The Duke Is Mine

The Duke Is Mine

3.8 199
by Eloisa James
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“Eloisa James is extraordinary.”
 —Lisa Kleypas

In the capable hands of USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Eloisa James, the fairy tales we loved as children take on vibrant—and sensuous—new life. With The Duke is Mine, the beloved author of A Kiss at Midnight and When

See more details below

Overview

“Eloisa James is extraordinary.”
 —Lisa Kleypas

In the capable hands of USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Eloisa James, the fairy tales we loved as children take on vibrant—and sensuous—new life. With The Duke is Mine, the beloved author of A Kiss at Midnight and When Beauty Tamed the Beast gives the classic tale of the Princess and the Pea a delightfully romantic Regency spin. Fans of Victoria Alexander and Julia Quinn will simply adore this historical romance gem about a lady reluctantly betrothed to one duke but pursued by another; a tantalizing tale of love, lies, and one very uncomfortable mattress.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
James’s Regency-era rendition of “The Princess and the Pea” hits the trifecta of sizzling romance, engaging characters, and an enthralling, quick-moving story. Curvy, brash Olivia and slim, proper Georgiana are twins, raised by their social-climbing parents to be suitable brides for dukes. All seems assured until Olivia’s future husband, the dim-witted Rupert Blakemore, marquess of Montsurrey, turns 18 and declares that “he will not marry until he achieves military glory.” While he heads to war, Olivia accompanies Georgiana to meet Tarquin Brook-Chatfield, the widowed duke of Sconce and Georgiana’s possible suitor. But Tarquin becomes immediately enamored of Olivia, who must then decide whether to risk Georgiana and Rupert’s disappointment by returning Quin’s affections. Olivia is a notably affable female protagonist whose intellect and good humor make her stand apart from many of the meek women of her era. Only James’s weakness for modern colloquialisms (e.g. “wardrobe malfunction”) mars this endearing tale. Agent: Inkwell Management. (Jan.)
Library Journal
Engaged for family reasons to a sweet but mentally challenged ducal heir who is off fighting Napoléon, unconventional Olivia Lytton is sent with her lovely but deplorably "duchified" twin sister, Georgiana, to the home of the Duke of Sconce. Georgie will there be scrutinized and "tested" by the Dowager Duchess for her suitability to become her son's bride. The duke himself is more than willing to let his mother take care of such mundane details—until a storm-soaked, bedraggled Olivia arrives on his doorstep and assumes he's a servant. Hilarious references to the dowager's much-vaunted tome on proper aristocratic behavior and a cast of insightfully developed characters are highlights of this clever reimagining of The Princess and the Pea. From proper palatial English estates to wild adventure on the shores of France, this is a satisfying romantic charmer. VERDICT With rapier wit, bawdy wordplay, and a stinging sense of fun, James targets social rigidity, explores the meaning of perfection (and heroism), and catches readers off guard with any number of unexpected twists. A brilliant new spin on another classic tale; readers will never again look at peas, mattresses, or even heroes in the same way. James (When Beauty Tamed the Beast) lives in New York City. [Find the review of James's original e-novella Winning the Wallflower at reviews.libraryjournal.com/tag/xpress-reviews.]

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062096364
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
12/27/2011
Series:
Fairy Tales , #3
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
400
Sales rank:
36,181
File size:
1 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >