The Execution (Jeremy Fisk Series #2)

The Execution (Jeremy Fisk Series #2)

3.9 21
by Dick Wolf
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

NYPD Detective Jeremy Fisk—introduced in Law & Order creator Dick Wolf’s New York Times bestselling debut The Intercept—must stop an assassin in the pay of a shadowy cartel in The Execution, a tense thriller that superbly blends suspense, politics, intrigue and high-flying action in the tradition of Vince

Overview

NYPD Detective Jeremy Fisk—introduced in Law & Order creator Dick Wolf’s New York Times bestselling debut The Intercept—must stop an assassin in the pay of a shadowy cartel in The Execution, a tense thriller that superbly blends suspense, politics, intrigue and high-flying action in the tradition of Vince Flynn, David Baldacci, and Robert Crais.

Ten days after the Mexican presidential election, twenty-three bodies are discovered beheaded on the United States border, each marked with a carving of a Hummingbird. Detective Cecilia Garza of the Mexican intelligence agency recognizes it: it is the signature of an assassin called Chuparosa. Garza has been pursuing the killer for years, yet knows little about him, except that he’s heading to New York—with the rest of the world.

It’s United Nations Week in Manhattan and Jeremy Fisk can’t let grief over a devastating loss keep him from safeguarding his city. Complicating matters is the startling news of a mass murder in nearby Rockaway—and the arrival of a disturbingly beautiful and assertive Mexican cop.

To have a chance at finding Chuparosa, these uneasy allies must learn to work together and fast. As they soon discover, there’s more to this threat than meets the eye—and that justice is not always blind.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
05/12/2014
Wolf's tension-filled follow-up to The Intercept sends NYPD Intelligence Division detective Jeremy Fisk on yet another mission to keep New York City (and perhaps the world) safe from terror. The setting is the controlled chaos of United Nations Week and a highlight meeting between President Obama and the new Mexican president, Umberto Vargas, to sign a treaty. The discovery of 13 decapitated bodies in Rockaway alarms Cecilia Garza of the Policía Federal assigned to Vargas's security detail, because the killings bear the hallmark of the assassin called Chuparosa, who she believes intends to kill Vargas. Fisk, an entertaining lone wolf, and Garza clash frequently as each pursues the best way to protect their respective presidents and thwart the wily Chuparosa, who leaves a growing number of corpses in his wake. Garza and Wolf each have personal agendas that evolve in surprising ways. Wolf delivers a number of interesting twists that keep the action fresh. (Jan.)
Suspense Magazine
“[Wolf] is now putting his stamp in the political thriller genre challenging the likes of Brad Thor and David Baldacci . . . a master storyteller and it shows perfectly in The Execution.
BookPage.com
“[A] gripping adventure . . . Wolf has moved from strength to strength, from his early success as the creator of TV’s Law & Order to his more recent incarnation as novelist. Not to be missed!”
Seattle Post-Intelligencer
“A page-turning novel that reads like a compelling episode of the best television has to offer. And like his stories from Law & Order, the novel feels like it could be ripped from the headlines.”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062064868
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
01/07/2014
Series:
Jeremy Fisk Series , #2
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
400
Sales rank:
23,735
File size:
889 KB

