The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Hot Air Baboons

The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Hot Air Baboons

by Maxwell Eaton
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In the fifth adventure of this popular young graphic-novel series perfect for fans of Captain Underpants and the Lunch Lady series, our bucktoothed heroes are up against a band of baboon bandits.
 
It’s winter break, and Ace and Bub are hitting the slopes! But their ski session is interrupted by a sudden influx of . . . swimming pools? A band of

…  See more details below

Overview

In the fifth adventure of this popular young graphic-novel series perfect for fans of Captain Underpants and the Lunch Lady series, our bucktoothed heroes are up against a band of baboon bandits.
 
It’s winter break, and Ace and Bub are hitting the slopes! But their ski session is interrupted by a sudden influx of . . . swimming pools? A band of enterprising baboons has graced Beaver Island with the Easy Breeze, a giant hair dryer designed to melt all the snow off the mountains and channel it into swimming pools. The residents of Beaver Island are over the moon about their new relaxation stations, but Ace and Bub don’t trust these monkeys any farther than they can ski down a hill with no snow. Can they uncover the baboons’ real plan before their neighbors become too attached to the summery island makeover?
 
With environmental themes, laugh-out-loud humor, and fast-paced adventures, the Flying Beaver Brothers are sure to fly off bookshelves!

Read More

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
08/01/2014
Gr 1–3—Ace and Bub are enjoying their snowy spring break on the slopes when a band of sneaky baboons set up a gigantic hair dryer to melt the snow into water for swimming pools. The brothers don't trust the baboons' intentions and investigate to uncover their double dealing plans. Another wacky and charming addition to the series.
Kirkus Reviews
2014-05-19
The Flying Beaver Brothers comics are starting to resemble Mad Libs.The plot summary for one of the Beaver Brothers books might look like this: Ace and Bub have to keep Beaver Island safe from a group of (plural name of an animal) with a giant (household appliance) that goes (sound effect). In this newest volume, for example, baboons are using an enormous hair dryer to melt all the snow on the island. They want to build a water park. The hair dryer goes "HAROO!" when it's switched on. This book, like the previous four, is almost as funny as a great Mad Lib. But for returning readers, this may seem like a familiar, fill-in-the-blanks sort of plot. Maybe the next book will stray a bit from the animals-with-appliances formula. The artwork and sound effects are hilarious, as usual, but the simple line drawings don't convey nuance very well, and the climactic action sequence is a little difficult to follow. It's like a Michael Bay movie translated into emoji characters.If the story is disappointing, it's only because the earlier books in the series set such a high standard: All of the jokes work, but die-hard fans may feel a little exhausted, as though they'd just finished their 100th Mad Lib in a row. (Graphic novel. 6-9)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780385754668
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
08/05/2014
Series:
Flying Beaver Brothers Series
Pages:
96
Sales rank:
296,759
Product dimensions:
6.80(w) x 5.50(h) x 0.40(d)
Lexile:
GN230L (what's this?)
Age Range:
6 - 9 Years

Meet the Author

MAXWELL EATON III grew up in Vermont, where he spent his childhood climbing trees, damming streams, and spying on unsuspecting cows. He now creates children's books in Tucson, Arizona, where the trees can't be climbed, and the streams run dry, but the cows are still relatively unsuspecting. He is the author and illustrator of The Adventures of Max and Pinky series, Two Dumb Ducks, and the Flying Beaver Brothers series.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >