The Girl Who Lied: The 2016 bestselling psychological drama

The Girl Who Lied: The 2016 bestselling psychological drama

4.3 7
by Sue Fortin
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

'Sue Fortin writes with skill and pace, filling her pages with tension. With great characters and a gripping storyline, I was immediately pulled in and found myself desperate to turn the pages' – Amanda JenningsSometimes the perfect friend tells the perfect lies…Erin and Roisin were once friends until a fatal accident ruined both their lives. Now, Roisin

Overview

'Sue Fortin writes with skill and pace, filling her pages with tension. With great characters and a gripping storyline, I was immediately pulled in and found myself desperate to turn the pages' – Amanda JenningsSometimes the perfect friend tells the perfect lies…Erin and Roisin were once friends until a fatal accident ruined both their lives. Now, Roisin has discovered a secret—one Erin has kept for over a decade—and she’s determined to make Erin pay for her lies.When Roisin suddenly disappears, suspicion soon lands on Erin. She would do anything to protect her family, but just how far is she willing to go when time is running out…?A must read for fans of CL Taylor and BA Paris.What people are saying about The Girl Who Lied:‘Slowly but inexorably draws you in until you can hardly wait to discover the fate of the characters…you'll love Sue Fortin’ – Sue Moorcroft‘A twisty romantic page-turner that will keep you guessing’ – Julie Cohen'Sue Fortin's gripping books always keep me turning the pages! Highly recommended for fans of grit-lit and suspense!' – Mandy Baggot‘The suspense, mystery and secrets to be revealed kept me turning the pages…nerve wracking and gripping’ – Rachel’s Random Reads‘Kept me intrigued right up until the end…a highly enjoyable read, filled with secrets’ – By the Letter Book Reviews

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Praise for Sue Fortin:‘Thoroughly gripping…full of suspense’ – Kim The Bookworm‘Builds to a really tense, nail biting climax’ – BeadyJan‘I would urge anyone who enjoys a good, fast paced psychological thriller to read it – you won't be disappointed!’ – Bookish Bits‘A clever psychological thriller full of false clues and intrigue’ – Jane Hunt Writer Book Reviews‘A gripping romantic suspense novel with some excellent tension and a twist or two…Well worth a read’ – DnS Media‘Gripping, vivid, dramatic, emotional, touching, adventurous brilliant and much more…it’s worth every single page’ – Sky’s Book Corner‘A great page turner’ – Bleach House Library‘I went through so many emotions reading this book – the worst being panic and fear…a brilliant book’ – Crooks on Books‘Sue Fortin cleverly creates a sense of urgency and suspense that compels you to read on’ – Laura’s Little Book Blog‘A good balance between the tense, psychological, and romantic events, which culminates in a climatic ending…for fans of Sleeping with the Enemy’ – Bookboodle‘A gripping climax full of danger’ – ElaineG, 5 Star Reads‘Kept me turning the pages’ – Mandy Baggot, author of ‘Truly Madly Greekly’‘5 Words: Tense, shocking, mysterious, deceit, stalker’ – Tea Party Princess‘An excellent read’ – Read Along With Sue

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780008194840
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
05/19/2016
Sold by:
HarperCollins Publishers
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
2,169
File size:
918 KB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

I am a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association, having come through their New Writers’ Scheme, and a part of the online writing group The Romaniacs who all met through the NWS. I am also a member of the Crime Writers’ Association.Lover of cake, Dragonflies and France. Hater of calories, maths and snakes. I was born in Hertfordshire but had a nomadic childhood, moving often with my family, before eventually settling in West Sussex.I am married with four children, all of whom patiently give me time to write but, when not behind the keyboard, I like to spend time with them, enjoying both the coast and the South Downs between which we are nestled.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Girl Who Lied: The 2016 bestselling psychological drama 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous 3 months ago
This book was ok, but nothing surprising. At least the writing didn't annoy me like some books do these days. Yes, I've read a lot of books over the years and still trying to find someone to replace Maeve Binchy.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
Nice one & like
Anonymous 4 months ago
Not bad
Rag_Doll 10 months ago
Sue Fortin is a talented writer of suspense and certainly knows how and when to feed the reader with twist after compelling twist. This is the story of Erin, partly written in first person and told over a dual timeline. Sixteen year old Erin is in love, pregnant and being told what is best for her by adults. They all make sense but she doesn't want to hear it. Present day, ten years later, Erin is living in London working at a beauty salon when she receives a blast from the past phone call from her old school friend, Roisin, in Ireland. The call is disturbing and unsettling for Erin and within hours she receives another urgent call from her sister, Fiona, informing her that their father is in intensive care with a serious head injury. From here Erin is forced back to Ireland to be with her family and knows she will also have to face the dreaded Roisin who she knows she will bump into in the small village they live in. Sue Fortin writes beautifully and competently with unease and tense moments at each chapter ending. Her characters are realistic and visual with enough description to make them authentic without becoming mundane or boring. There is just the right amount of teasing romance to add to the suspense but without distracting from the gripping storyline. The text is rich and written with depth and meaning, and several times I thought I'd guessed what was coming, sometimes I did guess correctly but it didn't spoil the outcome at all because there was twist and revelation, one on top of another. I found the book totally compelling and couldn't put it down. I would thoroughly recommend if you like psychological suspense and I will certainly read more by Sue Fortin.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Great
Anonymous 5 months ago
The sample was soooo good. I must have this book.