Meet the Author

Dick Wolf, a two-time Emmy award-winning writer, producer, and creator, is the architect of one of the most successful brands in the history of television—NBC's Law & Order, one of the longest-running scripted shows. Wolf is also the creator and executive producer of Chicago Fire and Chicago P.D. He has won numerous awards, including Emmys for Outstanding Drama Series (Law & Order) and Outstanding Made-for-Television Movie (Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee); a Grammy; and an Edgar. Wolf is the New York Times bestselling author of The Intercept and The Execution. The Ultimatum is the third book in his Jeremy Fisk series. He lives in Southern California.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Execution 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX More than 1 year ago
This book starts quickly, but I almost didn’t make it to the end, so a little advice up front: Do try, since the pace picks up and the story improves toward the end. Until then, although there were interesting, exciting moments, the story mostly seemed to plod along. Too much explanation, not enough action. There are frequent intrusions into the story while the author provides information he thinks the reader needs. These range from blatant parenthetical asides while a character is “on stage” to paragraphs of background information about government agencies and their operating methods. Every time this happens, we suddenly “see” the author, which ends our immersion in the story. This is not a book you’ll get lost in. Additionally, much of what happens to the characters is telegraphed well ahead. Any character who claims to be too busy to become involved will surely become involved, any head of state who fears making a bad decision will soon make one to move the plot along, and possible romances end up right where you suspected they would as predictably as a romance novel. Dick Wolf’s writing is solid, despite the issues with style and plotting. His knowledge of the setting (New York) adds great dimension, and the plot itself is an attention grabber.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked the first Jeremy Fisk novel and was eagerly awaiting the second. It did not disappoint - great plot with many twists. Looking forward to many more Jeremy Fisk adventures!
robbielea More than 1 year ago
Detective Jeremy Fisk is at a low point in his life as author Dick Wolf continues the series with his latest offering, The Execution.  At the end of the first book in the series, The Intercept, Jeremy’s colleague and lover Krina Gersten is killed in the line of duty leaving Jeremy devastated and vulnerable.  Enter Commandante Cecelia Garza who has her own demons.  Driving her obsession with finding the assassin Chuparosa is the memory of the kidnapping of her mother and sister and frustration because the man she believes to be responsible died before she could kill him. Please don’t judge me for wanting two attractive protagonists to get together somehow.  Jeremy Fisk is a man who has lost his love and Cecilia Garza is a woman who is just lost….Will Fisk risk his career to assist an alluring woman in an investigation where he has no real jurisdiction and will Garza risk her career for revenge? Fisk and Garza peel back one sordid layer after another until the mystery of Chuparosa is solved. But as the layers are peeled back the plot becomes more complex and secrets long dead come to light like open sores.  The author ingenuously fires short chapters at the reader like the staccato of gun fire to create tension as the story unfolds.  Readers who love mysteries and thrillers will love this book. There are so many plot twists and things that both you and the protagonists think are true which turn out to be wrong.   Yet somehow you will be able to keep it straight until the ending which initially seems anticlimactic, but turns out to be one of those “what just happened?” moments. If that statement seems confusing…don’t worry. Everything will become clear in the end, and the ending….oh my! Perfect!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great new series, Jeremy Fisk is a hero we all can appreciate. Another surprise from the talented Dick Wolf. looking forward to #3.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good plot, well developed characters. A good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I Love these people write a "reveiw " and feel they have to give away the entire story ... duh ! Please spare us , say what you thought about the book and maybe try spellcheck or even reread what you've written before you post it ! Thanks !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not quite as good as his first but not bad. Although it had a fairly good twist this was kind of predictable. I did like the tie-in at the end with the bad guy from the first book. 3.5 stars.
MissBethBC More than 1 year ago
Second book of the Jeremy Fisk series is The Execution by Dick Wolf.   I think Wolf knows how to spin a great story.   Although the storyline to this second book was rather raw and revolting, it was a great adventure story.  This story had an intensity and detailed imagery.  Jeremy Fisk was basically still in mourning for his girlfriend, Krina Gersten, and he was looking for another line of work.   He had been released back to duty and as any cop will tell you, crime never stops.   He is basically assigned to desk duty and coordinating the over all aspect of United Nations week. But, Jeremy Fisk is not satisfied with his assignment and gets pulled out to check out some dumped bodies, who are missing their hands, feet and heads....then dumped.   It is the same signature as an assassin from Mexico City. A female federale' recognizes the signature and wants to be involved in his capture.   Wolf did provide an interesting history for Detective Cecelia Garza which left us knowing more about her than we ever found out about Gersten.   And although there was something between the two of them, they went their separate ways.   I hope in a future story we get to revisit and develop the something between Garza and Fisk.   Again there is a lot of action, adventure, tension and criminal activity to focus on when reading Wolf's work.   The chapters are many but short and the writing flows easily to capture the reader and keep them baited.   A very good read to be sure!
janethJO More than 1 year ago
fast paced, interesting
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read thriller, hard to put down.
1dachsmom More than 1 year ago
This book was good -- not great -- just OK
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Will be checking out his other books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read the blurb and wonder how they got on and who would give a five star rating for pulp fuction or grafic novel slashers are there no editorsanymore who read this stuff first? Pagecounter
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not that good but preaty desesent