The Drowned Vault (Ashtown Burials #2)

The Drowned Vault (Ashtown Burials #2)

4.7 32
by N. D. Wilson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Fans of both Percy Jackson and Indiana Jones will be captivated by the lost civilizations, ancient secrets, and buried treasure found in the second book of the Ashtown Burials series, action-packed adventure by N. D. Wilson, the author of Leepike Ridge and the 100 Cupboards trilogy.

It's been almost a year since Cyrus and Antigone Smith earned their

Overview

Fans of both Percy Jackson and Indiana Jones will be captivated by the lost civilizations, ancient secrets, and buried treasure found in the second book of the Ashtown Burials series, action-packed adventure by N. D. Wilson, the author of Leepike Ridge and the 100 Cupboards trilogy.

It's been almost a year since Cyrus and Antigone Smith earned their places as Journeymen at Ashtown, home of an ancient order of explorers that has long guarded the world's secrets and treasures. While their studies go well, Cy and Tigs are not well liked since losing the Dragon's Tooth to the nefarious Dr. Phoenix. The Tooth is the only object in the world capable of killing the long-lived transmortals, and Phoenix has been tracking them down one-by-one, and murdering them.

The surviving transmortals, led by legendary warrior Gilgamesh of Uruk, descend on Ashtown in force, demanding justice. Cy and Tigs find themselves on the run in a desperate search to locate Phoenix and regain the Tooth. In the process, they uncover an evil even more dangerous than Phoenix, one that has been waiting for centuries to emerge.

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
Gr 6–10—This action-packed sequel to The Dragon's Tooth (Random, 2011) promises-and delivers-as much magic, mystery, and mythology as its predecessor. Thanks to Cyrus and Antigone Smith, Dr. Phoenix now possesses the Dragon's Tooth-and he's been using it to hunt and kill immortals worldwide. Phoenix has a dark agenda, but an evil alliance of immortals, Ordo Draconis, also seeks the tooth's power. Worse, the Ordos have a centuries-old vendetta against the Smith family. Circumstances within the Order of Brendan are already shaky when fearful immortals, led by Gilgamesh of Uruk, storm Ashtown, demanding Smith blood. The siblings narrowly escape. To help retrieve the tooth, they recruit the infamous immortal, Captain John Smith. Cyrus has a plan, but will it work? Characters are well drawn, and the story's many interwoven plotlines, although complex, are easy to follow. This absorbing guy-friendly adventure will appeal to fans of Michael Scott and Rick Riordan.—Alissa J. Bach, Oxford Public Library, MI
From the Publisher
School Library Journal, October 2012:
"This action-packed sequel to The Dragon's Tooth (Random, 2011) promises—­and delivers­—as much magic, mystery, and mythology as its predecessor. Thanks to Cyrus and Antigone Smith, Dr. Phoenix now possesses the Dragon's Tooth—­and he's been using it to hunt and kill immortals worldwide. Phoenix has a dark agenda, but an evil alliance of immortals, Ordo Draconis, also seeks the tooth's power. Worse, the Ordos have a centuries-old vendetta against the Smith family. Circumstances within the Order of Brendan are already shaky when fearful immortals, led by Gilgamesh of Uruk, storm Ashtown, demanding Smith blood. The siblings narrowly escape. To help retrieve the tooth, they recruit the infamous immortal, Captain John Smith. Cyrus has a plan, but will it work? Characters are well drawn, and the story's many interwoven plotlines, although complex, are easy to follow. This absorbing guy-friendly adventure will appeal to fans of Michael Scott and Rick Riordan.­"

Booklist, September 15, 2012:
"Cyrus and Antigone Smith have a lot of problems. Their mother is still unresponsive in the hospital. The Ordo Draconis was stopped the last time out by their ancestor, Captain John Smith, but the cabal seems intent on rising to power again. The siblings should be training to become explorers, but there isn’t enough time. The leadership of the Order of Brendan is changing, and the transmortals—like Gilgamesh of Uruk—want revenge on Cyrus because he inadvertently put the Tooth of the Dragon into the hands of Dr. Phoenix. It’s no wonder the Smiths are on the run with the other Polygoners. They must fight their way through physical and emotional torture as they seek to release Captain Smith and stop Phoenix. Beginning where The Dragon’s Tooth (2011) left off, Wilson’s second installment is fast-paced and creatively plotted. New characters, such as Arache and her spiders and a mysterious red-winged blackbird, add complexity in relationships and prevent the story line from feeling contrived. In exploring the idea of what it means to be truly alive, this novel will take your breath away."

