×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Frog Who Croaked (Platypus Police Squad Series #1)
     

The Frog Who Croaked (Platypus Police Squad Series #1)

4.0 12
by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
 

See All Formats & Editions

Platypus Police Squad: The Frog Who Croaked is the first in a series of zany, action-packed middle-grade mysteries featuring platypus police detectives Rick Zengo and Corey O’Malley.
 
When a call comes in about a crime down at the docks involving a missing schoolteacher and a duffle bag full of illegal fish, Zengo and O’Malley are

Overview

Platypus Police Squad: The Frog Who Croaked is the first in a series of zany, action-packed middle-grade mysteries featuring platypus police detectives Rick Zengo and Corey O’Malley.
 
When a call comes in about a crime down at the docks involving a missing schoolteacher and a duffle bag full of illegal fish, Zengo and O’Malley are going to have to learn to set their differences aside if they want to get to the bottom of this. Especially when the clues all point to Frank Pandini Jr., Kallamazoo’s first son and its most powerful, well-respected businessman.
 
Fans of Adam Rex, Jon Scieszka, and Jarrett J. Krosoczka’s own Lunch Lady graphic novels will flip for Jarrett’s new series of illustrated middle-grade novels.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Krosoczka’s considerable fan base will embrace his continuing evolution from picture books and the comics-style Lunch Lady series to his first chapter book, a police procedural that shares the same affable goofiness of his earlier work. Rick Zengo is a rookie on the Platypus Police Squad, paired with grizzled veteran Corey O’Malley (Kalamazoo City’s residents are a melting pot of frogs, turtles, crabs, kangaroos, foxes, and one powerful, possibly corrupt, panda). The two are assigned to investigate some fishy business at the docks, which seems linked to the disappearance of a popular high school teacher. Krosoczka revels in detective clichés (especially hardboiled dialogue) but adds his own charming, G-rated details: the cops use boomerangs not bullets, the local nightclub serves a mean root beer float, and the contraband that’s corrupting teens is... synthetic fish. There’s also a frisson of socioeconomic tension—poorer kids buy fake fish so they’ll be as cool as the kids whose parents can afford “top-shelf seafood”—giving this gentle mystery a little intellectual heft to go with the chuckles. Final illustrations not seen by PW. Ages 8–12. Agent: Rebecca Sherman, Writers House. (May)
Dav Pilkey
“These duck-billed detectives really deliver!”
Children's Literature - Christie Lough
A high school English professor goes missing in Kalamazoo City. Illegal fish were found at the scene of the crime. It is up to senior detective Corey O’Malley and rookie Rick Zengo to investigate the professor’s disappearance and to uncover the educator’s relationship to the illegal fish industry that is growing in Kalamazoo City. Zengo’s grandfather was a legendary detective that helped to bring down the city’s mob boss, Frank Pandini. Fresh out of the police academy, Zengo yearns to prove himself as great as his grandfather , however, this enthusiasm drives him to make a lot of mistakes along the way to solving the crime. Upon joining Kalamazoo City’s finest, Zengo is paired up with overweight detective O’Malley, who always follows the rules. Zengo is eager to solve the crime and is always jumping to conclusions, but his instincts are usually right in the long run. Zengo and O’Malley have to learn to deal with their differences and work together as a team, especially if they want to find out who is behind all of the crime in their city. Krosoczka markets the book for grades 3 to 6, but some younger children may have difficulty following the plot and vocabulary in the book. It would be better suited to late elementary/early middle school readers. The beginning is a little slow for action, but as the mystery unfolds, the reader finds themselves hooked and wanting to know if Frank Pandini, Jr. is behind all of the mischief. Reviewer: Christie Lough AGERANGE: Ages 8 to 12.
Kirkus Reviews
Who's flooding Kalamazoo City with synthetic fish? The Platypus Police Squad is on the case! Platypus Rick Zengo is ready for his first day as a detective on the Platypus Police Squad. He dreams of living up to the reputation of his grandfather, who helped rid the city of crime boss Frank Pandini Sr. Partnered with stodgy, slow Detective O'Malley, Zengo doesn't think he has a chance until their first case, the disappearance of teacher William Hopkins, looks to involve dangerous synthetic fish and possibly Kalamazoo City's new savior, businessman Frank Pandini Jr. Son of the former crime kingpin, he says he's working to undo the damage his father did. Zengo's impulsive actions land the duo on safety-patrol duty, but a break in the case might be the key to success! Making his chapter-book debut with this series kick-off, Krosoczka, known for his foolish and fun picture books and the goofy Lunch Lady graphic novels, turns out a surprisingly dull two-joke mystery. Cop platypuses: hysterical! Synthetic fish: funnier than fart jokes! It's a cop-show-rerun plot full of clichéd characters wearing fur and tails. Occasional black-and-white illustrations (final art not seen) might do a bit to liven things up, but the tale's got the zip of a broken boomerang. Juvenile fans of Dragnet or Law & Order: SVU might look forward to Book 2; few others will. (Mystery. 8-12)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062071644
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
05/07/2013
Series:
Platypus Police Squad Series , #1
Pages:
226
Sales rank:
128,194
Product dimensions:
5.60(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.00(d)
Lexile:
700L (what's this?)
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

What People are Saying About This

Dav Pilkey

“These duck-billed detectives really deliver!”

