BN.com Gift Guide

The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Hot Air Baboons

Overview

In the fifth adventure of this popular young graphic-novel series perfect for fans of Captain Underpants and the Lunch Lady series, our bucktoothed heroes are up against a band of baboon bandits.
 
It’s winter break, and Ace and Bub are hitting the slopes! But their ski session is interrupted by a sudden influx of . . . swimming pools? A band of enterprising baboons has graced Beaver Island with the Easy Breeze, a giant hair dryer designed...

See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (17) from $2.85   
  • New (12) from $3.31   
  • Used (5) from $2.85   
The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Hot Air Baboons (PagePerfect NOOK Book)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$6.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

In the fifth adventure of this popular young graphic-novel series perfect for fans of Captain Underpants and the Lunch Lady series, our bucktoothed heroes are up against a band of baboon bandits.
 
It’s winter break, and Ace and Bub are hitting the slopes! But their ski session is interrupted by a sudden influx of . . . swimming pools? A band of enterprising baboons has graced Beaver Island with the Easy Breeze, a giant hair dryer designed to melt all the snow off the mountains and channel it into swimming pools. The residents of Beaver Island are over the moon about their new relaxation stations, but Ace and Bub don’t trust these monkeys any farther than they can ski down a hill with no snow. Can they uncover the baboons’ real plan before their neighbors become too attached to the summery island makeover?
 
With environmental themes, laugh-out-loud humor, and fast-paced adventures, the Flying Beaver Brothers are sure to fly off bookshelves!

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
08/01/2014
Gr 1–3—Ace and Bub are enjoying their snowy spring break on the slopes when a band of sneaky baboons set up a gigantic hair dryer to melt the snow into water for swimming pools. The brothers don't trust the baboons' intentions and investigate to uncover their double dealing plans. Another wacky and charming addition to the series.
Kirkus Reviews
2014-05-19
The Flying Beaver Brothers comics are starting to resemble Mad Libs.The plot summary for one of the Beaver Brothers books might look like this: Ace and Bub have to keep Beaver Island safe from a group of (plural name of an animal) with a giant (household appliance) that goes (sound effect). In this newest volume, for example, baboons are using an enormous hair dryer to melt all the snow on the island. They want to build a water park. The hair dryer goes "HAROO!" when it's switched on. This book, like the previous four, is almost as funny as a great Mad Lib. But for returning readers, this may seem like a familiar, fill-in-the-blanks sort of plot. Maybe the next book will stray a bit from the animals-with-appliances formula. The artwork and sound effects are hilarious, as usual, but the simple line drawings don't convey nuance very well, and the climactic action sequence is a little difficult to follow. It's like a Michael Bay movie translated into emoji characters.If the story is disappointing, it's only because the earlier books in the series set such a high standard: All of the jokes work, but die-hard fans may feel a little exhausted, as though they'd just finished their 100th Mad Lib in a row. (Graphic novel. 6-9)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780385754668
  • Publisher: Random House Children's Books
  • Publication date: 8/5/2014
  • Series: Flying Beaver Brothers Series
  • Pages: 96
  • Sales rank: 206,478
  • Age range: 6 - 9 Years
  • Lexile: GN230L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 6.80 (w) x 5.50 (h) x 0.40 (d)

Meet the Author

MAXWELL EATON III grew up in Vermont, where he spent his childhood climbing trees, damming streams, and spying on unsuspecting cows. He now creates children's books in Tucson, Arizona, where the trees can't be climbed, and the streams run dry, but the cows are still relatively unsuspecting. He is the author and illustrator of The Adventures of Max and Pinky series, Two Dumb Ducks, and the Flying Beaver Brothers series.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)