×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Emerald Comb
     

The Emerald Comb

5.0 2
by Kathleen McGurl
 
Some secrets are best left buriedResearching her family tree had been little more than a hobby – until Katie stepped onto Kingsley House’s sprawling, ivy-strewn drive. The house may be crumbling today, but it was once the intimidatingly opulent residence of the St Clairs, Katie’s ancestors. Arriving here two hundred years later, emotion stirs in

Overview

Some secrets are best left buriedResearching her family tree had been little more than a hobby – until Katie stepped onto Kingsley House’s sprawling, ivy-strewn drive. The house may be crumbling today, but it was once the intimidatingly opulent residence of the St Clairs, Katie’s ancestors. Arriving here two hundred years later, emotion stirs in Katie: a strange nostalgia for a place she’s never seen before... and when Kingsley House comes up for sale, Katie is determined that her family must buy it. Surrounded by the mysteries of the past, Katie’s pastime becomes a darker obsession, as she searches through history to trace her heritage. But she soon discovers that these walls house terrible secrets. And when forgotten stories and hidden betrayals come to light, the past seems more alive than Katie could ever have imagined. Moving between the 21st and 19th centuries, The Emerald Comb is a hauntingly evocative novel, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore. Don't miss Kathleen's new book - The Pearl Locket - available to preorder now! PRAISE FOR KATHLEEN McGURL 'If you want a book that is exciting, fast-paced and impossible to put down, with plenty of twists and turns, then you need to buy this book! I can't wait to read more of Kathleen's novels.' - Emma's Book Reviews 'The Emerald Comb is fantastic.' - Books & Baby 'An edge of your seat read, that is a page turner and griped me from page one.' - Comet Babe's Books 'An engrossing family saga' - cayocosta72 on The Pearl Locket

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781474007504
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
09/22/2014
Sold by:
HarperCollins Publishers
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
13,440
File size:
3 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Emerald Comb 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
celticmaggie More than 1 year ago
I liked how Kathleen used 2 stories of different eras, 1840s and Contemporary, that were connected. She did a great job creating her people. They really tug at your heart. Katie and Simon have 3 children. She is into geneology and he has no use for it. She finds a house she loves so they buy it. Simon is acting pecularly strange. The second story is from 1840ish. Bartholomew marries a young girl for her money. There is a great big spoiler here. Read the book. Will Katie find Simon's secret? Read the book. If I say any more it will spoil the book for you. This is what I call a teeter totter book. You have to read it then you have to put it away only to have to read some more. Please give this book a chance. You will not be sorry. I have this book for an honest review for NetGalley.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love her books and how she takes to thru two different time periods. You don't know who the villain is until the end. Not being a brit, it took me awhile to figure out what squash was. Thank you Kathleen for a book I hated to put down! Hope you have more.