Kirkus Reviews
Cyrus and Antigone continue the adventures begun in The Dragon's Tooth (2011), as the Order of Brendan and its fearless leader, Rupert Greeves, experience a rebellion that threatens the future of the world. One year after the events of the first book, the children find themselves desperately seeking the Dragon's Tooth they had lost, encountering perils aplenty. Like many second books in a series, this is definitely for those who have read the first--and even they may find themselves disappointed. The discoveries that engaged readers as they uncovered the world of Ashtown in the first book grow old as the plot perpetually bombards the two children with ever-greater foes and danger. The children's cutesy nicknames, Rus-rus and Tigs, seem irritatingly inappropriate and jarring under the circumstances. Some of the more engaging characters from the previous book are less integral to the plot this time around, and the presence of historical figures such as Captain John Smith and Ponce de León are not as convincing, though the mythological references still succeed. Wilson feels as though he's trying to keep the stakes high and to top what has come before, which can be tedious for readers who are not attached to the outcome. Fearful evil survives to threaten the world, promising further adventures in a future volume. For die-hard fans only. (Fantasy. 10-14)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780375895739
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
09/11/2012
Series:
Ashtown Burials Series , #2
Sold by:
Random House
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
464
Sales rank:
414,304
Lexile:
690L (what's this?)
File size:
3 MB
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

What People are saying about this

School Library Journal, October 2012:
"This action-packed sequel to The Dragon's Tooth (Random, 2011) promises—­and delivers­—as much magic, mystery, and mythology as its predecessor. Thanks to Cyrus and Antigone Smith, Dr. Phoenix now possesses the Dragon's Tooth—­and he's been using it to hunt and kill immortals worldwide. Phoenix has a dark agenda, but an evil alliance of immortals, Ordo Draconis, also seeks the tooth's power. Worse, the Ordos have a centuries-old vendetta against the Smith family. Circumstances within the Order of Brendan are already shaky when fearful immortals, led by Gilgamesh of Uruk, storm Ashtown, demanding Smith blood. The siblings narrowly escape. To help retrieve the tooth, they recruit the infamous immortal, Captain John Smith. Cyrus has a plan, but will it work? Characters are well drawn, and the story's many interwoven plotlines, although complex, are easy to follow. This absorbing guy-friendly adventure will appeal to fans of Michael Scott and Rick Riordan.­"

Booklist, September 15, 2012:
"Cyrus and Antigone Smith have a lot of problems. Their mother is still unresponsive in the hospital. The Ordo Draconis was stopped the last time out by their ancestor, Captain John Smith, but the cabal seems intent on rising to power again. The siblings should be training to become explorers, but there isn’t enough time. The leadership of the Order of Brendan is changing, and the transmortals—like Gilgamesh of Uruk—want revenge on Cyrus because he inadvertently put the Tooth of the Dragon into the hands of Dr. Phoenix. It’s no wonder the Smiths are on the run with the other Polygoners. They must fight their way through physical and emotional torture as they seek to release Captain Smith and stop Phoenix. Beginning where The Dragon’s Tooth (2011) left off, Wilson’s second installment is fast-paced and creatively plotted. New characters, such as Arache and her spiders and a mysterious red-winged blackbird, add complexity in relationships and prevent the story line from feeling contrived. In exploring the idea of what it means to be truly alive, this novel will take your breath away."

Meet the Author

N. D. WILSON is the bestselling author of the 100 Cupboards series and Leepike Ridge. Once, in the fourth grade, he split his buddy’s arrow while shooting at a mattress from twenty yards. Now he writes at the top of a tall, skinny house, where he lives with a blue-eyed girl he stole from the ocean, their five young explorers, two tortoises, and one snake.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Drowned Vault: Ashtown Burials #2 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From excitement to suspense, adventure to hardship, violence to love, this book has it all. Follow the exciting story of Cyrus and Antigone Smith as they again work with the Order of Brendan against Phoenix and the tooth. AMAZING read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cool
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Smoke the room, speaks loudly, her voice echoing. "There is a new rp at unlimited all res! Only difference between unlimited and Sewoa, there are no rules at Unlimited. All we need is a population..." Leaves once finished speaking.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey Pierce, nice to meet ya (btw if I randomly stop posting its cause I had to go home and I'll be back tomorrow)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi guys
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walked over to Shade"Hi." She mumbled
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is that so? I didnt notice
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"I see some, in those ruins. I just set off a mini nuke there so they died. Blood is what makes up reputation."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am an autobot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He opens his eyes hey he says with a smile my wounds have finally vhealed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has romance? Never would have guesed. Cant wait to read. I love this series so far.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice. Contuine.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rjj
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a good book for anyone to read. I really enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What makes you think it is so bad? Give me two reasons why.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im a fan of percy jackson
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Youre sort of letting this roleplay die... unless youre busy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Uses her panther speach. {Yum. Soon this place will be minus 20 mice} the panthet eyeballing everybody (person/ mouse) licks lips.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She laughed at nothing and climbed into a tree.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
HELLO IS ANY ONE ON IM REALLY BOARD HERE!