The Furlites Of Aroriel

( 1 )

Overview

The cold distant world Aroriel -- where primate species never evolved -- has spawned a furry saurian race that now reaches for the stars. Commander Geupetus of Clan Darius, offered command of the first near-lightspeed Starship, hesitates to take the job, as Furlitian Law forbids his teen-aged twins Murkuria and Thorius from accompanying their Clan on this historic mission into interstellar space. Clan Darius, after careful deliberation as a family, driven by their rigid sense of military honor, discipline, and ...
See more details below
Hardcover
$48.86
BN.com price
(Save 4%)$50.99 List Price
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (2) from $46.81   
  • New (2) from $46.81   
Sending request ...

More About This Book

Overview

The cold distant world Aroriel -- where primate species never evolved -- has spawned a furry saurian race that now reaches for the stars. Commander Geupetus of Clan Darius, offered command of the first near-lightspeed Starship, hesitates to take the job, as Furlitian Law forbids his teen-aged twins Murkuria and Thorius from accompanying their Clan on this historic mission into interstellar space. Clan Darius, after careful deliberation as a family, driven by their rigid sense of military honor, discipline, and duty, decide they must squelch their emotions and accept the commission -- leaving the twins on Aroriel. Distraught, They conceives an outrageous plan to stow aboard the great Starship,and with their winged pet Matissia, become stowaways, causing the Sunpyne to crash land on an alien world, where saurian life like their own is long extinct, where primate beings that call themselves Human populate the planet. Will they ever see their beloved home again? Some sexual content.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781257647743
  • Publisher: Lulu.com
  • Publication date: 5/28/2011
  • Pages: 706
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 9.00 (h) x 1.69 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Epic!

    This review is from my mentor, friend, and Literary Agent, David Ayscue, who passed away last year. Thanks for everything, David. You are missed!

    David's Review;
    The author describes this book as "an alien family saga." This tale is suitable for science fiction readers who enjoy reading stories from the alien point of view. This book fits the niche that includes Robert Sawyer's FAR-SEER, Lisanne Norman's SHOLAN ALLIANCE series, and David Brin's Trilogy which included INFINITY'S SHORE. Her book is not exactly like any of the above, but probably most like Robert Sawyer's FAR-SEER, and its sequels. In his books, human involvement with the Quintaglios is zero, whereas the characters in ON MATISSIA WINGS have some contact with humanity. This brief contact forever changes the Furlitian people in more ways than they ever imagined possible.
    Human bias generally assumes most sentient civilized alien life must be humanoid or primate-based, which may not be the reality at all. With a twist on an old theme, the author stresses in subtle ways through Furlitian culture, how real freedom and personal responsibility can help any society produce good people, without any strict taboos, religious fanaticism, and overbearing governments. I have also compared it to E. R. Eddings, though this author's books are far more science fiction than fantasy - once you accept the premise, of course, of a world where primates never evolved, and where furred dinosaurs became the dominant species . who now have a space program . which leads them to . our world.
    The illustrations -- a mix of freehand artwork, real photos, and computer-generated graphics -- include detailed hand drawings of her characters. The six plates, plus the cover are integral to the book. Who knows better what a Furlite looks like than their creator?
    There is a sequel, EARTH-BRED; MATISSIA-BORN, which is, perhaps, an even better story.
    There is a third book in this series, which is as yet unfinished. The world is fully realized; the depth of characterization is . epic, wondrous; and, frankly, I think this author is a great storyteller.
    Reminiscent in some respects of Military SF, in the tradition of Heinlein and Asimov, told from the point of view of the aliens -- they are PEOPLE, with their own culture, and . they are better people than we are.
    A remarkable book, deserving of publication, I think, or I would not have done all that I have done to help this author realize her dream of seeing her own trilogy for sale in bookstores everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)