×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Famous and the Dead: A Charlie Hood Novel
     

The Famous and the Dead: A Charlie Hood Novel

3.1 8
by T. Jefferson Parker
 

See All Formats & Editions

For fans of Michael Connelly and CJ Box, from New York Times bestseller and Edgar-award winner T. Jefferson Parker, author of The Room of White Fire, comes the explosive finale in his Charlie Hood series, which will bring together the destinies of three men caught between light and darkness....

Los Angeles County sheriff’s deputy

Overview

For fans of Michael Connelly and CJ Box, from New York Times bestseller and Edgar-award winner T. Jefferson Parker, author of The Room of White Fire, comes the explosive finale in his Charlie Hood series, which will bring together the destinies of three men caught between light and darkness....

Los Angeles County sheriff’s deputy Charlie Hood is attached to the ATF, working undercover on the illegal arms trade that flows across the U.S.-Mexico border. The sparkle of the diamond fillings he wears in his left canine distracts his task force targets and is often the first step toward a long stay behind bars.

Meanwhile, Bradley Jones—sheriff’s deputy, employee of the Baja Cartel, and son of the love of Charlie’s life—is expecting a son of his own. Bradley, supposedly descended from the famed Mexican outlaw Joaquin Murrieta, has reaped the rewards of his treachery, keeping a hoard of cash and jewelry in a secret lair on his property.

Charlie knows Bradley’s secrets, all of them; the question is what he’ll do with the information. But he still has to contend with the devilish Mike Finnegan, who flits in and out of the lives of his friends, knows things he should not know, is seemingly immortal, and delights in the havoc he wreaks in the orbits of everyone he touches....

All three are about to meet. But all will not survive....


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
In the sixth and final volume of Parker's Charlie Hood series his hero is working undercover for the Feds and struggling to stop the flow of guns to Mexico. Undermining his efforts is Mike Finnegan, a former bath-fixture salesman who has turned gunrunner. Although Hood and his staff pose as cartel members during complicated sting operations, Finnegan's mysterious contacts enable him to transport 1,000 illegal guns into Mexico, a few of which are used to slay innocent civilians. The Feds hold Hood and his colleagues responsible. Meanwhile, the young L.A. deputy Bradley Jones must choose between upholding the law and working with the cartel while awaiting the birth of his first child. In the final chapters, Parker brings the series to a somber close. VERDICT Parker pulls it all together in a rather complex plotline that first-time readers might find confusing and slow-paced for a police procedural. But series fans will want this. [See Prepub Alert, 10/28/12.]—Jerry P. Miller, Cambridge, MA

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101624180
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
04/18/2013
Series:
Charlie Hood Novel , #5
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
344,307
File size:
1 MB
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

“T. Jefferson Parker has burgled the crumbling palace of Edgar Allan Poe for inspiration in The Famous and the Dead.”—The Wall Street Journal

“Parker, the winner of three Edgar awards for crime fiction, again delivers a tale that is not only well plotted and suspenseful, but subtle, surprising and endearingly perverse.”—The Washington Post

“Parker has always chaffed at the boundaries of the crime fiction genre, creating wildly inventive characters and surprising storylines. His risk-taking alone makes all of his work, including the Charlie Hood series, well worth reading.”—The Associated Press

“Parker’s sparse, melodic prose is as simple as it is haunting. His writing is a wonder to behold…a riveting read.”—Providence Journal

Meet the Author

T. Jefferson Parker is the author of numerous novels and short stories, the winner of three Edgar Awards, and the recipient of a Los Angeles Times Book Prize for mysteries. Before becoming a full-time novelist, he was an award-winning reporter. He lives in Fallbrook, California.


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
Fallbrook, California
Date of Birth:
December 26, 1953
Place of Birth:
Los Angeles, California
Education:
B.A. in English, University of California-Irvine, 1976
Website:
http://www.tjeffersonparker.com

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Famous and the Dead 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
DocFord47 More than 1 year ago
The Famous and the Dead, a new novel by T.Jefferson Parker, I've  is easily the most disappointing book of Parker's  books I've ever read.....and I've read them all upon first release.  I attended several book signings over the years and have read all of his books. When I buy a book of the crime/cop/thriller variety, I don't expect to read one in which the plot hinges on the fantasy/sci fi genres.  I prefer plausibility and some semblance of reality to mythology  That's why I stopped reading James Patterson about four years and fifty books ago...The inside dust jacket teaser provides a working  hypothesis for you to work on and revises as necessary as you read merrily along on the veranda and I, of course, expect the ending with a clever/creative/original/ surprise.  As expected, there is an ending and ther is a twist, but veteran   readers of this qenre  will  immediately recognize  the mundane, tired, trite old ending that's been done many, many times before.  the bright spot in the book is Mary Kate Boyle.  Mr. Parker does a masterful portrait if Ms Boyle the snappy, quick-minded, unexpected dialogue.  I'd be very favorably disposed to see her as a main character 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really....I just don't understand why TJP changed his writing format and went supernatural. As stand alone reading, the series is an unfilled mess. The plot would have been fine without the devils and angels, but stringing it out alas, Twilight and Harry Potter was nothing but an attempt to sell more books and string the unsuspecting read along.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
This sixth novel in the Charlie Hood series brings it to a conclusion, sort of. A lot of loose ends are wrapped up as the story meanders back and forth, recounting various topics from the illegal flow of guns and drugs along the U.S.-Mexican border to the accompanying cartel violence. And, of course, there is a final confrontation between and among Charlie, Bradley Jones and Mike Finnegan. The plot, such as it is, follows Charlie’s work as an ATF agent working undercover to nab the men who buy and sell the illegal firearms which enable the escalating violence on both sides of the border. Meanwhile, Jones awaits the birth of his son and hopes to recapture the affection of his wife Erin. And Charlie, who knows all of Bradley’s secrets, has to decide what to do with this information. And his obsession with Mike Finnegan consumes him and can cost him his love, Beth. Written with the author’s straightforward, but somewhat dry, style, this concluding novel in the series is not a particularly easy or enjoyable read. It is slow, often repetitious, especially when past events are recounted. The characters, of course, have been and continue to be memorable. However, this reader, at least, had to struggle through the 371 pages and was not particularly enthralled by the conclusion. Probably the only reason to recommend the novel would because it brings a noteworthy series to a final end, by an author who is a craftsman.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am in school and do not have time to read this book.