Meet the Author

Jarrett J. Krosoczka is the author and illustrator of the Lunch Lady graphic novel series, a two-time winner of the Children's Choice Book Award, as well as many picture books. He can be heard on "The Book Report with JJK," his radio segment on SiriusXM's Kids Place Live. Jarrett lives in Northampton, Massachusetts, with his wife, two daughters, and their pug, Ralph Macchio.

Jarrett J. Krosoczka is the author and illustrator of the Lunch Lady graphic novel series, a two-time winner of the Children's Choice Book Award, as well as many picture books. He can be heard on "The Book Report with JJK," his radio segment on SiriusXM's Kids Place Live. Jarrett lives in Northampton, Massachusetts, with his wife, two daughters, and their pug, Ralph Macchio.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Frog Who Croaked 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a heartwarming tale of a platypus on a police squad, and his quest to find the frog who croaked. This book was an emotional roller coaster; i found my self laughing out loud, covering my mouth in surprise, and even wiping few tears along the way. It has been too long since i have read such a heart wrenchingly beautiful story. Reading this is the equivilent of walking knee deep in glowing stars. Dreamlike.
This_Kid_Reviews_Books More than 1 year ago
Rick Zengo was excited. It was his first day for his new job. Zengo was going to be joining Kalamazoo City’s police force, the Platypus Police Squad (PPS for short). He spilled some hot chocolate on his partner in the first hour. On the second hour, they get a case about an illegal fish exchange gone wrong. But, that’s not important. Nope, not at all. We’re talking about Zengo’s first hour at work. So… He spilled some hot chocolate on his grumpy (but kindly) partner, Corey O’Malley, and they both got made fun of by two over-confident platypi detectives (can someone lend a helping mouse? ;) Platypi or platypuses?). It was a perfectly normal hour. Nothing out of the ordinary. No wondering if the local billionaire panda is behind the fish exchange. No fretting over where the school professor was who apparently disappeared at the fish exchange. Not a minute spent over worrying that a night club owned by the billionaire panda is behind the illegal fish market. No pondering how many hot dogs Corey O’Malley can eat at a time. Nope. None of that. Now, on the other hand, about that second hour… THIS WAS HILARIOUS!!! The title is a wonderfully done pun and a marvelous hooker! The book was well done and was fun to read. I read it in one day. Mr. Krosoczkais a great author who has a way of creating a wacky world that pulls you in and only lets you out when the mystery has been solved. Detective Rick Zengo is a great guy, er… platypus… who tries to do the best he can, even if he messes up sometimes. I love all the goofy characters in the book. This is a fun book! I already read Book 2 (see my review HERE) which prompted me to go back and read book 1. I am glad I did (and obviously you don’t have to read the books in order to enjoy them!)! I am already waiting for the third book… yup still waiting… …someone please tell Mr. Krosoczka I’m waiting… *NOTE I gor a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so funny
book4children More than 1 year ago
I read this book out loud to my kids. We read a couple of chapters each night, and my oldest (6) always begged for more. She even has a PPS poster above her bed. In truth, I expected this book to be funny. Call me crazy, but when you stick a weird looking animal into a police uniform and arm him with a boomerang, I expect a few jokes along the way. The book wasn't funny—at least, not in a laugh out loud kind of way. I was disappointed with that at first, but that feeling soon ebbed away. It was a legitimate detective mystery for kids! It was like a Law and Order episode starring platypuses and pandas. It was a real police drama, complete with a missing professor, an illegal fish selling scandal, and some intense chase-down-the-bad-guy scenes. When we got to the last 50 pages or so, my kids wouldn't let me stop reading even though it was WAY past their bedtime. So we finished it off, then analyzed all the characters and discussed who did what and who the bad guy really was and what might happen in book 2. So as you can see, it's not a bad thing that the book wasn't funny. My kids loved it, I liked it, and we all plan on diving into the second book tomorrow. On a side note, the author also illustrated oodles of black and white pictures for the interior. His artwork is fantastic and gives the book a little something extra. Content: Clean
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My son absolutely loved this book and keeps asking when the new one is coming out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really thought this book was really good i love this book i hope they make the next one fast same thing with whole rest of the series again totaly AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME totaly awesome Sjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsksksjsksksjsjsksksksjsjksjsjsjsjsjsjsksksksksksjskskksksksmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmjmmmmmmmmmmmjssjjsjsjsjsjjsjsksjsksjsksjsksjsksjakajskajakjakajakajajskajakakakajjssjjjhhhhhhhshshqsbbsbsbgsggshggshghhhghghhhhggghgggusgsgsgsgsgsggssgsgsgsggsgsgsgsggsgsggsag
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fearry hand not true at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cool
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I only read it because people liked it annd it is a blue bonnet book for 2015. Neptune project, harry potter and percy jackson(please anything but da movie) are better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you read this book tell me what it is about please!!!...