The Fixer Upper LP: A Novel

The Fixer Upper LP: A Novel

4.5 4
by Mary Kay Andrews
     
 

“Entirely satisfying, an expert balance of warmth and compassion, terrific supporting characters, a little steamy sex, and just enough suspense to keep you from guessing how it will all go down.”
Atlanta Journal-Constitution

A sassy, sexy, sometimes poignant look at small town Southern life, as only New York Times bestseller

Overview

“Entirely satisfying, an expert balance of warmth and compassion, terrific supporting characters, a little steamy sex, and just enough suspense to keep you from guessing how it will all go down.”
Atlanta Journal-Constitution

A sassy, sexy, sometimes poignant look at small town Southern life, as only New York Times bestseller Mary Kay Andrews can tell it, The Fixer Upper is a must-read for fans of Fannie Flagg, Sophie Kinsella, the Ya-Yas, and the Sweet Potato Queens, and for every reader obsessed with decorating and home repair. It is a truly delectable story of a woman whose professional fall from grace lands her back in a hometown she never knew, amongst a gothic Southern family she’s never met, and saddled with a task she could never have imagined.

Editorial Reviews

Atlanta Journal-Constitution
“Entirely satisfying, an expert balance of warmth and compassion, terrific supporting characters, a little steamy sex and just enough suspense to keep you from guessing how it will all go down....As ever, Andrews injects a brisk tale with generous doses of her sassy trademark humor.”
Booklist
“Andrews serves up a tempting and satisfying dish.”
Daytona Beach News-Journal
“A summer read that’s guaranteed to satisfy your thirst for Southern fiction at its best.”
Publishers Weekly

Andrews's latest Southern charmer begins with junior lobbyist Dempsey Jo Killebrew in the crosshairs of a political bribery investigation. Suddenly unemployed and the victim of a sleazy smear campaign by her former boss, Dempsey decides to take up her father's offer of flipping a recently inherited family home in Guthrie, Ga. As it turns out, the house needs much more than a fresh coat of paint, and Dempsey's ornery cousin and her dog are squatting there. So it is that the formerly glamorous Dempsey steps into her dead uncle's overalls and chips her manicured nails as she scrubs and sands her way through fixing up the house, quickly finding a renovation groove, fitting in with the locals and embarking on a romance. Meanwhile, the FBI and a pesky reporter come asking questions about the bribery accusations. This authentic tale of cleaning up life's messes and self-discovery is bright, engaging and thoughtful, enlivened by Andrews's quirky characters and lovely backwoods setting. (July)

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
Library Journal
Arriving just in time for summer beach reading is the most entertaining novel yet from Andrews (Deep Dish). Washington, DC, insider Dempsey Jo Killebrew is surprisingly clueless about her lobbyist boss's less than ethical behavior, even after she finds herself unceremoniously fired and licking her wounds in Guthrie, GA. There she reluctantly undertakes a project of restoring a dilapidated house that her father had recently inherited, hoping to sell it for a profit. Not surprisingly, this project is full of problems. The house's elderly resident isn't one bit anxious to move out, but luckily the charming if eccentric townsfolk include a pretty darn handsome local lawyer who comes to Dempsey's defense when it looks as if she might be in just as much trouble as her backstabbing former boss. Add a couple of FBI agents, a meddling mother, and a dog named Shorty, and readers will find themselves eagerly turning pages to find out how the situation resolves itself. VERDICT Fans of Jennifer Crusie or Susan Elizabeth Phillips will find this a delightful addition to the genre of slightly wacky romance stories. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 3/15/09.]—Margaret Hanes, Warren P.L., MI

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061774959
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
06/23/2009
Edition description:
Large Print
Pages:
688
Sales rank:
440,712
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.40(d)

Videos

Meet the Author

Mary Kay Andrews is the New York Times bestselling author of 24 novels, most recently The Weekenders, as well as 10 critically acclaimed mysteries. A former reporter for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, she lives in Atlanta, Georgia.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
Atlanta, Georgia
Date of Birth:
July 27, 1954
Place of Birth:
Tampa, Florida
Education:
B.A. in newspaper journalism, University of Georgia, 1976
Website:
http://www.MaryKayAndrews.com

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Fixer Upper LP: A Novel 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a fun book. I happened upon Mary Kay Andrews when I spotted Savannah Blues on the community book shelf at work and have been a fan ever since. My friend just borrowed this book and read it at one sitting. Different from the other Andrews books in that it starts off with in DC rather than the south and involves a political scandel. One of my favorite MKA books. Can't wait for the next book.
TM5577 More than 1 year ago
Love this book, very funny and who would have thought decorating could be so interesting. Just Loved It......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I finished this book last night and I have to say it is one of the best books I have read in months.  I found myself thinking about Dempsey and Ella Kate during the day, even when I wasn't reading it.  It is light, and moves along at a nice clip.  I loved how the author transitioned Dempsey into southern life slowly, and unwittingly. My only disappointment was the ending was a bit abrupt.  I look forward to reading more from Mary Kay Andrews.  
GinsBookNotes More than 1 year ago
This book is a light and fast read with lots of quirky characters and southern charm. The audio version is hilarious. Isabelle Keaton does a wonderful job of capturing the character's personality and making them come alive. I don't think I could read the book now without hearing her version of Ella Kate's voice. If you are a fan of Southern Chick Lit and in the mood for something fun and entertaining this should be a good fit. It isn't a deep and profound read that will change your life but it is FUN. The audio version has laugh out loud moments so take caution if you are listening while at the gym, I speak from experience, you'll get some looks. You can read my full review on Gin's Book Notes.