously close to uncovering the full story. Other sources maintain that the British government used a body double in place of Hess to parade before the British public, while the real Hess was imprisoned in a psychiatric institution in Wales, cut off from contact with the outside world. The book is a riveting page-turner, recommended for all audiences.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940013639683
Publisher:
WinklerMedia Publishing Group
Publication date:
10/31/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
262
File size:
163 KB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Jerome Tuccille is the author of twenty-eight books, including highly acclaimed biographies of Donald Trump, Rupert Murdoch, Alan Greenspan, and the Hunts of Texas. Trump and Kingdom both hit best-seller lists. He has also written several novels. Tuccille’s biography, Gallo Be Thy Name, a history of the Gallo wine clan and its roots in organized crime, was named one of the best books of 2009 by Reason magazine, and one of the best business books of 2009 by the University of California Library System. His most recent book is Hemingway and Gellhorn, a biography of the iconic author and his third wife Martha Gellhorn.
The author is vice president/communications at T. Rowe Price, a major financial services firm. He previously taught at the New School for Social Research in New York City and is a former third-party candidate for Governor of New York. He is a member of Authors Guild and American Society of Journalists and Authors.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >