The From-Aways: A Novel by CJ Hauser | NOOK Book (eBook) | Barnes & Noble
The From-Aways: A Novel

The From-Aways: A Novel

by CJ Hauser
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Fresh talent CJ Hauser makes her literary debut with The From-Aways, an irreverent story of family, love, friendship, and lobsters, in the tradition of J. Courtney Sullivan’s Maine and Richard Russo’s Empire Falls.

Two women come to Maine in search of family, and find more love, heartbreak, and friendship, than

Overview

Fresh talent CJ Hauser makes her literary debut with The From-Aways, an irreverent story of family, love, friendship, and lobsters, in the tradition of J. Courtney Sullivan’s Maine and Richard Russo’s Empire Falls.

Two women come to Maine in search of family, and find more love, heartbreak, and friendship, than they’d ever imagined one little fishing town could hold.

When Leah, a young New York reporter, meets Henry, she falls in love with everything about him: his freckles, green thumb, and tales of a Maine childhood. They marry quickly and Leah convinces Henry to move back to Menamon. As Leah builds a life there, reporting for The Menamon Star and vowing to be less of an emotional screw-up, the newlyweds are shocked to discover that they don’t know each other nearly so well as they thought they did.

When Quinn’s mother dies, she tracks down the famous folk-singer father she’s never known, in Menamon. Scrappy and smart-mouthed, Quinn gets a job at the local paper, an apartment above the town diner, and tries to shore up the courage to meet her father. But falling in love with her roommate, Rosie, was never part of the plan.

These two unruly women’s work relationship at The Star deepens into best-friendship when they stumble onto a story that shakes sleepy Menamon—and holds damaging repercussions for Leah’s husband and Quinn’s roommate both. As the town descends into turmoil, both women must decide what kind of lives they are willing to fight for.

Editorial Reviews

Elliott Holt
“CJ Hauser’s debut novel, THE FROM-AWAYS, is as charming, salty and fresh as its setting in small-town Maine. Through her spunky heroines, Leah and Quinn, who have both come to Maine to find roots, Hauser tells an affecting story about lobsters, loyalty and love.”
Marie-Helene Bertino
“In THE FROM-AWAYS, CJ Hauser introduces us to Menamon, Maine, a town of wisecracking fisherman, activist waitresses, and secret fathers, with such deftness we immediately know and care for it like locals...I loved spending time in Menamon, and was sorry when I had to go.”
Joshua Henkin
“THE FROM-AWAYS is populated by twenty-somethings running from and in search of family, by people passionately in pursuit of home. CJ Hauser has written a wise, lovely, luminous novel about love and work and leaving New York.”
Vendela Vida
“I was immediately pulled into this enchanting debut novel by the wit of CJ Hauser’s prose, her sharp dialogue, and her honesty in portraying the journey of young women trying to find their place in the world.”
Christina Baker Kline
“This big-hearted story about small-town Maine captivated me from the first page...Filled with humor and poetry and complicated characters who love foolishly and too much.”
Minneapolis Star Tribune
“Memorable.”
Booklist
“This impressively crafted first novel is likely to leave readers wanting both a Maine lobster dinner and more from [CJ Hauser].”
Tallahassee Democrat
“Hauser’s story is a love letter to the town of Menamon, Maine. She writes her prose with such vivid descriptions that you feel you are walking the streets of the town...If you like a story with colorful characters who are delightfully flawed, then this is the book for you.”
Kirkus Reviews
2014-04-03
Two young women trying to find their places in the world settle in a small coastal town in Maine and discover purpose, friendship and acceptance. When Leah, a reporter, meets down-to-earth Henry Lynch in a New York City bar, she wastes no time resigning from her job, marrying him and moving into his family home in the small fishing community of Menamon. Leah's filled with romantic notions about living an idyllic life and fitting in with the locals, but she soon discovers "from-aways" can't easily dissolve barriers built by common roots and experiences. She also discovers there are things about Henry she doesn't know and wonders if she fell in love with only the idea of him. Finding work at the Menamon Star, owned by her unfriendly sister-in-law, Leah meets wisecracking tough girl Quinn Winters, another recent transplant to the area. Quinn originally came to town to confront her father, Carter Marks, once a moderately successful folk singer who had an affair with her late mother, but she puts her plans on hold as she sorts through her different reactions to him. Instead, believing no one knows she's his daughter, she remains in town, gets hired at the paper, falls in love with her roommate, and becomes a self-taught guitarist and songwriter. Quinn's amateurish prose contrasts with Leah's professional writing, but the two become drinking buddies and begin to collaborate on pieces. Soon they find themselves embroiled in a story about a building project that polarizes the townsfolk and threatens to change the nature of the entire community. Leah finds that her involvement might help her gain the acceptance she covets but could jeopardize her marriage. As events begin to spin out of control, debut novelist Hauser creates a palpable bond linking characters, readers, a community and a relevant political issue. Hauser's style is expressive, clever and compelling, and she offers readers a thoughtful and engaging debut.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062310767
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
05/20/2014
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
368
Sales rank:
504,815
File size:
996 KB

Meet the Author

CJ Hauser's fiction has appeared in Tin House, The Kenyon Review, TriQuarterly, and Esquire. She is a recipient of McSweeney's Amanda Davis Highwire Fiction Award and winner of the Jaimy Gordon Prize in fiction. She is pursuing her Ph.D. in English at The Florida State University.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >