The Eden Plague

The Eden Plague

4.6 3
by David Vandyke
     
 
BOOK 1 OF THE SERIES.

Rule#1: Don't shoot your future wife. When veteran combat medic Daniel Markis finds armed invaders in his home and it all goes sideways, he must find out why. On the run from the shadowy Company, Daniel turns to his brothers in arms to fight back, to get the answers he needs. Soon they take possession of a secret that threatens the

Overview

BOOK 1 OF THE SERIES.

Rule#1: Don't shoot your future wife. When veteran combat medic Daniel Markis finds armed invaders in his home and it all goes sideways, he must find out why. On the run from the shadowy Company, Daniel turns to his brothers in arms to fight back, to get the answers he needs. Soon they take possession of a secret that threatens the stability of the world, as together they lead a conspiracy to change everything.

The Eden Plague is a science-fiction military techno-thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Dean Koontz, Vaughn Heppner and B.V. Larson.

Also from David VanDyke: The Plague Wars Series:
- The Eden Plague
- Reaper's Run
- The Demon Plagues
- The Reaper Plague
- The Orion Plague
- Comes the Destroyer

PG-13 for language, violence and adult situations (non-explicit)

See more from this author at davidvandykeauthor.com

This book is free of DRM (Digital Rights Management)...because it's in print! Loan it, sell it, let your dog chew on it!

Keywords: alien, virus, phage, special operations, humor, scientist, microbiologist, medical, action, gun, Virginia, nuclear, radiation, disease

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781626260016
Publisher:
David VanDyke
Publication date:
02/27/2013
Pages:
302
Product dimensions:
5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.68(d)

Meet the Author

David VanDyke is a former US Army Airborne enlisted soldier and, later in life, a US Air Force officer. He served in and out of combat zones all over the world in the 1980s through the 2000s. He lives on the East Coast with his wife and three dogs.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Eden Plague 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Eden Plague is very well written and a great sci-fi story.  I loved the plot and characters.  I did find a problem at about 30% into the kindle file, there's a section that is repeated and needs to be removed.  It made things very confusing for a few moments.  I loved the ending, but I did giggle at the very last sentence.  That's just how I feel about that particular concept and is no reflection on the story.  I look forward to reading Reaper's Run, the next book in the series.  I wouldn't hesitate to read more books by David VanDyke.  Thank you, David, for sending me this book in return for an honest review, I loved it.
JESiers More than 1 year ago
This book is a non-stop action thriller, one you won't want to put down. Fans of military action or military SF might think of Tom Clancy, Michael Crichton, and John Ringo -- it's in that class all the way. It's set in today's world with today's cutting-edge technology, but with a twist of the "it could be happening right now" variety that will fundamentally change our world. Vandyke creates believable, human characters in a credible setting and tells their story in a way that makes you keep turning the pages. This is a complete book, with the primary story action resolved in the end, but it is obviously the lead in for a series and the author gives you a "teaser" for the next book as a epilogue at the end. I don't like "cliffhangers" but this didn't fell like one (despite the fact that it made me really want to read the next book). Kudos to David Vandyke for a great story.
MommaSaysRead More than 1 year ago
By MommaG on April 25, 2013 The Eden Plague: Book 1 (Plague Wars) by David VanDyke David VanDyke adds quite a twist to a biological warfare plotline in his novel the Eden Plague. The story becomes more complex when motives of villains and heroes begin the blur as we discover more about the biological agent. Are the good intentions of the protagonists enough to justify their actions? Are the governmental agents only motivated by hunger for money and power or are they patriots responding to perceived terror threats? In writing the story in such a way that the reader questions characters’ principles as the plot unfolds, VanDyke reminds us that issues of politics and war are not always clear cut with easy answers. This militaristic Science Fiction is set in a present day kind of timeline offering enjoyable banter in the character dialogue as well as including smart, strong female characters. What does Momma G Think? Momma gives The Eden Plague (Plague Wars #1) by David VanDyke 4 cookies!