The Five-Day Dig

The Five-Day Dig

4.0 5
by Jennifer Malin
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

An invitation to translate ancient inscriptions near Pompeii is a dream come true for college classics professor Winnie Price. Although the dig is for a cheesy TV archaeology program instead of a scholarly project, it's a way to carry on the legacy of her archaeologist father, who passed away on their last trip to Italy.

Then her department chair horns his…  See more details below

Overview

An invitation to translate ancient inscriptions near Pompeii is a dream come true for college classics professor Winnie Price. Although the dig is for a cheesy TV archaeology program instead of a scholarly project, it's a way to carry on the legacy of her archaeologist father, who passed away on their last trip to Italy.

Then her department chair horns his way in on the gig. The show host is more sensationalist than scientist. Her cocky young British assistant Chaz keeps flirting with her--and getting harder to resist. A looter's hole appears at the excavation site. Worst of all, it turns out someone forged the referral letter that got her on the show, and the prime suspect is her--or Chaz.

Add to the mix a reenactment of pagan rites spiced up with a psychoactive home-brewed beer, and Winnie has a lot more to interpret than Latin.

Fans of Nora Roberts, Graeme Simsion and Libbie Hawker will love the smart characters and academic mystery in this romantic comedy with a vibrant Italian setting and an international archaeological plot.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940013252004
Publisher:
Jennifer Malin Books
Publication date:
12/05/2015
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
302
Sales rank:
317,714
File size:
247 KB

Meet the Author

Jennifer Malin inherited double copies of the bookworm gene from a mom who reads voraciously and a dad who once spent his downtime writing in the crane he operated.

Her first two novels, As You Wish, a time travel, and Eternally Yours, a ghost romance, were originally published by Jove (Penguin Group USA). After that, Jen’s love for Jane Austen led to several works set in Regency England—one from Leisure Books and three from Zebra. In recent years, a fascination with archaeology inspired The Five-Day Dig, a contemporary mystery/romance set near Pompeii; Seventh Sanctuary, a steamy novella of ancient Sumeria; and Templum, a time travel featuring a modern heroine and an ancient-Roman hero.

Her new novella Wish I Might is the prequel to As You Wish. Next up is the third installment in the series.

Jen and her husband, Martin, an Aussie ex-pat, live outside of Philadelphia but travel to see ancient ruins and Formula 1 races as often as they can. She’s an art enthusiast, a fan of film, and the proud aunt of three amazing nephews.

Find descriptions and sample chapters for all of her book at www.jenmalin.com.

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Five-Day Dig 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little slow going at times and seemed to drag on. All in all a nice, easy read with interesting characters and twists. Not exactly riveting and I found it easy to stop reading and put the book down for awhile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago