The Edge of the Water (Edge of Nowhere Series #2)

The Edge of the Water (Edge of Nowhere Series #2)

4.0 2
by Elizabeth George
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Sequel to the Edgar-nominated The Edge of Nowhere, from #1 New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth George

A mysterious girl who won’t speak; a coal black seal named Nera that returns to the same place every year; a bitter feud of unknown origin—strange things are happening on Whidbey Island, and Becca King,…  See more details below

Overview

Sequel to the Edgar-nominated The Edge of Nowhere, from #1 New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth George

A mysterious girl who won’t speak; a coal black seal named Nera that returns to the same place every year; a bitter feud of unknown origin—strange things are happening on Whidbey Island, and Becca King, is drawn into the maelstrom of events. But Becca has her own secrets to hide. Still on the run from her criminal stepfather,  Becca is living in a secret location. Even Derric, the Ugandan orphan with whom Becca shares a close, romantic relationship, can’t be allowed to know her whereabouts. As secrets of past and present are revealed, Becca becomes aware of her growing paranormal powers,  and events build to a shocking climax anticipated by no one.

Acclaimed author Elizabeth George brings her extraordinary talents to this intriguing story that blends mystery and myth.


"A ripping good thriller." —School Library Journal


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Praise for The Edge of the Water:

“So many questions and secrets swirl around Whidbey Island…This is the second installment in what appears to be a series but one need not have read the first book to be engrossed...a riveting story and since many questions remain unanswered, readers will be eager for the next installment.” —VOYA

“When it comes to this series, with scenes that draw you into a remarkable world, it’s easy to state that readers will remember Whidbey for decades to come. George has scored an ‘A+’ again. With discoveries being made and new characters arriving on the scene, waiting for book number three is going to take an incredible amount of patience. Bravo!” —Suspense Magazine

"A ripping good thriller" —School Library Journal

Praise for The Edge of Nowhere:

“George has created an interesting set of characters and plot twists that teenagers who like adventure and mysteries will enjoy." —School Library Journal

“...strong appeal to fans of Beth Kephart and Nancy Werlin.” —BCCB

VOYA, February 2014 (Vol. 36, No. 6) - Madeline Miles
This book is well written, on many levels. George stays in third-person throughout the whole book, yet the perspective changes each chapter, or part of the book. The way she writes is interesting because it is not exactly third-person omniscient, but it is not third-person singular either. It is a little bit of both because in each part, readers are not exactly hearing (reading) everyone’s thoughts, but they do hear almost everyone’s perspective at some point in the book. This book is thoroughly enjoyable and should be recommended to any teenager who enjoys mystery. Reviewer: Madeline Miles, Teen Reviewer; Ages 12 to 18.
VOYA, February 2014 (Vol. 36, No. 6) - Debbie Wenk
So many questions and secrets swirl around Whidbey Island. Many of them center on Nera—the mysterious black seal whose appearance every year at the same time has spawned a festival and a website by seal-spotters who report every sighting of her while in the waters around their island. When Annie—a marine-biologist grad student—arrives intent on studying Nera for her doctoral dissertation, a lot more questions are raised and some secrets revealed. This is the second installment in what appears to be a series but one need not have read the first book to be engrossed. It continues Becca’s story of being on the run from her murderous stepfather and raises new questions about her origins. As the quest for answers about Nera intensifies, several characters face questions of their own: Jenn is confused about who she is attracted to; Derric struggles with the secret of the sister he left behind in a Ugandan orphanage and what it means about the kind of person he is; Becca has glimpses of what could be memories but no answers. With so much going on in this story, character development is a little thin. Some of the adult characters are a tad too understanding to be realistic, while the teens come off a little better, though Jenn’s turnaround in regards to Becca is rather abrupt and not really well developed. These flaws do not detract from a riveting story and since many questions remain unanswered, readers will be eager for the next installment. Reviewer: Debbie Wenk; Ages 12 to 18.
School Library Journal
05/01/2014
Gr 8 Up—Whidbey Island is beautiful and isolated, but if Becca King thought she would be safe from her murderous stepfather there, she learned just how wrong she was in the closing pages of The Edge of Nowhere (Viking, 2012). She is forced to rely on the kindness of her friend Seth Darrow, who gives her a secret place to stay, and her hidden life causes problems between her and her boyfriend, Derric. Meanwhile, Becca finds her ability to hear the "whispers" of other people's thoughts growing stronger, even as strange events start to coalesce around Becca, her new friends, and the yearly reappearance of a black seal in the waters off Whidbey Island. George convincingly expands the world around Becca through passages in the perspective of a classmate, Jen, whose point of view helps drive the plot forward, and the machinations of various townspeople as they alternately try to protect and harm the mysterious seal. Honest depictions of teenage sexuality are a refreshing addition to the story. So, too, are Becca's growing supernatural abilities, which have started to include visions, and the otherworldly qualities of Nera the seal, which add a dose of the mystic. Various plot elements make this installment best enjoyed by teens familiar with the first book. A ripping good thriller.—Elisabeth Gattullo Marrocolla, Darien Library, CT
Kirkus Reviews
2014-01-22
Best-selling mystery writer George continues her series for teens set on Whidbey Island in Washington state with this mystery about an unusual seal connected to the Celtic selkie myth. The first volume in the series, The Edge of Nowhere (2012), focused on Becca, a girl with the power to understand some of the thoughts of others around her. This story also includes Becca and her on-again, off-again boyfriend, Derric, but the main character this time is Jenn, a bitter 15-year-old from an impoverished, dysfunctional family. Jenn is just beginning to question her sexual orientation, but many are already convinced she is a lesbian, and she is the target of relentless homophobic bullying (that evidently goes without consequence). Jenn befriends a marine biologist named Annie who rents a trailer near Jenn's home and employs Jenn as an assistant. Annie is bisexual, and she tries repeatedly and inappropriately but unsuccessfully to interest Jenn in exploring sex with her. Troublingly, the text does not seem to question the stereotypes it exploits, from the predatory gay adult to Jenn's slight frame and short haircut; Jenn's sexual questioning is not resolved. The actual mystery revolves around Jenn's and Becca's involvement with Annie and other adults in a long, complicated search for an unusual coal-black seal that returns to the island every year. Too long, too many characters, too many subplots and far too many trendy ingredients stirred in just for effect. (Paranormal mystery. 12 & up)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101602485
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
03/11/2014
Series:
Edge of Nowhere Series , #2
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
448
Sales rank:
79,402
File size:
3 MB
Age Range:
12 - 17 Years

Read an Excerpt

     In the other boat, Annie Taylor suddenly put her hand on Chad Pederson’s arm. She said, “Chad, look,” and they all followed her gaze. The seal had actually come between the two boats, putting herself so close that any one of them could have touched her.
     Becca was astonished by the seal’s strange beauty, every part of her black. Her sleek skin, her eyes, her nose, her whiskers…The only thing about her that wasn’t black was her teeth, and these became visible when she barked a greeting.
     That prompted Ivar, who said, “Back away. Your boat’ll crush her,” to Chad.
     At the same moment, Annie said, “Wait a minute! She’s got a transmitter on!”
To Becca it looked like an old garage door opener fastened to the black seal’s skin. She squinted at it and heard Annie saying, “It looks glued to her neck. Glued, Chad, glued!”
     Nera finally dove beneath the water, disappearing from view. She resurfaced some two hundred yards away. She was heading at that point back out into the passage.
     Annie Taylor looked from the seal to Ivar. She said, “You know something about that transmitter, don’t you? You know why she has it on. And you know why she hasn’t lost it, don’t you?”
     Ivar’s reply was “I don’t know nothing.”
     But Becca could tell that he was lying.

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
Praise for The Edge of the Water:

“So many questions and secrets swirl around Whidbey Island…This is the second installment in what appears to be a series but one need not have read the first book to be engrossed...a riveting story and since many questions remain unanswered, readers will be eager for the next installment.” —VOYA

“When it comes to this series, with scenes that draw you into a remarkable world, it’s easy to state that readers will remember Whidbey for decades to come. George has scored an ‘A+’ again. With discoveries being made and new characters arriving on the scene, waiting for book number three is going to take an incredible amount of patience. Bravo!” —Suspense Magazine

"A ripping good thriller" —School Library Journal

Praise for The Edge of Nowhere:

“George has created an interesting set of characters and plot twists that teenagers who like adventure and mysteries will enjoy." —School Library Journal

“...strong appeal to fans of Beth Kephart and Nancy Werlin.” —BCCB

Read More

Meet the Author

Elizabeth George is the author of the bestselling crime novels about Inspector Thomas Lynley, as well as The Edge of Nowhere, her first young adult novel, which was a finalist for both the Edgar and the Agatha awards.   Ms. George’s novels are notable for their incisive characterization and their complex, multi-layered plots.

Elizabeth George lives on Whidbey Island, where both The Edge of Nowhere and The Edge of the Water are set.  She says, “Whidbey Island asks to be ‘someone’ in a story. I only hope I’ve done it justice.” Two more coming-of-age novels in the Whidbey Island sequence will follow.

Visit her at www.elizabethgeorgeonline.com

Brief Biography

Hometown:
Seattle, Washington
Date of Birth:
February 26, 1949
Place of Birth:
Warren, Ohio
Education:
A.A. Foothill Community College, 1969; B.A. University of California, Riverside, 1970; M.S. California State University
Website:
http://www.elizabethgeorgeonline.com

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >