Essential American Singers

Essential American Singers


Product Details

Release Date:
Polygram Records


  1. Your Red Wagon  - Ella Fitzgerald
  2. Sweet Lorraine  - Louis Armstrong
  3. All My Life  - Ernestine Anderson
  4. I Worry 'bout You  - Arthur Prysock
  5. Memories of You  - Shirley Horn
  6. Sweet Slumber  - Jimmy Witherspoon
  7. A Fine Romance  - Louis Armstrong
  8. I Apologize  - Billy Eckstine
  9. Make Yourself Comfortable  - Sarah Vaughan
  10. This Love of Mine  -  Hibbler
  11. What a Diff'rence a Day Made  - Dinah Washington
  12. I Ain't Got Nothin' But the Blues  - Joe Williams
  13. Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone  - Billie Holiday
  14. Passing Strangers  - Sarah Vaughan

Read More

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hibbler   Vocals,Track Performer
Ernestine Anderson   Vocals,Track Performer
Count Basie   Piano
Louie Bellson   Drums
Art Davis   Bass
Billy Eckstine   Vocals,Track Performer
Harry Edison   Trumpet
Herb Ellis   Guitar
Ella Fitzgerald   Vocals,Track Performer
Freddie Green   Guitar
Grey   Trombone
Buck Hill   Tenor Saxophone
Johnny Hodges   Alto Saxophone
Shirley Horn   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Dick Hyman   Organ
Henry Johnson   Guitar
Hank Jones   Piano
Barney Kessel   Guitar
Grover Mitchell   Trombone
Oscar Peterson   Piano,Trumpet
Arthur Prysock   Vocals,Track Performer
Jerome Richardson   Reeds
Jimmy Rowles   Piano
Marshall Royal   Alto Saxophone
Norman Simmons   Piano
Dinah Washington   Vocals,Track Performer
Ben Webster   Tenor Saxophone
Joe Williams   Vocals,Track Performer
Lawrence Brown   Trombone
Wallace Davenport   Trumpet
Rufus "Speedy" Jones   Drums
Lou Levy   Piano
Frank Rehak   Trombone
Ernie Royal   Trumpet
Pete Rugolo   Conductor
Willie Rodriguez   Percussion
Melvin Sparks   Guitar
Jymie Merritt   Bass
Yusef Lateef   Reeds
Aarons   Trumpet
Charles Ables   Bass
Ray Appleton   Drums
Louis Armstrong   Trumpet,Vocals,Track Performer
Bob Badgley   Bass
Max Bennett   Bass
Benny Carter   Alto Saxophone
Emmett Berry   Trumpet
Billie Holiday   Vocals,Track Performer
Ray Brown   Bass
Larry Bunker   Drums
Kenny Burrell   Guitar
Red Callender   Bass
Henderson Chambers   Trombone
Clark Terry   Trumpet
Sonny Cohn   Trumpet
Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis   Tenor Saxophone
Eric Dixon   Tenor Saxophone
Charlie Fowlkes   Baritone Saxophone
Panama Francis   Drums
Philip Guilbeau   Trumpet
J.C. Heard   Drums
Belford Hendricks   Conductor
Milt Hinton   Bass
Tate Houston   Reeds
Bill Hughes   Trombone
Gus Johnson   Drums
Leo Johnson   Reeds
Norman Keenan   Bass
Gerryck King   Drums
Leroy Lovett   Piano
Hugo Peretti   Conductor
Jack McDuff   Organ,Vocals
Charlie Persip   Drums
Bobby Plater   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Sarah Vaughan   Vocals,Track Performer
John Simmons   Bass
Bobby Tucker   Conductor
Danny Turner   Reeds
Jimmy Witherspoon   Vocals,Track Performer
Steve Williams   Drums

Technical Credits

Pete Rugolo   Arranger
Charles Davis   Contributor
Barry Mann   Composer
Frank Foster   Arranger
Belford Hendricks   Arranger
Michael Lang   Compilation Supervisor
Hugo Peretti   Arranger
Laura Levine   Artwork,Art Direction
Benjamin V. Franklin   Liner Notes
Alli Truch   Art Direction
Sidney Mitchell   Composer

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >