×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Girl in the Castle: A Novel
     

The Girl in the Castle: A Novel

4.8 4
by Santa Montefiore
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore." - JOJO MOYES

International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the twentieth century—perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Hazel Gaynor.

Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill is

Overview

"Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore." - JOJO MOYES

International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the twentieth century—perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Hazel Gaynor.

Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill is special as her grandmother has always told her. Built on the stunning green hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill is Kitty’s beloved home, where many generations of Deverills have also resided. Although she’s Anglo-Irish, Kitty’s heart completely belongs to the wild countryside of the Emerald Isle, and her devotion to her Irish-Catholic friends Bridie Doyle, the daughter of the castle’s cook, and Jack O’Leary, the vet’s son, is unmatched—even if Jack is always reminding her that she isn’t fully Irish. Still, Jack and Kitty can’t help falling in love although they both know their union faces the greatest obstacles since they are from different worlds.

Bridie cherishes her friendship with Kitty, who makes her feel more like her equal than a servant. Yet she can’t help dreaming of someday having all the wealth and glamour Kitty’s station in life affords her. But when she discovers a secret that Kitty has been keeping from her, Bridie finds herself growing resentful toward the girl in the castle who seems to have it all.

When the Irish revolt to throw over British rule in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight. Worried for her safety, Jack warns Kitty to keep her distance, but she refuses and throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But as Kitty soon discovers, her allegiance to her family and her friends will be tested—and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she’s ever known are threatened.

A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
★ 09/15/2016
Set against the tumultuous backdrop of Ireland's fight for independence from Britain in the early 20th century, this sprawling saga gives readers a personal view of the "Troubles," as seen through the eyes of a daughter of the Anglo-Irish ascendancy in its last days. In spite of her heritage, Kitty Deverill knows herself to be Irish to the bone, and English not at all. The fiery Kitty fights for the land she loves, even as she realizes that there may be no place for her in an independent Ireland. Her story of wealth and privilege contrasts with that of her childhood friend Bridie, an Irish Catholic village girl whose family has worked for the Deverills for centuries. As the Troubles and their aftermath shatter lifetime relationships between the classes, Kitty and Bridie flee in opposite directions—Kitty to glittering parties in London, Bridie to a life of service in America. But neither forgets their sisterhood, or the home that shaped them both. VERDICT Montefiore's (The Beekeeper's Daughter) compelling family saga, the first in a trilogy, is highly recommended, particularly for lovers of Irish fiction and/or stories of World War I and the 1920s, as well as those who enjoy novels about the enduring power of women's friendships.—Marlene Harris, Reading Reality, LLC, Duluth, GA
Booklist (starred review)
“The prolific Montefiore presents the first volume of a trilogy guaranteed to hit the bestseller list. The riveting saga revolves around three memorable womena delicious read that leaves the reader hungry and eagerly awaiting the next course.”
JOJO MOYES
“Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore. Everything she writes, she writes from the heart.”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062490797
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
09/27/2016
Series:
Deverill Chronicles Series , #1
Pages:
576
Sales rank:
272,422
Product dimensions:
6.20(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.60(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Santa Montefiore was born in England. She went to Sherborne School for Girls in Dorset and studied Spanish and Italian at Exeter University. She has written sixteen bestselling novels, which have been translated into thirty different languages and have sold more than two million copies worldwide.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Girl in the Castle: A Novel 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Emma_Leah_Chitty_Walton 4 days ago
As an ancestral writer and researcher of my own Irish roots including those of my red hair; I am fascinated by the historical facts surrounding the fascinating characters of The Girl in the Castle. I now have a new Trilogy to enjoy on my book reader; however, was disappointed when I had to wait for the release of the next book. 'C'est la vie' (such-is-life); for good things come to those who wait. Oh, my French roots are deep in my heritage as well. I now have a new favorite author, Santa Montefiore.
Mirella 10 months ago
THE GIRL IN THE CASTLE has to be one of the best books I've read in a long time. It's the first book in a trilogy about two Irish families and the estate they inhabit. It's an intense family saga with a handful of fascinating characters who evolve and change as circumstances dictate. The book is not short on plot twists, and there is even a fabulous rags to riches thread that has left me hanging and waiting eagerly for the next book. The setting starts in Ireland in 1925 and moves forward at a steady pace. Lovely descriptions, incredible ever-developing characters, and an old beloved family castle lend an appeal that transcends each page and left me wanting more at the end. This the exact kind of book that I love. I am eagerly waiting for the next installment and I'm adding Santa Montefiore to my list of favorite authors! Loved, loved, loved this story!
Anonymous 10 months ago
Anonymous 8 months ago
When is the 2nd book coming?