The Five-Day Dig [NOOK Book]

Overview

An invitation to translate ancient inscriptions near Pompeii is a dream come true for college classics professor Winnie Price. Although the dig is for a cheesy TV archaeology program instead of a scholarly project, it's a way to carry on the legacy of her archaeologist father, who passed away on their last trip to Italy.

Then her department chair horns his way in on the gig. The show host is more sensationalist than scientist. Her cocky young ...
See more details below
The Five-Day Dig

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$3.99
BN.com price

Overview

An invitation to translate ancient inscriptions near Pompeii is a dream come true for college classics professor Winnie Price. Although the dig is for a cheesy TV archaeology program instead of a scholarly project, it's a way to carry on the legacy of her archaeologist father, who passed away on their last trip to Italy.

Then her department chair horns his way in on the gig. The show host is more sensationalist than scientist. Her cocky young British assistant Chaz keeps flirting with her--and getting harder to resist. A looter’s hole appears at the excavation site. Worst of all, it turns out someone forged the referral letter that got her on the show, and the prime suspect is her--or Chaz.

Add to the mix a reenactment of pagan rites spiced up with a psychoactive home-brewed beer, and Winnie has a lot more to interpret than Latin.

Fans of Mary Jane Clark, Douglas Preston and Deborah Harkness will love the smart characters and academic mystery in this romantic comedy with a vibrant Italian setting and an international archaeological plot.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940013252004
  • Publisher: Jennifer Malin Books
  • Publication date: 8/16/2014
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 302
  • Sales rank: 355,966
  • File size: 242 KB

Meet the Author

JENNIFER MALIN inherited double copies of the bookworm gene from a mom who reads voraciously and a dad who once spent his downtime writing in the crane he operated.

Her first two novels, AS YOU WISH, a time travel, and ETERNALLY YOURS, a ghost romance, were originally published by Jove (Penguin Group). After that came four works set in Regency England--one from Leisure and three from Zebra. Her latest books are TEMPLUM, a time travel featuring a contemporary heroine and an ancient-Roman hero; THE FIVE-DAY DIG, a contemporary mystery/romance set near Pompeii; and SEVENTH SANCTUARY, a steamy novella of ancient Sumeria.

Jen and her husband, Martin, an Aussie ex-pat, live outside of Philadelphia and love to travel. She’s an art and archaeology enthusiast, a fan of film and Formula 1, and the proud aunt of three brilliant nephews.

For descriptions and sample chapters for all of her books, visit www.jenmalin.com.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    If you enjoy Elizabeth Peters' archaeological mysteries, with a

    If you enjoy Elizabeth Peters' archaeological mysteries, with a plucky heroine and a mystery with roots in the ancient past, you will find yourself enthralled with The Five-Day Dig. It's a little sexier than those books but you'll find yourself rooting for Winnie to choose the right man even as you hope she'll survive to the end of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Easy read, not terrific writing, though

    A little slow going at times and seemed to drag on. All in all a nice, easy read with interesting characters and twists. Not exactly riveting and I found it easy to stop reading and put the book down for awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)