The Eerie Adventures of the Lycanthrope Robinson Crusoe

The Eerie Adventures of the Lycanthrope Robinson Crusoe

5.0 1
by Daniel Defoe, H. P. Lovecraft, Peter Clines
     
 
ROBINSON CRUSOE is one of the most enduring adventures of the past four centuries and one of the most well-known works in the English language. Or is it?

Recently discovered amidst the papers of the 20th century writer and historian H. P. Lovecraft is what claims to be the true story of Robinson Crusoe. Taken from the castaway's own journals and memoirs, and

Overview

ROBINSON CRUSOE is one of the most enduring adventures of the past four centuries and one of the most well-known works in the English language. Or is it?

Recently discovered amidst the papers of the 20th century writer and historian H. P. Lovecraft is what claims to be the true story of Robinson Crusoe. Taken from the castaway's own journals and memoirs, and fact-checked by Lovecraft himself, it is free from many of Defoe's edits and alterations. From Lovecraft's work a much smoother, simpler tale emerges--but also a far more disturbing one.

Here Crusoe is revealed as a man bearing the terrible curse of the werewolf and the guilt that comes with it--a man with no real incentive to leave his island prison. The cannibals who terrorized Crusoe are revealed to be less human than ever before hinted-- worshippers of a malevolent octopus-headed god. And the island itself is a place of ancient, evil mysteries that threaten Crusoe's sanity and his very soul.

This version of the classic tale, assembled by two legends of English literature and abridged by Peter Clines, is the terrifying supernatural true story of Robinson Crusoe as it has never been seen before.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781934861523
Publisher:
Permuted Press
Publication date:
09/28/2010
Pages:
270
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.61(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Eerie Adventures of the Lycanthrope Robinson Crusoe 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mr. Clines is like a fine chef with this book. He seasoned the original with enough new material, that it keeps you glued to it, but not so much that it takes from the classic story. This new material blended so smoothly, that I had to question if some of it was not in the original. It just worked. So if you like mash ups, and seek a new twist on an old story, then allow me to recommend this book. I know you will not be disapointed.
Plotnik More than 1 year ago
I was skeptical about this because a) I'm not a big fan of the original Robinson Crusoe, and b) mash-ups are really hit-or-miss. But I love werewolves, and the premise intrigued me, so I decided to give it a try. Honestly it is a bit difficult to get used to the language and style at first, but once you do, it's a very easy read (think of, say, a British movie where you have to get used to the strong accents). This is Crusoe with the most boring and offensive parts trimmed out, and a compelling first-person werewolf account seamlessly blended in. And if that's not cool enough, the island where the werewolf Crusoe gets stranded, is a creepy Lovecraftian place. Unlike in the original, I actually cared about Crusoe here, and found his friendship with Friday sweet and funny and sad. And I actually teared up towards the end, though I'm not going to give spoilers away. This is not a fast-read "junk food" kind of book (not that those don't have their place); this is an engrossing read to be savored. It really feels like a genuine "classic horror novel" in the vein of Frankenstein and Dracula.