×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Furlites Of Aroriel
     

The Furlites Of Aroriel

5.0 1
by Marie J. S. Phillips
 

See All Formats & Editions

Young Murkuria discovers that the homeworld-bound Sunpyne harbors yet another stowaway. This time, it is the Human's lost pet cat, which is pregnant and dying from malnutrition. Murkuria succeeds in genetically altering the Earth cat's unborn zygotes so they can thrive on Aroriel's magnesium-rich foods. Seven kittens -- born to surrogate mother Iggie the Matissia --

Overview

Young Murkuria discovers that the homeworld-bound Sunpyne harbors yet another stowaway. This time, it is the Human's lost pet cat, which is pregnant and dying from malnutrition. Murkuria succeeds in genetically altering the Earth cat's unborn zygotes so they can thrive on Aroriel's magnesium-rich foods. Seven kittens -- born to surrogate mother Iggie the Matissia -- bond to and communicate telepathically with Furlites of their own choosing. These exotic smart treasures which Murkuria dubs Felakoons, endear themselves to the proud Clan, proving to be far more than mere pets. However, as the Sunpyne and Sauri return from their first mission to the stars, anticipating awe, triumph, and glory, unexpected opposition to the new "alien" life throws the planet into strife and conflict such has not been seen in centuries. Will the Felakoons earn a place in Furlitian society, or be sterilized, and die out as a species before have barely begun to live? Some sexual content.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781105034886
Publisher:
Lulu.com
Publication date:
11/09/2011
Pages:
676
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.63(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Furlites of Aroriel: On Matissia Wings 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
RiaSP More than 1 year ago
This review is from my mentor, friend, and Literary Agent, David Ayscue, who passed away last year. Thanks for everything, David. You are missed! David's Review; The author describes this book as "an alien family saga." This tale is suitable for science fiction readers who enjoy reading stories from the alien point of view. This book fits the niche that includes Robert Sawyer's FAR-SEER, Lisanne Norman's SHOLAN ALLIANCE series, and David Brin's Trilogy which included INFINITY'S SHORE. Her book is not exactly like any of the above, but probably most like Robert Sawyer's FAR-SEER, and its sequels. In his books, human involvement with the Quintaglios is zero, whereas the characters in ON MATISSIA WINGS have some contact with humanity. This brief contact forever changes the Furlitian people in more ways than they ever imagined possible. Human bias generally assumes most sentient civilized alien life must be humanoid or primate-based, which may not be the reality at all. With a twist on an old theme, the author stresses in subtle ways through Furlitian culture, how real freedom and personal responsibility can help any society produce good people, without any strict taboos, religious fanaticism, and overbearing governments. I have also compared it to E. R. Eddings, though this author's books are far more science fiction than fantasy - once you accept the premise, of course, of a world where primates never evolved, and where furred dinosaurs became the dominant species . who now have a space program . which leads them to . our world. The illustrations -- a mix of freehand artwork, real photos, and computer-generated graphics -- include detailed hand drawings of her characters. The six plates, plus the cover are integral to the book. Who knows better what a Furlite looks like than their creator? There is a sequel, EARTH-BRED; MATISSIA-BORN, which is, perhaps, an even better story. There is a third book in this series, which is as yet unfinished. The world is fully realized; the depth of characterization is . epic, wondrous; and, frankly, I think this author is a great storyteller. Reminiscent in some respects of Military SF, in the tradition of Heinlein and Asimov, told from the point of view of the aliens -- they are PEOPLE, with their own culture, and . they are better people than we are. A remarkable book, deserving of publication, I think, or I would not have done all that I have done to help this author realize her dream of seeing her own trilogy for sale in bookstores everywhere.