×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Dragon's Gate
     

The Dragon's Gate

by Barry Wolverton, Dave Stevenson (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized second book in acclaimed author Barry Wolverton’s Chronicles of the Black Tulip, perfect for fans of The Glass Sentence and the Books of Beginning series.

A magical white jade stone and a map inscribed in bone that may be

Overview

An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized second book in acclaimed author Barry Wolverton’s Chronicles of the Black Tulip, perfect for fans of The Glass Sentence and the Books of Beginning series.

A magical white jade stone and a map inscribed in bone that may be the key to an even greater mystery—this is the treasure Bren and Mouse have found buried on the Vanishing Island.

Mouse is determined to follow the map to a place called the Dragon’s Gate, convinced it will explain who she really is and the powers she possesses. Bren has had enough adventure for one lifetime and would like nothing more than to return to his father in Map. But nothing goes according to plan when the survivors of the Albatross are rescued by Lady Jean Barrett, a charismatic archaeologist with a sense of destiny.

Barrett is on a quest for the Eight Immortals, ancient artifacts she believes are buried in the tomb of China’s first emperor—the location of which has been hidden for nearly two thousand years. The only way for Bren, Mouse, and Barrett to all get what they want is to work together on a dangerous journey into the heart of China, a kingdom long closed to outsiders, where the greatest secrets about Mouse and Bren are waiting to be unveiled.

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
08/01/2016
Gr 4–8—In this second book of three, Bren and Mouse struggle to survive on the vanishing island. When the surviving members of the crew of the Albatross show up, Bren is eager to journey back to his hometown. But Mouse wants his help finding the Dragon's Gate and figuring out who she is and where she came from. Thanks to Bren's excellent memory, the group come up with a basic location for where they are, which gives them an idea of where to go to find assistance. As they set off in the longboat, Bren's father and friend Mr. Black are working on plans of their own. Lady Jean Barrett is sent by Mr. Black to find Bren and bring him back, but she gets distracted by the pursuit of the Eight Immortals, objects containing the power of the Ancients. She and her ally, Yaozu, along with Mouse, Bren, and their sailor friend, Sean, set off to find the tomb where the Eight Immortals are said to be stashed. But the voyage is long and exhausting, and Bren isn't sure it's worth the effort. But Mouse's unusual abilities continue to appear, leaving the group with many questions. Bren and Mouse make appealing heroes, one very reluctantly and the other quite mysteriously. Most readers will need to be familiar with the first installment to keep up. VERDICT For general purchase where the first volume is popular or alternative historical adventure tales are in demand.—Heidi Grange, Summit Elementary School, Smithfield, UT
Kirkus Reviews
★ 2016-08-17
In the sequel to The Vanishing Island (2015), 12-year-old Bren and his young companion, Mouse, struggle to reconcile their conflicting goals while staying true to their friendship. After discovering a bone-inscribed map on the Vanishing Island, Bren (a white boy from Britannia) and Mouse (a Chinese girl) wash up ashore on a deserted island. Fortunately, the children reunite with a stripped-down crew from the shipwrecked Albatross, headed by Sean Graham, a white Eirish sailor. Together, they hatch a plan to sail home, but two new companions throw them off track: Lady Jean Barrett, a white, Britannic antiquary tasked with bringing Bren home safely to Map; and Yaozu, a Chinese scholar in search of artifacts empowered by the gifts of the eight demigods who once ruled Heaven and Earth. Instead of sailing toward the East Netherlands, the five explorers head to China, forging an uneasy partnership and relying on one another to survive. As they face life and death at almost every turn, Bren learns lessons in trust, loyalty, and teamwork, and eventually answers are revealed. In his signature style, Wolverton cleverly overlays intricate plotting with ancient Chinese legends and history (including the Dragon Boat Festival and the Terracotta Warriors) and creates a thrilling, fast-paced story that flies by. Fans will wait with bated breath for the third book in the trilogy. (maps) (Historical fantasy. 9-14)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062221933
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
11/01/2016
Series:
Chronicles of the Black Tulip Series , #2
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
438,514
Product dimensions:
5.60(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

Barry Wolverton is the author of Neversink. He has more than fifteen years' experience creating books, documentary television scripts, and website content for international networks and publishers, including National Geographic, Scholastic.com, the Library of Congress, and the Discovery Networks. He lives in Memphis, Tennessee.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews